We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“villa eden”
Review of Villa Eden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Eden
Reviewed July 9, 2012

got home yesterday after 2 weeks staying at the villa eden through thomson. Lovely family own it, dimitri and denise, always stop for a chat. The beds though are really hard, and the pictures of the rooms are of the newer building.. we were in room 9 which is in a block at the back, very dated and need a referb, the good thing is that they have shutters so you can sleep in later as its light at 5.30 am and the curtains are light cotton. it definatley needs new sun beds and there are no umberella s by the pool and if you shelter under the tree s you are plagued by wasps. It s quite a walk to the sea front but for a change you can turn right out of the villa eden and cross the road and go down any of the roads and you have got muses and meseongia restaurants to try. Overall we had a great holiday and met some lovely people

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building are modern but small, the rooms in the older block are larger but date...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joycegleiwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 92 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We returned from a two week holiday at the Villa Eden yesterday. We were very sorry to leave.
Villa Eden has beautiful gardens which Demitri the owner and his two small sons work very hard to keep that way. At this time of year there are still lots of flowers in bloom. It is an excellent base for an holiday in Thassos - not far to walk to the town centre or the bus station. Very handy to have the supermarket almost next door - sold most things except fresh fish and meat. The rooms were basic but the bathroom seemed very new. Everything that we needed for self catering for the times we wanted to eat in was there - and more than we have had in some places we have stayed in Greece. Pool area was good - use of the pool next door meant there was loads of room for anyone wanting to sunbathe. Demitri and Denise were friendly and always on hand. This is two star Greece at its best - well worth the money. Cost of safe/aircon was not extortionate. Would go back with no hesitation!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back block are cooler, quieter and slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank fatboyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went there with my 20 something daughter. Friendly owners ( they gave us a bag of cherries one day), good pool and nice balcony overlooking the very pretty garden, Villa Eden is a 20 minute walk from the centre of town - plenty of restaurants and bars. It's 10 minutes from the bus staton and the sea. Good shower, adequate, well equiped cooking facilities and fridge. The other guests were quiet older couples with cars and bike rentals. Weather was quite cool and rainy in May - amazing thunder storm and power cut!

Room Tip: Room 11 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent the last week in May at the Villa Eden and could not fault it. We were greeted by the owner, Dimitri who showed us to our room and showed us where everything was - we found him to be nothing but friendly and helpful throughout the holiday. He lives in the block with his wife, who was also very friendly and helpful and their two very well behaved children.

The apartment was comfortable, spotlessly clean with modern furnishings. There was a basic kitchen area with fridge, kettle and two ring hob (no microwave or toaster) and sufficient amounts of crockery, cuttlery etc for basic breakfasts/snacks. The bathroom/wetroom was so clean you could have eaten your dinner off the floor! The apartment block is situated within its own garden and pool area and again these were very clean and the gardens are beautifully kept - you can see why it is called Eden. We paid £7 per night for the aircon, which is an average price; the safe was £17 for the week which was quite expensive. We requested the air con and safe - no hard sell was given.

It is around a ten minute stroll to Thassos Town with its harbour, shops, tavernas and bars. About another five minutes walk will take you to the old harbour and the town beaches,. These are fronted by beach bars where you can buy a drink or a meal and then use the sunbeds and parasols. There were around five or six of these, all offering free wifi. Alternative beaches can be found by turning left out of the apartment block - around 500m there is a small sandy cove and another 300m on there is a place called Tarsanas which had a beach and served food and drinks. Two chicken salad sandwiches, a bowl of chips and two colas came to 12 euros. There was also free wifi on offer. There are also water taxis available from the harbour to take you to Makryammos and Golden Beach. Eating out was generally cheap with a two-course meal for two, with soft drinks coming to around 20 euros.

If you are interested in archaeology then Thassos is wonderful and there are sites all over including a hike up to the acropolis, which is well worth it but make sure you wear good waking shoes - my husband tripped over a basking snake!

All in all, for the money paid, the VIlla Eden is well worth it and top marks to Thomson for organising the coach/ferry/coach so efficiently.

Room Tip: Room number 8 over looking the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank curly_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just got back from Villa Eden.. Spent 2 weeks there.. First and foremost Dimitri the owner, he greeted us with a warm smile and a friendly handshake. He showed us to our rooms and said he'd come back when we were settled.. OH CHRIST I thought that's when the air con and safe hardsell starts.. According to some on here the man virtually lives in your apartment with you, so most reading will be surprised to hear that he came back, showed us were everything was and how it worked and then left. His parting words were "you want air con or safe let me know" and that was it.. The apartment was basic and small but clean and tidy.. The gardens and pool area are immaculate.. Two small gripes,the beds were hard and the pot cloth wasn't changed throughout our stay.. In fairness the beds were to hard for us but may be perfectly fine for others.. The holiday wasn't the most expensive we've ever bought and we went to Villa Eden without very high expectations.. A place to rest our heads, a place to use as a base to go out and somewhere close to good resteraunts and tavernas.. In that respect our expectations were were more than adequately met.. If you go cheap you should expect cheap basic accomodation in my humble opinion.. Some people expect far to much, if some of you guys wanted the Ritz or the Hilton then maybe you should of paid a price tag to match.. Thassos is beautiful and we will be returning.. To the Villa Eden?? I wouldn't rule it out!!

Room Tip: Great food at The Twins and Mesoginese but our favourite was SIMI's in the harbour.. Island bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

i stayed in the villa eden in may of 2012and found it very good yes the air con is offered and its not 5*but it honest value for money.the beds are are a little low but what the heck the pool is clean and tidy the whole place is tidy some pepole just like to complain its 3* look before you book id stay there again.i wrote a review on the web site virtual tourist and have placed real pictures please take a look.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank athenspete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in may 2012 having two rooms as we went with my parents. Dimitri and his wife were very helpful, our room was clean and always had fresh bedding and towels. Ok so we were asked to pay for the safe but Dimitri was kind enough to discount for the two rooms. Both rooms were excellent quality for the rating of the hotel. The gardens are lovely in the sun, and at the time we stayed we noticed a more mature age group. People slag this hotel off for the slightest thing. Please remember this when you book. The hotel is a two star rating what do they expect. For the two stars this hotel is lovely.
The pool is well maintained and quiet, and we were ok taking our our drinks to the area. The local super market is very good and helps with the self catering aspect. Thassos is a lovely place to Stay and is a great island to get around. We ate in some lovely taverna's including thassian Dumas and simi. Stay away from the twins restaurant in limenas as the food is not good at all. Al microwaved.

Room Tip: This are two star rating rooms so please don't be expecting the world. For the rating they are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thassos Town (Limenas)
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#12 of 89 in Thasos
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
A for Art
A for Art
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#5 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eden

Address: Limenas Thassos Stad Griechenland, Thassos Town (Limenas) 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Villa Eden Hotel Thassos Town (Limenas)
Villa Eden Thasos/Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing