We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out Mother and Daughter”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Eden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Eden
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chilled out Mother and Daughter”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I read most of the reviews before staying at Villa Eden. I picked out where to eat and the location of the town, and beaches. I recommend anyone who's going to do this. We were wound up like coiled springs before we left. A lot had happened at home and we'd take on way too much. On top of my Mum supporting her bloke with cancer, and I have a long term progressive illness. We came home tanned, chilled out and feeling very well looked after by Denise and Dimitri. Everyone we met was pleasant unlike our trip to Majorca. The gardens are beautiful, the pool is lovely, apartments are clean and well kept.
The only thing that was a bit dodgey was a couple of the sunbeds had broken and needed replacing. I think some very heavy bodies must of been on them.
Just what we needed. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennywobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent a week at Eden Villas had a very good holiday, kitchen could have been better equipped and beds a bit lumpy. Pools and gardens were very well looked after and supermarket was just round the corner. It was our first trip to Thassos and hired a car to explore all the lovely scenery and beaches it had to offer. We really enjoyed ourselves weather for us was perfect we were lucky previous week they had had rain. It was a nice surprise that if you had a drink at a taverna on the beach you free sunbed and umbrella which we made good use of. We would certainly recommend Eden Villas as it was well worth the money. Two contented travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marion w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have visited Thasos over a number of years and in 2012 discovered and stayed at these apartments which for us are a real Home from Home and revisited in June this year and are coming back later this year, hopefully that tells you a lot about the standard of them. As of many Greek rentals they are simple rooms that are kept very clean by Hannah the cleaner with the help of Dimitri who tends the gardens and is constantly on hand to help and ensure all is ok with guests. We did miss his English wife on this visit which was a shame as her personality and efficiency were missed by us , along with the 2 boys who are constantly trying to help around the grounds.

Safes are available in the room for 16 Euros a week and Air conditioning is also available at 7 Euros a night, from memory, but we did not need it this year. Weather wise our first week had a little rain, not prolonged, and it did not stop us from getting about , and the second week was perfect.

A few changes had been made, some retiling of bathrooms and the addition of some extra kitchen equipment but I would ,like the last two reviewers have no problems in recommending the Villa Eden.

Cash machines are available in the town, a good large Supermarket is only a few yards( or should it be Metres !!!!) away and the main town has a good variety of Tavernas to eat at .Having said that our favourite, and from its reviews many other peoples is Mesogios a short walk away that has traditional Greek music a number of nights each week and vies over the harbour with some superb sunsets.

Take a trip around the Museum in the old port and you will then be able to tour the town more fully understanding the many archealogical sites. The bus station is nearby, we have noticed a reduction in the service recently, we put this down to the economy. Take the trouble to get out and about explore the beaches and small villages, especially Panagia, and enjoy the friendly Thassonians!!!!!!

See you soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank staffordboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Been to these apartments in 2012 and love Thassos ,having visited for 12 years and as Robert says in his report they can be thoroughly recommended.
Dimitri was in charge on this visit and even though his English is good we missed his English wife Denise as at times we felt a couple of things got lost in translation. The owners are always trying to improve with the standard of the rooms and we thought,and Dimitri confirmed ,that ,the bathroom in our room had been renovated and retiled this year. We also had a toaster a welcome addition from last year
Visited many of our old haunts, Panagia a must , the Old Harbour,and just down the road Mesogios one of the best restaurants on the island. With the local and nearby Supermarket providing an excellent variety of goods and with the choice of various Tavernas in the town visitors have an excellent choice.
Looking forward to a return visit in September meeting up with many old friends in and around The Villa Eden.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ginette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dimitri welcomed all the arriving guests and helped with the luggage to their rooms and ensured that everything in the room was working normally. The room was very clean and better than we expected and overlooked the swimming pool. We were charged 32 euros for the safe but declined the air conditioning. The gardens were kept in good condition but half a dozen sun loungers at the adjoining Villa Elia were in need of either repair or replacing.
The twin beds were very comfortable and made a couple of times a week and the bins were emptied daily. Villa Eden overlooked a main road which could be annoyingly noisy at times which I suspect could be even worse in the peak weeks. The supermarket next door stocked everything you could need. The resort centre was about a good 10 minute walk away and the bus station about 5 minutes walk. The nearest beach past the bus station was about a couple of hundred yards further up and led to a bar which allowed you to have free sunbeds if you bought a drink.(Taranssa beach bar) if that is spelt correctly.
We ate at a variety of tavernas - Doukas in the town opposite the ferry (excellent) Tavernaki by the town square (good) Mythos and Simi's in the Old town harbour (both good) Alexandras in the old harbour (very good-the owner even sent a young lad after us on a pushbike as she had mistakenly overcharged us), Mesoglios near to the bus station (excellent food, service and an extensive menu - excellent) and in the town near to the harbour - Masabuka a charcoal grill which did simple food really well and finally The Twins tavern in the old town which was also really good.
At the Thomson welcome meeting we were recommended Eurocar as the rep was there only to be told when asked that the cheapest car on offer would cost 49 euros a day or 135 for 3 days. We shopped around and went to Alamo just up from the Twins tavern and got a deal for 75 euros for 3 days.
Our trips round the island included going to Panagia, about 6 miles south of Thassos Town which was absolutely beautiful. So much so, that we returned one evening for a meal. We also visited the Monastry at the south of the island, Aliki, Potos, Theologos ( which was another beautiful village near Potos), Iris Gold near Potos, Limenaria, Sonitas which was an eerie half deserted village but very atmospheric, Prinos and Skala Maries. It was well worth hiring a car, but prior to that we caught a bus to Potos which took an hour and cost 4.70euros each.
While in Thassos we walked up to see the amphitheatre which was well worth a visit. It was cordoned off but you could take the track behind which brought you out to the top of the amphitheatre and allowed you access to the site and beautiful views over the town.
On a rainy day we went into the museum which was brilliant and only cost 2 euros each and was really interesting.
All in all we had a lovely fortnight albeit that the weather was unseasonable but still very warm. We have visited a few Greek islands and rate this on a par with Skopelos and Kefalonia. We would recommend Villa Eden apartments and would also return to Thassos with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobertRRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you need to get away from everyday crazy uk this is the place. Eden Villa is a small but perfect place. The owner Dimitri and British wife share the grounds with Dimitri's sister Elbie, who's apartments are called Villa Elvie. Together you have a beautiful enclosed garden, with the choice of two pools. Elbie has a small little bar where you can purchase snacks and drinks from morning to night. Both families are wonderful and very helpful. Apartments are traditional basic accommodation (please don't expect to cook a Sunday roast, as one idiot thought he would be able to do, whilst we were there!!) It's your usual two ringed heater to cook, with fridge and freezer. The apartments are spotlessly clean (this comes from somebody who is manic about clean). The Maids cleans the apts and changes bed linen about two/three times a week, and empty's the rubbish bins everyday. Location is fantastic, firstly you have to the immediate left of the apts, a store which sells everything except newspapers. To the right of the apts, you have a cross roads, there you'll find a newsagents and across the road a bakery. if you go down any of the roads opposite, this will take you to harbour front. There are a few good restaurants and bars along there and you can walk long the front into town. Or if you come out of apts, turn to your right and follow the road and it will lead you down into the centre of town, this is a 10 min stroll. There are many restaurants and souvlaki bars, all are fantastic value. Best restaurant on island was the Simi, great food and service please try it, its fab. Do not however get it confused with the restaurant that adjoins it, which is possibly the worst restaurant in town (many people had the same opinion). Just up from Simi is the first street Souvaki bar (at the entrance of the main shopping street) this is called Mazabuka. Just look out for where the greek people eat and you'll find it. It's amazing and staff are great. But please don't linger after eating as tables are in high demand!! There are some great ice cream/bakery's that sell beautiful fresh products. Along front there is a bakery that sells fresh Leftymanos (probably wrongly spelt) these are made in front of you and are like small round doughnuts soaked in syrup and then you can have chocolate or cinnamon! expect to add a few pounds. Finally I would highly recommend these apt. They are quiet, clean you, don't have to fight for sunbeds and located close to everything, even the bus station to get round the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tracey H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Sadly after much thought and consideration, I feel compelled to write a short note on my experiences at Villa Eden in Thassos Town.
I am an experienced worldwide traveller who loves Greece and I have had the pleasure to visit many Greek Islands as well as the Greek Mainland over the last 10 years, so from past experience, I know very well what it is actually like to stay in a low star rated hotel or apartment.

On the face of it, Villa Eden seems a very nice family run apartment complex. The Pool and Gardens are very well kept, and our room met our basic self- catering requirements. We had clean towels, and bedding, and our minimal amount of daily rubbish was cleared on a regular basis.

For all those expecting a quite holiday, please remember that the front of the complex including the pool area and gardens are close to a very noisy and extremely busy main road. The almost constant hum of Cars, Lorries, Buses and Motorcycles throughout the day and the early morning refuse collection trucks can wear you down.

The beautiful pool area is surrounded by lovely trees and shrubs, however these flowers attract hundreds and I mean hundreds of bees and wasps. These become more than just irritating if you decide to sit round the pool. I have never experienced large Horse Flies, which will actually bite you if you’re un-lucky to have one land on you.

Not to put too fine a detail on it, but I wish that the owner Mr Methodiou could have invested a few euros and purchased some new sun loungers as the majority of his were broken, and maybe a few umbrellas as there were none round the pool, and because of the bee and wasp infested trees, subsequently nowhere to sit in the shade.

We were not given the hard sale as such in respect to the HVAC or the Safe Box, however the price for both these items changed dramatically three times in two days. I felt very sad and quite upset that the Mr Methodiou felt it necessary to become somewhat sarcastic and slightly rude when we politely refused his three offers. It is obvious that because of the Greek financial situation that all small business owners are trying to squeeze that extra euro out of every holidaymaker, but I spoke to at least three other guests who all refused Mr Methodious kind offers, so maybe if he had just set the pricing low he may have received more of a positive outcome.
Within a few yards of the Villa Eden is a large supermarket, I advise you to watch the pricing, as we found that we were being charged a higher rate at the till than what it was being advertised at. It is also quite common to be waiting in a long queue at this shop and have several Greek people push in front and get served first. I have never experienced this type of behaviour anywhere in the World, and my answer to this little but annoying problem was to take my money to a shop elsewhere.
When the Greeks start remembering that we are the life blood of their country, then maybe we can start getting a little respect maybe.
So the million dollar question, would I visit fantastic Thassos again ? Well the answer is a massive YES, after all it has everything that a lovely Greek Island has to offer, great beaches, fantastic restaurants and lovely people.
Would I stay at the Villa Eden, well that would be a resounding NO.
I now know that there are now much better places to stay on the island, no doubt run by better owners, who put their guests first.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank uk-connect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thassos Town (Limenas)
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Villa Fotini
Luxury Villa Fotini
#10 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
A for Art
A for Art
#2 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lido
Lido
#7 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eden

Property: Villa Eden
Address: Limenas Thassos Stad Griechenland, Thassos Town (Limenas) 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Villa Eden Hotel Thassos Town (Limenas)
Villa Eden Thasos/Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing