We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet,understated apartments.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thetis Apartments And Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet,understated apartments.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived & were greeted by Thetis (the owner) A friendly quietly spoken lady who showed us to our room.
The room was spotless,bright & large,a small kitchenette equipped sparsely but plenty for our needs.
The beds were changed midway through our stay which was fine,anything we needed we just asked & the family were more than happy to help.You will need to either bring loo rolls with you or buy some when you get there as there is only 1 supplied.
There is a pool side bar which Thetis & her sons ran,we ate lunch a few times & the Greek salad was delicious & fresh!
5 minutes from the ferry port with a lovely restaurant there (mesogios) & 10 minutes slow walk into the centre.
A great base for a typical Greek holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicitywilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent 2 weeks in Thassos at the Thetis Apartments. The accommodation was clean, well equipped, tastefully decorated and comfortable. It is a 10 to 15 minute stroll to town along the front, but there are some bars and restaurants nearer if you are feeling lazy!. The only point that would stop us returning is the road noise, which starts about 7 in the morning when the first ferry arrives. Marble, being transported off the island, on large HGVs pass by the hotel together with general traffic for the ferry. Our room was set back from the road, but made little difference. Other than that, it was great accommodation within a great town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me & my Mum stayed here for a week in August 2012. We'd booked though Thomson and chose the Thetis for the location and good reviews on Trip Advisor. I had been to Thassos before and had hoped that it remained a quiet relaxing island. I wasn't disappointed. The Thetis apartments are set in an olive grove and are self contained. There is no reception area and this makes it feel more like an apartment than a hotel, something others have also commented on. There is information on the wall and the staff at the bar are very helpful. The bar serves as a reception/information point too. We didn't utilise the air conditioning but did use the safe which was 15 Euros for a week.

We were one floor up with our balcony facing the pool area. The room was clean and spacious and had twin beds, a wardrobe, two bedside cabinets, a mirror and small table. The bathroom had a shower, toilet and sink. As in most Greek hotels/apartments it is more like a wet room, so beware when going in after someone else, the floor can get slippy. There was a fridge, kettle and cutlery and crockery for two. There was also a hot plate but we didn't need to use that. There was no washing up liquid or sponges but the supermarket down the road sells them cheaply. The balcony has a small table and two chairs and a washing line type thing which was good for drying swimsuits at the end of the day.

The pool closes at 7pm, the bar stops serving food at 8pm and the bar is meant to close at midnight. We did have one night when the bar was still playing music and serving drinks at 1.30am. We may have noticed this more as we had a room facing the area and we had the windows open. The pool is smaller than it looks but still big enough. There are a number of loungers around the pool as well as chairs on the grass near the bar area. There are only a few umbrellas and we did find that some mornings all the loungers were "reserved" with towels even though no one was sitting there!

I had read a few reviews where people were complaining about the price of snacks and drinks at the bar. However they were not that expensive. The owners ask you not to take your own food and drinks to the pool which is fair enough. The prices were reasonable, 3 Euro for a beer, 2 for a soft drink, 1 for a bottle of water. Yes the prices are higher than in the supermarket but you have to expect that. We ate lunch from the bar twice and again prices were what you would expect, we had a cheese toastie, a ham omlette, chips, a glass of wine and an iced coffee and it came to 14.50 Euros. The portion of chips is huge you can easily share them.

The apartments are a 5 minute walk to the nearest restuarant at the new harbour or 15 minutes into town. The supermarket is about 2 minutes and is well stocked.

I would recommend getting a citronella candle and burning it on your balcony to repell the mozzies.

All in all we had a great time at the Thetis and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlenel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I felt compelled to post this review on Tripadvisor since Tripadvisor helped us such a great deal on deciding to go here!

We went to Thassos in Greece with Thomson Travel at the end of August 2012. After a flight in the seats with the smallest legroom I have ever encountered we arrived at Kavala Airport. The journey on the coach to the Kermoti ferry port is only about 15 minutes but we had to wait about 45 minutes for our departure. That is not a problem since there is small supermarkets and restaurant around the small ferry port where you can relax and have a drink or get some last minute essentials.

The ferry journey is a pleasant 35 minutes. Flocks of seagulls follow the ferry. Some passengers feed the seagulls by throwing snacks overboard or the brave will feed them by hand. The seagulls will swoop down and take bread or anything edible out of passengers standing on the side of the ferry.

We stayed in Thetis apartments which is a 2 minute bus journey form the ferry port. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The rooms get cleaned daily and towels and bedding changes twice during our week stay. The room has a small kitchenette with a kettle, hot plate and fridge and all the other essentials. We got air-conditioning for 6 Euros a night. Not sure we needed it every night but it meant we could keep the windows shut at night. Our room was as close to the main road one can get. With it being the main road to the ferry port there are some heavy lorries and busses travelling along this road. This never kept us awake or woke us up in the morning. That might be because we had the aircon and slept with the windows closed. We were warned that there are a lot of mosquitoes which is another good reason to sleep with the windows shut.

The hotel atmosphere is very relaxed. It feels more like staying in holiday apartments than like staying in a hotel since you do not pass through reception when you come or go during your stay. The pool is a bit smaller than it looks on the picture but is big enough for the amount of customers there. The pool bar prices align with the bottom prices in town.

The first thing one need to do after arriving at your hotel is wander into town and find yourself a copy of the “A-Z guide to Thassos” by Tony Orwin. This can only be found at the Zorbas restaurant in the town centre where the author sits every Monday to Friday form 09h00 to 11h00. The book cost 10 Euros but includes a 10% discount card that can be redeemed at some popular restaurants, boat cruises and car rental. The book more than double paid for itself by using this voucher. And even if it was not for the voucher the book is still value for money since it tells you pretty much anything you want to know about the island. And even if you decide not to buy the book Tony will happily provide free travel advice with recommendations of things to do on the island for a lot cheaper than offered by the tour operator.

Beaches

Limenas: in Thassos town. We did not visit this till our last day. Wish we found it sooner! Bars and restaurants all along the beach. Some with free wifi which is a rare thing in Thassos. Beach itself is clean and restaurants provide free deckchairs if you ahve a drink or something to eat there.

Aliki: Small and beautiful but packed. All the restaurants are similarly priced so pick the one that looks the nicest.

Golden Beach: The biggest beach in Thassos. Get the water taxi form Thassos for 10 Euro return. It takes about an hour each way.

Makryamos: Get the water taxi form Thassos for 10 Euro return. It takes about an hour each way. This will also save you the 3 euro entrance fee to the beach since you will not be coming in form the road. We did not get time to go here but it looked very nice when we dropped the people of with the taxi. It is the same taxi that goes to Golden Beach, the journey to Makryamos is just a lot shorter.

Restaurants

Zorbas: Good food, good price, friendly service. And you get -10% on all food and drink if you have the voucher form the book.

Simi: Cold food and poor service. We did not even get olive oil and balsamic with our Greek Salad. We could not even ask the waiter because they are nowhere to be found. They sat us down when we got there and took our whole order. We then received your starters and mains at the same time. Once finished eating we sat around till a waiter appear to ask for your bill. 20 minutes late we received our bill. We got 10% with our voucher but it was not worth it. The people at the table next to ours had a similar experience and were visibly unimpressed too.

Mythos: Like the beer! Good food, great relaxed atmosphere at a good price. The location is great for enjoying the sun setting over the harbour and mountains. No discount offered here but definitely our favourite.

Thassian: Good food and service but not as good as Zorbas or Mythos. Definitely worth a visit though.

Pigi: We went there the first night since it was recommended in some reviews we read. Not sure why it was recommended since it was nothing special. One could argue that maybe I picked the wrong dish but it was one of their specialities and it was bland.

Car rental

Do not pre-book. Local is cheaper. We got a decent new car for almost half the price offered by the tour operator.

Local excursions

Eros 2 BBQ cruise: The boat cruises around the island and stop at some of the bays and beaches. It cost £30 (10% discount with the discount card) It is a long day but well worth it.

Get the book and look around town. It is a LOT cheaper than offered by your tour operator even though they claim you will not find it cheaper there!

Other

Beer: Mythos might be my new favourite lager! If I can find it back in the UK I will buy it. Mythos is a local beer and the same price is Amstel. Most places are between 2.50 or 3.00 Euros. Heineken is also available in some places but more expensive.

Cigarettes: Marlboro Gold 37 Euros and B&H Silver 38 Euro a carton of 10 packs of 20. If you plan to buy loads order it from the supermarket early and they will make sure they have stock for you.

Bring enough suntan lotion. Suntan lotion is the only item we found that is not cheap in Thassos!

The other nice thing about Thassos which was very pleasant was that we did not see a drunken person once for our whole stay. We never stayed out later than 11:00 though. We would return early and sit on our balcony and have a drink at home. You can buy 6 beers in the supermarket for the price of 2 in the bar or restaurant.

Will we go back? Definitely! Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Mornster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Well weve been to thetis twice now and shall be back for more...its a family run apartment block but its really so much more than that,its beautifully clean and the pool is great and well kept.
Its run by thetis,costas and their family.
its very close to the town only 5 minutes walk and situated superbly to the beach,shops and tavernas,nothing is ever too much trouble and they are always so happy to help.
Bless them myself and my wife wouldnt go anywere else its just fantastic.
Thassos itself is beautiful and if like us you love all things traditionally greek you wont be dissapointed....go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Top floor outer facing rooms are the best as you can look across into the mountains and over the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at the Thetis apartments at the begiining of August with my husband and we had a really lovely time.The family that run the Apartments are lovely and nothing is to much trouble i would defiantely go Back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Thetis for the second time in August 2012 we had stayed there the previous year and returned because we liked it so much. I telelphoned Thetis the owner before we we due to arrive and asked for the same room we had had the year before and sure enough she allocated us the room.

We had a fantastic holiday Thetis and her family are very welcoming and her beautiful gardens are a pleasant setting for a drink at the small bar in the evening. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds and towels are changed every three to four days. Thassos is a lovely place very green greek and unspoiled the best places we found to eat were Tavernaki(absolutely lovely inexpensive and the house wine is the best on the island) La Barca (don't be put of because it looks expensive it isn't and the food is lovely)and ofcourse the gyros opposite where the ferry comes in.

Don't believe what the reps say about the islands public transport being unreliable this is absolutely untrue I wish Thomson would pack it in with "GMT" meaning Greek Maybe Time they should be so promt with their pick up time!!. The boat trips on offer by the locals are also well worth it and the buffet lunch is fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 114 is on the lower ground floor opposite the smaller garden it is lovely and peaceful and so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GladEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thassos Town (Limenas) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Villa Fotini
Luxury Villa Fotini
#10 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lido
Lido
#6 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aethria Hotel
Aethria Hotel
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pavlidis
Hotel Pavlidis
#1 of 26 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thetis Apartments And Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thetis Apartments And Studios

Property: Thetis Apartments And Studios
Address: Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thetis Apartments And Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Thetis Apartments And Studios Hotel Thassos Town (Limenas)
Thetis Apartments And Studios Thasos/Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing