We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gerakas Belvedere Luxury Suites
Nearby Hotels
Arion Resort(Vasilikos)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Katerina(Vasilikos)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Matilda Hotel(Vasilikos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
77
100
45
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
100
45
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla rossahalf boardjunior suitegerakas beachwithin walking distancepool barlocal tavernaslovely hotelair consea viewnewer roomsattached restaurantquiet settinglots of selectionmature couplewoodland arearelaxing holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 245 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It seems a lot of people only write about bad experiences so I thought I'd make the effort to write about our time at Belvedere, even though it was last October. The hotel was fantastic, really clean, great room with plenty of space and a good sized balcony. This was perfect for me, the wife and baby. Its always worth considering who your neighbours are on holiday and I can honestly say in that hotel and in fact in the whole area there was not a chav in sight! It was a really calm relaxing atmosphere and we were at the end of the season so it was especially quiet. At times we had the pool all to ourselves. The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the nice lady on reception. The best thing though was the location. Having hired a car and driven around most of island I honestly cant understand why people would stay anywhere else but Vassilikos, unless of course they were there to spend most of their time in bars and clubs. The area was really unspoilt, with surely the best beaches in Zante and no crowds. Despite being quite rural, there were some really nice tavernas for an evening meal and a few drinks. I would say that if you're on holiday to get twisted, this area probably isnt for you. It took about 15 minutes walk to Gerekas beach and another beach but with the hire car you can access lots of other nice beaches. I cant think of many drawbacks to be honest, the berakfast buffet wasnt amazing but then it wasnt bad either. The only other thing I suppose is the lack of public transport but the cost of hiring a car was quite reasonable and was a great way to see the island at our own pace. It was less than 30 minutes into town.

Room Tip: Try and get a room which has a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Double-L-Dizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got quite a two faced impression of this hotel. We had booked a doubleroom, which are described as „all with wonderfull seaviews“ both at their own homepage and by TUI. Thus we felt great disappointment when shown a rather dark room in the basement - facing the wall of another building, hardly hidden with two oleander bushes… After a long argument, TUI gave us a refund and we were finally able to move into a room on the upper floor three days later. The hotel stuff did not seem to care too much. During the rest of our stay, we learned why: Moving unsatisfied guests to another room is quite a common measure at this hotel, as standard and equipment (no telephon or DVD player in the first room) differ astonishingly, although the price is the same… So be aware that you need to be lucky to stay in one of the very beautiful and comfortable upper rooms with good views. (If you book a larger junior suite you can choose garden/sea view in advance).

By the way, when trying to go to bed on the first night, we discovered our sheets had been used before ! The receptionist just gave us new sheets, so we had to change them ourselves, we also missed any kind of an apology. In general stuff appears quite non-professional (as desribed previously) concerning a „four star“-hotel, beginning with dresscode (jogging trousers at breakfast), sometimes very little attentiveness for example when expected to pick up dishes during breakfast and ending with the crew of the pool bar taking a swim at noon. Maybe this is just greek way of life and it could be surely acceptable when everything else had been arranged satisfactorily.

Nevertheless Zakynthos is a very beautiful island and a good choice for sunny holidays e.g. exploring it with a rented car (no problem at the hotel), snorkeling or just enjoying beach life.
At Gerakas Belvedere the upper rooms, the scenic and peaceful surroundings, the welcoming pool area (although Yakuzzi was still broken) and the nice bar at Villa Rosa are still worth a visit. Do not eat at the hotels restaurant too often, otherwise you would miss the great choice of taverns with local food. Breakfast is average, the choice of at least cheese and spread would need some alternation anyway. The two juices are far away from any kind of fruit, more reminding of some soluble vitamin supplement.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank ToSei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found the place comfortable, clean and modern with good facilities.The rooms have a great view of the Mediterranean.

The Villa Rosa restaurant is a good place for that evening "wind down" drink or a relaxed meal. The staff at Villa Rosa are very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Not all lower rooms and suites have a view so get a room on the higher levels
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and the buffet breakfast was delicious.
We decided to never eat evening meal in the hotel as it required you to pre-order beforehand, which seemed a bit strange.

Sadly the jacuzzi wasn't working and I had to get up at 5.30am to guarantee getting a sun lounger - more sun loungers are definitely needed.
The views from the hotel are superb and it also has a lovely tennis court.
The restaurants nearby are excellent, expecially Delphini where the owner went out of his way to accommodate our needs (even making sangria especially for my fiancee). Avoid the restaurant by the beach at Porto Romo - the staff are arrongant, impolite and tried to over-charge us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

JUNIOR SUITE = Cean,very good apart from the drain in the bathroom that smelt like a sewer whenever a tap or shower was turned on and flooded the hall
.
RECEPTION DESK =young German lady very polite,helpful and friendly,and the young man with big earrings in each ear was polite too.

POOL=the cleanest we have ever seen,jacuzzzi broken and only a few sun beds that were all occuppied by towels at 6.45 am

SEA=nearby beaches the best in Zante but a car is a must as it would be impossible for young children and the elderly to walk ther and back

DINING ROOM=clean and well decorated

FOOD=two foreign waiters that spoke very little English served us dinner in jeans,short sleeved shirt and a huge tattoo from wrist to elbow was something new for us in a 4 star hotel.And the highlight of our holidaywas last nights dinner ,we were served a starter then salad at 7.30 we waited (as did the other guests) until 9.05 and were served a plate of food that consisted of 2 tiny burnt meatballs with a few cold french fries .We tasted the burnt balls and went to complain to the chef away from the other diners.He grabbed a fork tasted it and said it was perfect and he would go to his room and get money and give it to us (strange but true)We told the owner who agreed they were far too salty and said we shouldnt have had to wait so loog because everything is precooked and heated in a microwave DELICIOUS she seemed to be more interested in telling us how rich and powerful she was owning many hotels and villas on Zante.

RESULT=we left early next morning without eating our breakfast.Customers should never ever be treated in this way and it does not cost anything to be polite

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank blondie103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews