We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the restaurant with no name!”
Review of Pyrofani Tavern

Pyrofani Tavern
Ranked #23 of 134 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional Greek tavern with home made recipes and a spectacular view of the Aegean sea. You will find us on your way to Skiathos Airport
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the restaurant with no name!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

just returned from Skiathos (our first trip, but definitely not our last), we always read reviews and wanted a good fish restaurant so went in search of Pyrofani. However the restaurant does not have its name in English i.e. Pyrofani, its written in Greek and looks nothing like Pyrofani, we just happened to stumble upon it for a drink one day whilst wathching the planes land, only after asking for the wifi password did we realize we were in the place! We decided to order lobster for the following evening and it was amazing. You can see the food being cooked as its an open kitchen, the views over the bay are outstanding, the friendliness of all the staff is unbelievable. We did eat there again having filleted sardines, these too were the best sardines I have ever tasted, so fresh, and no bones! So walk along the road towards the viewing point of watching planes land and take off and its passed the Hotel Alkyon and its blue and white. They have promised me that they are getting a new sign as I am sure more people have searched for this little gem as we did and was well worth the search. We chatted with other customers too on both occasions and everyone agreed they had a fabulous meal and that the price was great. You must visit this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharalamposValmas, Manager at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello from Skiathos Amanda. Thank you for your kind words. It was very nice to have you here and i promise that by the next time you will visit Skiathos again we will have changed the name and write it in English too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    47
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's getting even better”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just got back from Skiathos and of course i paid a visit to Pyrofani Tavern again. I had some doubts whether i would like it as much as last year and to my big surprised I found everything even better. There is a new menu with more choices for all tastes but i must admit that the prawns pasta and the swordfish fillet were my favorite! And of course Mrs. Maria's moussaka was delicious. Definitely recommended if you plan to travel to Skiathos and eat delicious food in very very reasonable prices!!! Can't wait to go back in August.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkefalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharalamposValmas, Owner at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your support and kind words Maria. We can't wait to have you back and try our new entries from the menu! Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Gorgeous restaurant. Indoor seating area and large outdoor area right by the ocean. Family run . Delicious food and excellent personal attention. Very good prices and generous portions. Try the panacotta. Dreamy !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharalamposValmas, Manager at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
Thank you very much for you kind words dear friend. We dont know why your review is shown in our page a year after but as soon as we got we would like to thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh tasty Greek food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We dined here two nights. Great both times, the waiters recommended us what was fresh and it tasted great (stuffed calamari, seafood skewers and grilled bream). The prices are moderate, the staff are friendly and honest. We had a table by the sea both times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zemville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the great greek kitchen”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent food, friendly staff, amazing location, and the cook Giannis is creating fine examples of the typical greek food with a twist. I would recomended to everybody.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikostheodoridis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyrofani Tavern also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Pyrofani Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing