We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel could be AMAZING! Do not go here if you want kids clubs, Brit/Irish bars Macdonalds and booming music!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Vasilikos
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel. After finding it on the Internet we got it cheaper booking direct with hotel. We also got a better choice of room. We chose the Maisonette thinking this would be better with 2 children as our bedroom was upstairs but although it was fab and had a lovely bathroom, kitchen area, patio and balcony we have subsequently learned that the junior suite might have been better as the children would have had single beds - a big deal now they are getting older and dont want to share. Hotel staff couldn't do enough for us pool was so clean and quiet. We didnt have to worry about getting a sunbed like in most hotels. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice our only negative comments would be that it felt like this hotel could have offered so much more! It is in a stunning location with beautiful views down to Gerakas beach walking distance to Gerakas and Port o Roma. The rooftop terrace is unused and would be fabulous for BBQs and cocktail nights. The adjoining restaurant Villa Rossa is absolutely stunning a romantic setting with a greek night on a Thursday but the menu was Pizza and Pasta???? We did manage to get some Greek food on request the following week but really the Menu needs to be improved and more authentic as if you are like me if I am visiting Greece I want to eat Greek ! Simple changes easily done. The other thing to mention was that whilst we hardy saw any mosquitos there was anoyher problem - wasps! Not like ourssome quite big and dont get me wrong people were not getting stung - staff seemed to be used to it and this problem seemed to be all over the island. However some tavernas made precautions with trapping devices and so on which the Hotel didn't and thus preventd lots of people from enjoying the beautiful scenery at breakfast time . On the whole though we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday with plenty to see. Gerakas beach best by far - Marios boat trip - amazing and the Organic Restaurant by the beach for best food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luigibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 day stay with my boyfriend at Belvedere Luxury Suites and had such an amazing experience I wanted to write a review immediately!
The hotel is exactly how it appears on their website..stunningly beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The pool was literally the best pool I have come across on holiday..visually pleasing and we never had a problem getting an umbrella and sun beds at anytime of the day even though it was peak season.
Our room was fully air conditioned and cleaned daily. We found the breakfast buffet always well stocked with a nice selection to choose from. Another lovely thing about Belvedere is the staff. We found them always ready to answer a question or fulfil any request with friendliness and a smile!
A ten minute walk from the hotel will take you to the picture perfect Gerakas beach. Although beautiful.. Vassilikos itself is quite a remote area with a few tavernas and beach bars so if you want to explore the island you will need to rent a car or scooter. We drove around the island a bit and quite honestly did not find a resort or area more beautiful Belvedere Suites in Vassilikos so we were delighted with our choice.
We have to mention Villa Rossa which is a wine bar at the back of the hotel. If you enjoy spending evenings in a gorgeous garden by candlelight sipping wine and listening to soft music under a starry sky..this is your place! We fell in love with the atmosphere and the staff Anni and Panos served us with such graciousness. Nothing we asked for was too much for them!
We will be recommending this hotel to our own families and friends. The perfect holiday destination for couples and families!
Grace. Dublin, Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

PROS: nice room and quite environment, international customer base
CONS: you have to be charged for Internet- not even wifi, service is not excellent (we asked a drying rack, we got it for one day and then it desappeared) and food served in buffet is BAD. The only exception is à la carte menu dinners.
Many guests, even if paying half board including us, had their dinner to the close Galini restaurant.
Not enough fruit is served.

Room Tip: do not chose the rooms close to the parking slots
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank birkinbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Decent sized and clean rooms close to one of the best beaches in the island. We have the rental car so it was easy to access the beaches. The breakfast was a bit disappointment as the breakfast room is very small, hot with No A/C and very Limited choices that were not very fresh at all. We have skipped the breakfast and only us the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked into the Gerakos Belvedere for 4 nights at the end of a tour around Zante, a bit of luxury we thought at the end of our trip. However the other cheaper places we had stayed were actually much better than this hotel!

I had emailed in advance and said we were coming for our anniversary and expected that our room would at least be very nice as we had paid extra to stay in a Junior Suite with a garden view. How wrong we were!

We were shown to a dark basement room which faced onto the road which stunk of smoke. I asked if this was correct - was this a ‘junior suite' - the receptionist said this was all they had and left us to it. We went back to complain and insist we were moved as we felt like crying! After the other lovely places we had been to - to end up in this dark dingy room! Eventually we were shown to another room - still on the ground floor, not with the balcony as promised by our booking but an improvement and not stinking of smoke. There was no recognition in any way of our anniversary.

Then there was the breakfast! The worst I have experienced in Greece. Juice which tasted like vitamin supplements, cheap (greek?) yoghurt with big lumps in it and bit of orange peel, greasy fried stuff. My husband ended up eating cereal and me bread with jam. For $100 per night!

Stupidly we ordered sandwiches from the pool bar the day after including a 'chicken' wrap - we took it straight back as it was processed grey substance which I would not feed to my dog! This created an argument with the pool staff who asked if we had never had a 'chicken steak' before! They refused to take it off the bill, made us go to reception have another argument and eventually they told us they had taken it off the bill. I realised when checking through our bills etc when we got home that they had still charged us for it! We felt this must be a management issue or issue with the chef if this is the quality of the food served and surprised a 4 star hotel could get away with it.

We didn't eat at the pool bar again, nor the restaurant so cannot comment on the quality of the restaurant food.

Also, we had booked under the impression the hotel was 'eco'. We saw no evidence of this. There was no solar panels on the hotel, towels were changed every day even if not dirty/put on floor, the lights etc stayed on even if the key wasn't in the key holder - so lights were left on inadvertently, basic things that other hotels do as standard and don't claim to be 'eco'.

Good points: The location is incredible, next to Gerakos Beach, green and beautiful. The local tavernas, Gallini and Delphna? were excellent - great food and excellent service. The pool area was also really nice, and the cleaning staff also friendly. There is also a small area in woodland outside the hotel which has a small pony , chickens, goats etc which is a nice touch.

In summary- excellent location but would not recommend as the level of service is just not good enough, and the cheap poor food was also a major let-down. The place feels like it's trying to be elegant and luxurious but really is just a 2/3 star hotel dressed as lamb.

Room Tip: There is no guarantee of getting a good room if you pay more and book a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LoveFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvZ60, Manager at Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not satisfactory. But the truth should be said. The type of room Junior Suite Garden View is the lowest rate room we provide as a choice when booking for the Belvedere. The pictures on our web sight present the majority of the rooms of Belvedere, Junior suites See view and double room see view. We do however make a reference to the Garden view, but we will upload some more pictures of them so we don't have any misunderstandings. As for the matter of the "chicken wrap" You can contact with the management and we can explain how the price of the product (4,5 euros) was removed from your account. We did not have any reference to your anniversary on any of our email. We do provide special amenities on special occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have just returned from a five day stay at this lovely hotel. I was given a really excellent room with amazing views down to the sea.
The hotel is lovely in every way. The rooms and other areas were bright and attractive and the staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and welcoming. There were nice little touches like the welcome drink at the Villa Rosa and the goodbye gift. Thank you for a lovely stay and I will return sometime soon.
I dined out each night and my fovourite taverna was the Gallini just round the corner. The staff were lovely and so was the food.
The beach at Gerakas was very lovely and not too busy. It helped that there was no taverna to attract people. The eco and rescue centre was interesting and the trips they organised looked good for any future visit.
I walked further down the coast a couple of times to the beaches. I found this area too touristy although I did love the taverna at Vrahos beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverysand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just arrived home from a fabulous relaxing week at the Belvedere. Can't fault it at all. The staff were all very friendly & helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean & the pool area lovely. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves. (Probably because it was on the cold side!). There were no issues with sunbeds like in other reviews.
Our room was on the second floor & had a very large balcony. The decor was nice & bright & the view was great. We could see the swimming pool & down to the coast & sea beyond. Housekeeping cleaned daily with regular linen/towel changes.
The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice & something different each day. We have stayed in Greece many times & this hotel by far provides the best breakfast.
Vasilikos is a very quiet area & is perfect if it's peace & quiet you are looking for. After hiring a car for a few days & exploring the beautiful island & other resorts we felt so pleased to have chosen Vasilikos as it is by far the best area. The main beach Gerakas is beautiful & is within easy walking distance. Another beach we enjoyed while we had a car was Banana beach. There are also a number of tavernas within walking distance. We chose B & B so we could eat out at night. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening. The best tavernas locally we found were Galini & Delphini. Galini did the best kleftiko!! Everyone is so friendly & welcoming. We also enjoyed cocktails at Villa Rossa behind the hotel.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel & will definitely stay again when we return to Zante. Wish I was still there! We could have easily stayed another week. Just brilliant.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helena_T_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasilikos
1.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
4.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
4.9 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liuba Holiday Houses
Liuba Holiday Houses
#8 of 18 in Vasilikos
11 reviews
1 mi away
Vasilikos Beach Hotel
Vasilikos Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Vasilikos
285 reviews
9.8 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites

Address: Gerakas, Vasilikos 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Vasilikos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Vasilikos
Price Range: $55 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belvedere boutique Hotel is the perfect place for a holiday, located amongst Cypress trees in the beautiful verdant area of Vassilikos; undoubtedly one of the prettiest places on Zakynthos. Vassilikos is a charming village still relatively untouched by tourism, with tavernas and bars set in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Built on the side of a small hill, it overlooks the green fields below and beyond the blue sea of Gerakas and Porto Roma bays; the two best beaches on the whole island - only a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is built with the utmost attention to detail. The main colors are white and blue mixed only with the green color of the surrounding trees, simplicity, style and high quality of materials used are found throughout this unique hotel. The hotel provides not only a relaxed and quiet atmosphere but also all modern facilities such as internet access, satellite TV, DVD player and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Vasilikos
Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites Zakynthos/Vasilikos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing