We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vasilikos Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Vasilikos
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday!”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just returned from the Vasilikos Beach after a weeks holiday there (50th birthday treat from my wife).
Realy enjoyed it. Room was basic, but clean.
Yes the shower is small, and could do with somewhere to hang the shower head, but there aren't many places we have been in Greece that are any different.
Hilary was very friendly & helpfull. The dogs are no problem, well behaved.
Food at the pool bar is good, especialy when Hilary does the cooking.
Most reviews say that there are only 3 taverna's which presumably are those on the main road, but the Plaka Beach restaurant probably has the best food. Not too sure why it was so quiet as it is only about a hundred yards away from the others.
The nearest beach (Plaka) is nice. The water is very shallow and clean.
Worth taking a walk to Gerekas beach which takes about 45 minutes and is easy going with a couple of taverna's along the way.
Overall this is a very nice hotel, and resort.
If you want a lively holiday, or will miss your full English breakfast, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazzr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    77
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
155
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is a in a great location for a good choice of beaches. There are a few resturants around but the quality isnt fantastic. Kookis beach bar is great for lunch or dinner over the sea. The accomadation and pool isnt the best for children with no safe shallow pool and lots of drops. We paid additional money for the suite which gave us extra space but the bed was really noisey with each turn and the pillows lumpey. I felt the bathrooms was patched for leaks and not very clean.
This place would be great for middle aged couples on a budget who dont mind basic accomadation. We agree with the comment about the staff that the bar seems to be more for their use than the paying guest. The hired staff are very helpful and work hard.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAC1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks stay at Vasilikos Beach Hotel for the 2nd year in a row. We wondered if were doing right as we had not done this previously and having had such a great time in 2010. However we were not disappointed, hotel still as good as before - Hilary, the owner was helpful and friendly and we felt would sort out any problems that arose but we didn't have any. Her staff some new but most the same as last year were also very friendly and helpful adding to this holiday. We enjoyed our breakfasts sat out under the pine trees in the shade but you can also sit facing the lovely gardens at the rear and have a bit of sun with your breakfast. The breakfast choice of cereals, peaches and greek yoghurt (my favourite) ham, cheese, boiled eggs (my other halfs favourite), various types of bread, cake, plenty of fresh fruit, fruit juices, choice of various teas and plenty of coffee - all very nice and well presented and replenished quickly.
Rooms were fresh and comfortable, linen and towels changed on a regular basis and rooms cleaned daily by the hard working staff.
We hired a car for a few days to see the island but to be fair the 3 beaches within walking distance of the hotel were as good as any. Although we are beach people the pool and poolside bar at the hotel is of a high standard. We rotated between the 3 tavernas in the village all of a good standard. Two mini-markets close by with a good selection and were very friendly.
In our opinion, once again very good value for money and hopefully will return again next year.
Ken & Pam - Nottinghamshire, England.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallifax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

we have just spent 10 nights here and had a fabulous chilled time.Sad to read a couple of the previous reviews which I feel were a tadge picky,but everyone is entitled to their opinion.The swimming pool is fantastic and very quiet,the grounds are beautifully kept and on whole the facilities brilliant.It is a family run business and the barbecues which are put on along with the entertainment are a truly family greek experience each week.There are beaches within walking distance as are a few scattered tavernas.the car hire/quad bike hire and moped hire are within a 150 yards along with a couple of supermarkets.If you want a hectic holiday choose elswhere if you want typically greek hospitality and a quiet and romantic getaway then choose here.Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.Full size fridges in your room so you could shop the local produce if you wanted to economise we ate each lunchtime at the pool bar and had it charged to our room which left us our euros to spend as we liked.TV's had a couple of english speaking chanels and my husband was over the moon to be able to watch the grand prix!Continental breakfast was the best choice we've experienced and you could have a cooked breakfast if you wanted at a supplement There was a lovely lounge area with comfy sofas and a well stocked bookcase to choose from,we left a couple of books behind and left my husbands daily english paper for others to use BRILLIANT LOCATION x

Room Tip: we had room 120 which had a lovely sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

just returned from this beautiful gem of a hotel, 1 weeks sheer chill, from the minute we arrived we felt that nothing was too much trouble for Hilary and her team. Being seasoned greek island travellers we found this hotel did not only meet expectations but exceeded them. We had a room with a lovely view overlooking the gardens and beyond that the sea, which is only 3 mins stroll through the gardens. The loungers and parasols we found to be cheap at only 6 euros, a small price to pay for such an idyllic setting. The few restaurants that are only a stroll away from the Hotel served good Greek food in a real family atmosphere
The pool area at the hotel is tasteful and extremely peaceful, serving good food at reasonable prices. Breakfast we found to serve a variety that exceeded what other Hotels at the same rating normally offer. We will definitely return to sample more of the hospitality that was offered at this lovely Hotel. Thank you Hilary & your team. A real chill & unwind holiday which is what Greece to us is all about.
Angela King

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just got back from Zante where me and my girlfriend stayed at Vasilikos Beach. We actually decided on this hotel after reading the reviews on here but were really disappointed when we saw our room and the hotel.
First of all the shower was tiny and you can hardly move without splashing the water everywhere and when you will get your floor matt wet you will have to hang it out to dry with you dirty towels as they only change them every 3 days!!!
Then we had no TV or radio in the room. Luckily, I had my Iphone with some music in it.
As we booked as a B&B there were no cooking facilities or cutlery in the rooms so we had to buy knive, forks etc
The breakfast in the hotel is the same everyday...some processed sliced of ham, slices of cheese, eggs, toast, cereal etc
There are no sporting facilities of any kind in this hotel..maybe some chess but that's about it.
The jacuzzi is a joke there. Its actually quite big but there is only one point from where the pressured water/bubbles come out so if there is more then one person you will have to take turns to get massaged!
Also, if you will need to use the safe in the room, then you have to pay 2 Euro per day for it which I have never come across before and thought that it was really unfair.
The hotel IS located not far from St.Nicholas Beach but you will have to pay about 8 Euros per day for the use of bed and an umbrella.
The only nice things I can say about Vasilikos Beach Hotel is that the stuff is very helpful and friendly but that's about it...

I'm not a fussy traveller but I was extremely disappointed with this hotel and will never go there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gera_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Good:-

Swimming Pool(and area) is gorgeous. Slight shame it is next to the car park but this isnt much of an issue. You can watch the delivery men come and go.

The buildings and grounds. Lovely cactus garden and tastefully built exteriors

Location. We wanted a quiet holiday and we got one. Hired a car and did the touristy bits, but always came home to a very peaceful area. no louts anywhere near the place. plenty of beaches to choose from within 5 minutes walking distance.

The Friday night BBQ. Awesome food

The Average:-

We didn't find the staff as warm as most report. For a 'quiet' hotel, I'm not sure the staff should be taking running jumps into the swimming pool during their breaks. In fact, it does seem the staff treat it as their holiday home too, instead of a workplace.

The Bad:-

We both found the beds incredibly hard. Even to the point of getting pins and needles that woke us up. Also, got bitten to death by insects despite covering ourselves in Anti-Mozzy spray.

The Breakfast. Subjective point, but the only hot food was hard boiled eggs and toast. I got pretty bored of having processed cheese and ham sandwiches for breakfast. There were also peaches and some cheap looking cereals. Not for those of us who like fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms or sausages. Still, at least I don't need to lose quite as much weight post-holiday.

The Bathroom. Very small and cramped. Door didn't fit the frame, so always swung half open and got in the way when using basin. Couldn't shut it, so privacy lacking when using lav. Towel rack was at head height for me (5'10") getting out of shower and bashed my head against that a few times.

5 Euro's for an hours Internet! I hate that horrible feeling when you know someone is trying to take advantage of you. Almost cured my internet addiction due to this.

All-in-all, We would consider returning but the bed situation would probably make us look elsewhere in the same area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vasilikos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
I was sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. If only you had come to tell us at Reception we could have rectified some of your discomforts. I have some mattress toppers for clients who prefer a softer bed & have found that one or two bathroom doors have had to be planed this year as the extra coat of paint seems to have caused problems in one or two cases.
I am sorry that our breakfast buffet disappointed we cook English breakfasts on request, this may be inclusive or charged as an additional supplement dependent upon the rate the guest is paying. This also applies to the WiFi access.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilikos
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Palazzo di Zante Hotel
Palazzo di Zante Hotel
#16 of 18 in Vasilikos
269 reviews
4.5 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 26 in Argassi
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
686 reviews
5.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,236 reviews
9.4 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasilikos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilikos Beach Hotel

Property: Vasilikos Beach Hotel
Address: St Nicholas, Vasilikos 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Vasilikos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vasilikos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vasilikos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small & friendly Hotel nestled between the famous St.Nicholas beach with it's Water-sports & Diving Center and the long stretch of beach which starts from the hotel garden. Each area of this beach is defined by its beach bar & provides a different experience along the way.The Hotel is comprised of 52 standard rooms & 2 Suites housed in 3 buildings.The Accommodation is simply furnished.In each room facilities include.. air-conditioning,fridge,TV & telephone,safety deposit box,shower-room & furnished balcony or terrace. WiFi access in all areas of the Hotel. Relaxing gardens with pine trees & palms with a beautiful cool poolside bar serving a variety of dishes & exotic cocktails as well as refreshing drinks & ice-creams. Ample Parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vasilikos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasilikos Beach Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing