We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Egeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egeo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in August 2011. Our room was fine. Breakfast was a great start to the day- much like the Hotel simple but just what was needed. It's about ten minutes walk to the centre of town. The nearest shop is about two mins away. i stayed with Thompsons but unfortunately they are not booking this hotel or I might have gone back there this year. Only thing that is missing is a pool (it would have probably got 5 stars if it had one) but we travelled over the island to many lovely beaches and you can generally use other hotel pools if you buy drinks or food. All in all a great base to explore Thassos.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was fine. There was a review which criticised the strorm drain b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyP3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed in the Egeo mid September 2011. On the whole we had an excellent holiday and enjoyed Thassos very much - it was our second time, but for a younger couple we have now exhausted the island.

The Hotel, or really, the Bed and Breakfast is in a good location for the main town, which in my opinion, is gorgeous - especially at night. Some of the shops sell the usual tat, but I love this, especially as you walk along under a starry sky, ready to drink a Mythos or Ozo with an ice-cream (as you walk into town from the Egeo, stop at the first cake shop on the right which makes it's own ice-cream - it was excellent).

Back to the Egeo. I am unsure of the lady who runs it's name - I think it is Katerina, so I will call her Katerina. Katerina was very pleasant (middle aged lady, short brown hair). Katerina was the only person we saw running the hotel and she was quietly friendly, with very limited English (less limited than my Greek mind you!). When we arrived Katerina explained that the room was very good as it was clean. We have visited Greece many, many times, so we know that not all Greek rooms are clean, however, after spending nearly £1000.00 or so, we definitely expected it to be clean, and this should come as standard, in my opinion, taken for granted, not used as an asset!!!

The cleanliness of the room was maintained throughout our fortnightly stay, with towels and bed linen changed every 3 days - fantastic. The only thing I would say is that Katerina tidied the rooms in the morning, so breakfast was served from 8-9.00am sharp and we got the opinion we had to finish up quickly as Katerina tidied around us. I am by no means a lazy person, but on hols I did wish we had more time for a leisurely breakfast - perhaps served from 8-10.00am, without the rush. After breakfast we felt we had to hurry and get out so the room could be cleaned. On the few occassions we returned to the room early afternoon or at midday, it felt as if perhaps we shouldn't be there as I noticed Katerina looking at us as she did her duties.

Katerina did seem sweet though, and yes the breakfast is montinous and simple, but the yoghurt and honey was healthy and delicious. The cats aren't as starving as other's we have seen, we saw many people feeding them, and Katerina herself through them food after breakfast was finished. If you go there and have concerns contact Friends of Thassos who are a group of Brits looking after the animals on the island.

Back to the room. Fortunately we were in 206, which is behind the best room 207. Both of these rooms seemed bigger than the other rooms, much sunnier and had the better view. The rooms along the other side did look less well lit as trees obstruct the balcony view. 207 has two balconies and seemed quite famous - the people we spoke to had specifically requested this room.

We used the air-con at an additional charge, strongly recommend this for the hottest months.

The refridgerator in the room was useful, however, the constant humming and dripping was a nuisance at night, and I had to wear ear plugs which I take when I travel anyway - I would recommend these.

Back to the island. It is delightful. We enjoyed Golden Beach and the beaches along the east coast. When we visited Dolphins had been spotted on both sides of the island. We did not see these, but saw dead snakes and a dead turtle in the sea.

We found that there were more bees/wasps than when we stayed at Golden Beach one August. My partner was stung this time by a bee and someone else trod on a bee at the beach. You will find bees floating in the sea and on the sand/pebbles. I would recommend rubber beach shoes, or a sharp eye to look out for them as the girl who trod on one was in agony. The best advice I have is to carry a pair of tweezers with you so you can pull out the sting. Likelyhood is you won't need them, but they will be helpful all the same if you do. Luckily when the girl was stung we lent her our tweezers and she was grateful.

We also went to beaches on the north west coast where sunbeds where cheaper and the sea was much calmer with sandy beaches and tahiti umbrellas.

As you look at the town from the port on the very far right there is a pottery off of the main road. I would recommend you look around here if you like ceramics. The old gent who owns the place speaks brilliant english and will tell you about his grandfather and the kiln, the old building, etc.

Likewise the guy who owns/runs Zorba's in the middle of the town (restaurant down the side alley, red and white table cloths) was very friendly and interesting. You will find that on the outside walls of the alley where you sit to eat, there are photos of ancient artifacts being uncovered (which are in the excellent museum at the end of town). If you speak to this man he will tell you about how when he was a lad he found a Lions head made of ivory (in the museum) and his father found an ancient gold coin.

The food at Zorba's was delcious, as it was at Mesoglois Hotel (?) which is at the other end of the harbour. We don't normally go to English run bars, but Cheers was excellent, with great atmosphere and friendly staff. The serve a traditional breakfast which uses fresh produce from the island, including locally sourced sausages. This makes a very nice change to the simple Egeo breakfast and comes highly recommended.

The museum is worth a visit, as is the climb to the ancient theatre.

If you are brave you could drive to Panagia and walk up to Ipsarion mountain, which is a long, long climb. We did it last time, but had not the energy to do it again - it took all day, was extremely hot, and in some peoples opinions could be classed as dangerous. The path stopped midway, and we had to find our own root up. It was overgrown, and there were probably snakes in the ferns, bushes and tall grasses. We saw large wolf spiders and apparently there are tortoises living wild. The view was exceptional, but only give it a go if you like a challenge and are physically fit - otherwise go on the jeep trip?

Potamia is a lovely village worth a look, with a yummy bakery on the corner and walk up to the stream and a tree with a love heart shaped hole.

We didn't see much of the south of the island, but I think the north is much prettier and greener.

Finally, the only bad thing, or negativity we enountered was from '2 Wheels' moped rental which was up the side road past Twins restaurant. The **** who ran it was a ******* and tried to dupe us with faulty mopeds (oil leak, damaged chassis, ones that wouldn't start, ones with out mirrors etc, etc). We broke down three times on three different mopeds - we were so, so lucky that each time it happened either in the town, or at the Egeon - we do not trust he would have come to get us if we were at the other end of the island. He could not be trusted and I would strongly recommend staying well clear. He spoke to us in a very, very rude way when we were polite to him. He spoke as if we were stupid saying that "what did we expect, motors that worked at this end of the season?" - well yes, if that's what you are renting!!!!!
Please, please don't go to 2 Wheels, this rude con-man is the first of his type we have met in all our years of going to Greece. Stay clear.

This didn't spoil our wonderful holiday. We had two weeks of amazing sunshine, no rain or cloud in mid September - a great time to go.

I hope this has been useful and enjoy your trip (remember to ask for 207!!!)

Room Tip: 206 and 207 are bigger and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DashyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the egeo for 2 weeks in august 2011 and was extremely pleased.The hotel is a perfect distance from the port and thassos town ,immaculately clean and very pretty. Katrina is very welcoming and very hard working ,producing a spotless hotel, lovely breakfasts with homemade delights which change daily .We had a lovely view of the sea from our room and couldn't have asked for more.
The only negative we found was that after leaving the hotel after locking up each morning ,on our return the patio door had always been left open after cleaning.Although the curtains were closed in front of the door and we know as thassos regulars that the greek people are very honest people we wondered if the same could be said for guests ? ..... as unfortunately we did have our beach towel stolen from outside the hotel.
With this taken into consideration ,this hotel would be faultless but is still highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie22631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We kept our fingers crossed when we booked this hotel at the last minute and with little information from our tour operator. We were immediately impressed with the approach to Thassos town by ferry and the convenient position of the hotel. Although the room was compact (room 202) it was perfectly adequate and kept spotlessly clean by the ever busy Katarina who also baked her guests a daily cake. Our only slight negative being the rather repetitive breakfast but this was more than outweighed by the proximity to the port, beaches, restaurants and historical sights. A little gem!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have stayed in various properties in Limenas but not had breakfast for years. As breakfast was served till 9am only I thought I would give it a miss after a few days. !! I had all 14 breakfasts as it was so pleasant to be stting on a terrace at that time of the morning served by the lovely Katerina and nice fellow guests. If you want another cuppa Katerina will oblige. Most days there was homemade cake or cheese pie which I dont eat at home but I did there. The hotel is spotless and towels & linen changed more frequently than other places there. There is a good book exchange in Reception & Julie the rep is very helpful. The3 hotel is in a residential area which I like and was very quiet. It is near to the Ferry Port and near to town.
Keep up the good work Katerina. Hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: Room 207 has massive double bed & single bed and 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Katrina worked very hard cleaning rooms etc. can't fault the hotel. We had a room over looking storm drain over 2nd floor this was not a issue. Katrina made lovely cakes. Lots of nice restaurants, Eros 11 full day boat trip was goog

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneanddave1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Egeo and have already recommended it to people.

The hotel is in a quiet location and is only a short stroll to the centre of town.

The hotel is spotlessly clean. Easily the best accommodation we've experienced in Greece. Breakfast was basic but exactly what you would expect in Greece. People moaning need a reality check! The fresh homemade cake each day was a nice touch.

Great hotel on a lovely island. Hopefully we will be able to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colesy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thassos Town (Limenas)
0.0 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#8 of 10 in Skala Potamias
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aethria Hotel
Aethria Hotel
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meni Studios
Meni Studios
#23 of 44 in Limenaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pavlidis
Hotel Pavlidis
#1 of 26 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elena Studios
Elena Studios
#18 of 44 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egeo

Property: Hotel Egeo
Address: Thassos Town (Limenas) 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Egeo 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Egeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Egeo Thasos/Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing