We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Afrato Village Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Leivatho Hotel(Cephalonia)
$166
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avithos Resort(Svoronata)(Great Value!)
$146
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
F Zeen Retreat(Lourdata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Panas Hotel(Cephalonia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ionis Hotel(Peratata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
50
4
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
4
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric ovenequipped apartmentgreek islandspool barair conditioningtrapezaki beachamazing viewsself cateringon arrivalhired a carlaid backminute walknext yearjerrylourdaszanteairport
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just returned from a four-week stay with Jerry and Christina (the owners). This was our 11th year at the Afrato Village having found it by accident in 2002. We say accident but serendipity is a better word as we feel it is our Greek home from home. Jerry and Christina are both kindness itself and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The apartments which are well maintained and have everything you could want are in a fabulous setting overlooking the sea with Mount Ainos behind them and surrounded by olive and citrus trees. The area is beautifully quiet and peaceful and almost the only sounds come from the bells on local goats and sheep, the crickets and birds. From our balcony you can also hear the waves on the beach far below. You are guaranteed a restful time.

The village of Lourdas has a range of tavernas and supermarkets and is a short drive or even walk away. In fact the walk back to the apartments after a wonderful meal in the evening is very welcome. However we would recommend a car or some form of transport to be able to carry the heavier items back from the supermarkets.

The Afrato Village is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We came back to Afrato this year (4th visit) after not visiting last year. We really missed the break that a stay at Afrato offers.
The island is lovely with a variety of beaches. If you have a car it is easy to choose from wide sandy beaches with facilities right through to tiny unspoilt coves.
As a base Jerry's apartments suit us beautifully. They are simple but have all you need. Everything is clean and in good condition.The pool and terrace are spacious. We enjoy a peaceful holiday
We usually visit at about the same time and meet other regular guests - so Jerry and Christina must be doing something right. We are made to feel so welcome and leaving is hard.

Room Tip: We choose a first floor room in the pink clocks to enjoy a wonderful view across the bay
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazda5Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have been visiting Kefalonia for some 17 years now and have been lucky enough to find the people we meet are friendly and helpful. We got even luckier 5 years ago when we found the Afrato village apartments run by Jerry and Christina. The apartments are beautifully maintained and spacious and are in the most beautiful setting you could imagine, sea and lovelycoastine to the front and mount Ainos behind.
Jerry and Christina are a wonderful couple who make everyone feel welcome and, speaking personally, treat their guests more as friends than as clients. Nothing is too much trouble and the welcome we receive is beyond price. No wonder so many people return year after year.
I cannot recommend the Afrato highly enough, but do please leave us room to return again next year and the the year after....
If you enjoy peace, quiet, good food and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere you can do no better.

Steve and Pam

Room Tip: All the rooms a great, but we prefer a second floor room because the great views are even better. Never known the apartments at the top of the slight rise to be anything but quiet (rooms 1 to 6).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have recently returned from Afrato Village where we have spent six delightful relaxing weeks.This was our tenth year staying with Gerry and Christina and we look upon it as our second home.We meet up with many other people who also stay every year and they all agree
its a great place to chill out. You can spend the day crashing our by the pool just reading with an occasional dip in the pool or drive to one of the many coves and do a bit of snorkeling.
The studios are well equiped and its easy to cook something for yourself if you wish as there is plenty of superb local fruit and veg available plus local wines. Christina is always leaving bowls of freshly picked tomatoes or apricots.We are now looking at flights for next years visit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been to Afrato Village fifteen times - and still counting! That in itself says something about the quality of the apartments and about our hosts - Gerry and Christina. This really is a hands on family run holiday, where nothing is too much for them.

The apartments in three blocks either side of a pool bar are always immaculate, with everything provided including oven and hob, kettle, TV, and airconditioning, which is included in price. Linen and towels are changed several times a week, and staff visit every day. Cakes, flowers, apricots, home made moussaka appear regularly.

We go out of high season, so pool bar rarely open - but that suits us. Gerry and Christina canot be faulted for their friendliness and hospitality.
Couldn't have been cared for by Gerry better when had an unfortunate accident. He was at hospital when we arrived there, and even turned out at midnight to sort out a problem - that is simply the quality of the man.

Room Tip: . All rooms face the sea. First floor rooms have views which are unimpeded by the olive trees.Although Gerry will pick you up, a car is recommended
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews