We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every bit as good as the first time”
other travelers have booked this property
Private villa with infinity pool and great views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private villa with infinity pool and great views
Extra-long infinity pool (13 m.)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Private villa with infinity pool and great views
Extra-long infinity pool (13 m.)
Stunning panoramic view
Covered patio
Contemporary architecture with high colonial ceilings
Authentic Portuguese decoration
Dining space
Fully equipped kitchen
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom 2
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom 3
En-suite bathroom
Private garden
Sea view
Sunset lounging
Sunset dining
Village of Guia
Close to several award-winning beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Guia, Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as the first time”
Reviewed January 3, 2019 for a stay in October 2018

Our second year at this villa, and again we were over the moon with our stay. The other reviews have covered the details, so I won't duplicate these again. My family and I are very much looking forward to return in 2019.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RItravele...
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Very nice place, but we got robbed...”
Reviewed October 31, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Casa da Encosta for one week in the end of September. It was 4 of us, two couples. The villa includes 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, which worked very well for us. Check-in and check-out was easy; we actually didn’t see anyone, just followed the instructions. On arrival we got a welcome package for us: a bottle of white and a bottle of red wines, bottles of water, milk, OJ, toasts, jam, wafer cookies, tea, Nespresso coffee pods. A very nice touch, we had a breakfast ready for the next morning and some extra! Thank you!

The villa itself is nicely appointed to keep you comfortable. Moreover, there is a beautiful and quite big outdoor area. It’s essentially an outdoor living space with a dining table and chairs in shade, a cocktail table surrounded by a sofa and chairs under big umbrella; a BBQ area; a beautiful garden; infinity pool with crystal clear water, 4 lounge chairs, another umbrella, and an outdoor shower. While at the villa, we spent most of our time outdoors: near the pool, had all our breakfasts and some dinners outside, seen several gorgeous sunsets. Great views, nice landscaping, lots of flowers and succulents around the house, citrus trees.

The villa is great! It is a real house with several details and nice touches that make a house - a house, not just a place to sleep (as a lot of rental places are). It consists of a kitchen, dining room and living room with a beautiful high sealing and fireplace in between, 3 bedrooms (two with double size beds and AC and one with two twin beds, no AC) and 3 bathrooms (had all typical amenities one might need in the bathroom including a toilet, shower, and a sink). There is plenty of storage places, walk-in closet in the master bedroom and a safe in it. Library from the other bedroom was also nice. One things we didn’t really like is too many steps in unexpected places throughout the house, got tripped a few times, especially in the dark. The villa is neat and, in general, very well maintained and has everything that one may need in a home-away-from-home.

The kitchen was very well stocked: all sorts of dishes, glasses, cups, utensils, pots and frying pans, etc. – good quality and plenty of everything. There was also salt, pepper, some other seasonings, sugar, detergent for dishwasher. Liquid soap was in all 3 bathrooms and kitchen. You just need to bring shampoo/conditioner, toothpaste, etc. The villa was also equipped with a dishwasher and a washer: very nice for our 2 weeks long vacation - less clothes to bring. It would have been handy to have a detergent for the washer (at least, for one load), but not a big deal.

We had a rental car. A parking space was available near the bottom of the staircase to the villa, which is pretty steep.

We loved the place and enjoyed our stay until the day before the last. We spent that whole day at the yard near the pool, but in the evening, we went for a dinner, a restaurant not far from where we stayed. When we came back, we noticed that lights in the house were everywhere on, and windows were wide open… It didn’t look right… Yes, it wasn’t: our villa got robbed. The thieves smashed the top part of a window in one of the bathrooms and got inside through it. Everything in our bedrooms were upside down, the thieves went even through our dirty laundry, many valuables were taken: a smart phone (with all the pictures!), a tablet, wallet with credit cards, a driver’s license, some cash, etc; all jewelry, Sony zoom lens for our better camera, Valentino purse, several backpacks, brand name sunglasses, all our electricals including chargers, transformers/converters, extra batteries for phones and cameras, many items that we bought in Portugal as gifts and souvenirs to bring home with us + bottles of port and muscatel already packed for travel, … Needless to say that it was not a pleasant experience. On top of the items lost, there were some memories stolen as well as unrecoverable sentimental value associated with many of those stolen items, like earrings - gift from my parents (both passed away) and other jewelry – memorable pieces from different places we traveled to… Plus the dirty feeling of your personal space violated and considerable time and effort spent on the things that one does not associate with vacationing: going through a burglarized house, looking for police (without any spoken Portuguese) and talking to police until 2 o’clock in the morning in the villa; calling banks and credit cards companies, cancelling the cards; informing the phone plan provider (all that in the middle of the night); then, compiling a police report on the next day (it took several hours!), and so on.

On the other hand, the housekeeper Isabel and her son as well as the two police officers were very helpful and understanding too; we are very thankful to them. Also, it was a good thing that we had our passports, some cash and most of our credit cards either with us or hidden in a little safe.

After the robbery we had to sleep in the house with an open, broken window for 2 nights and needed to leave the house with an open window for practically whole next day, when we needed to go to police in Albufeira to file the Police report. All sense of rest and relaxation disappeared after 2 sleepless nights and the stress… I honestly felt afraid to be in the house. Very unfortunate. You never know, it could have been worse: in some sense we were glad that we were not at home when it happened; at least, nobody got injured. After almost two weeks in Portugal, we actually felt very safe until this happened; had this - as it turned out - false feeling of security and when we went for a dinner that night, we didn’t put some things into the safe as we always did when we were leaving for the whole day. Somebody was definitely watching the house - we’ve been out only for about 2-3 hours.

Overall: We loved the villa. The house and yard were great and well maintained.
Unfortunately, the robbery marred the whole experience for us. Now when people ask us about trip to Portugal we are talking about robbery unfortunately…the last and strongest impression from the trip to beautiful country. The sense of being violated is still with us…, memories and thousands of $$ lost…
Rating: Villa is 5, but experience is 1

Be always on alert! Some recommendations on how to diminish chances of a house being robbed: before leaving – even for a short time - always lock all windows and doors in a most secure way available, leave lights on at least in some rooms, put as much as possible valuables in a safe, etc. It seems that it would be useful to put that list of recommendations into the folder along with other information about the villa and the surrounding area. By the way, the owners should update the list of emergency phone numbers: we tried the ones listed at the moment and could not get anywhere; it turned out the numbers were outdated. Fortunately, Isabel (the housekeeper) responded right away, and she and her son came to the villa (it was close to midnight! Thank you, Isabel and Thiago!), called the police for us, helped with translation, and were just very nice and helpful in general

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2018
While the Algarve can indeed feel as paradise, unfortunately it is not immune for life’s discomforts like the one you experienced. We therefore always recommend travelers, including our guests, to take the minimum precautions such as putting valuables in the provided safe. As co-victims we sincerely regret the incident; in all the years this has never happened before and we feel confident that it remains just that, an incident. We very much appreciate that you thanked our staff for providing the immediate (midnight) assistance; it is part of our commitments as we strive to provide a level of comfort that is well above the norms. We noted your top rating for the villa itself, and hope you will return to pick up the good life again! Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle301
Amersham, Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday in the sunshine!”
Reviewed September 24, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this villa is splendid - peaceful, with wonderful views.
Villa itself very well equipped, most attractive interior décor, lovely pool and gardens. We were a party of 4 adults and one toddler - did have to keep an eye on the toddler with regard to the steps inside and out, but wasn't a big problem.
Bedroom suites spacious and comfortable - as indeed was the whole property.
Isabel the housekeeper is very sweet and dealt efficiently and quickly with a problem that arose. Would certainly recommend this villa for a relaxing stay, with the option for plenty of exploring and/or beach days.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_P_10
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

As per previous, the villa works well in terms layout providing isolation from others as far as the bedrooms go, all 3 having en-suite bathrooms, though only 2 have air conditioning.
Kitchen well equipped and bbq located close to table outside, so not isolated from others.
Pool large and garden spacious. Views are great.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie665...
Elora, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Discovering the Algarve”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We are extremely pleased with this Villa, it is exactly what we needed. We are traveling with 3 couples and wanted some space to relax and enjoy each others company and have some down time. The villa is beautifully laid out, the design is interesting and allows for privacy when traveling with a group on different sleep schedules. The villa is central to everything in the Algarve. It is very well equipped with utensils, dishes and pots and pans, etc. which was awesome as we cooked a few meals throughout the week. We discovered Gale beach later in the week, it is absolutely beautiful beach, great for taking early morning walks.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing villa, for our perfect family holiday in Portugal”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The villa is stunning; we could not have imagined it to be better. We wanted to be away from the busy resort areas of Albufeira, and this location offers peace, privacy, security, exceptional views and spacious luxury accommodation. Albufeira itself and the beaches are only a 10 – 15 min drive away, and Algarve shopping and Zoomarine about 5 mins.

In short, we simply can’t wait to come back again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidiwash...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woud love to go back”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house with an amazing pool and well-maintained garden in a quiet neighbourhood. Within short driving distance of beaches, Zoomarine water park and shops. Isabel, who cleans the house, was lovely.
We had a great week. We did water sports on Oura beach in Albufeira (the guys at Ski Molhado are great - do the dolphins and caves trip, we saw lots of dolphins). Can highly recommend Benagil beach (swim to the cave!), and Gale beach (nearest to the house) is good. All beaches were bus but not overcrowded. Swimming with dolphins at Zoomarine was great (the park itself is crowded and targeted at little kids). The castle in Silves was quiet even in high season. The food at Borda del Aqua restaurant on Oura beach was good, and the best meal out we had was Portuguese food at Tasca Portugesa in the Albufeira marina.
We came home totally relaxed.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing