We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay.”
Review of Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Athena
Ranked #4 of 56 Skiathos Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Skiathos is a beautiful place. And the way to go there and have a beautiful experience is to stay at Villa Athena. The reason for this can be summed up in one word: Peggy. She's there to organise you if you need organising, and she'll give you space if you want to be left alone. But who wouldn't want to be shown the best beaches to go to, have the best restaurants booked for you and have the nicest excursions suggested? Back at Peggy's you'll find immaculate studios surrounded by really pretty gardens. We're glad Villa Athena is, quite justly, so popular. As long as Peggy keeps a room for us. David & Gill, London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dav1dG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have recently returned from our fifth annual visit to Peggy's Villa Athena and it never disappoints. The lovely studios, stunning views, quiet tranquillity and Peggy, ever in attendance, makes it our destination of choice. Peggy makes it all so easy, from car hire to booking us into wonderful restaurants, she is at hand and ever helpful..The studios are very comfortable, spotless and with the Aegean sea beneath and wonderful beaches close by makes this a perfect holiday.

Patti S

Room Tip: All studios much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 9 day stay at Villa Athena. It was the best holiday we have ever had as a family. Villa Athena is situated in an olive grove and has a beautiful garden and stunning sea views from all the studios. The studios are decorated with style and great attention to detail and the bathrooms were great with flushing toilets. There is also a kitchenette which helped with our two teenage boys who are always hungry. Peggy gave us wonderful information regarding places to visit and where to eat. The beaches were superb and it is great to rent a Jeep and to visit the beaches during the day and the tavernas in town in the evening. I recommend Villa Athena to anyone visiting Skiathos, it is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful views and they are all similar - there is no such thing as a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

After staying at La Piscine Art Hotel last year we decided to visit the beautiful island of Skiathos once again, but we fancied a change from the hotel/pool scene and decided to go self-catering and I'm really glad we did. But Villa Athena is no run of the mill self-catering 'complex' - it's an extension of Peggy's beautiful home and garden and because of that it can't be compared to any other complexes that run the length of the coast road from Skiathos Town to Koukanaries. Peggy will greet you at the airport - you can't miss her, look out for the dusty jeep driven by a tall, slim elegant South African lady, as soon as you meet her it's like you've known her for years. She's a lovely lady and the villas are a reflection of her - cool, sophisticated and charming.

There are many bonuses about Villa Athena that you won't find elsewhere - the size and quality of the accommodation, the cleanliness, the stunning views, the beautiful gardens, the running water from Peggy's own well - you won't have to buy any bottled water!! A simply stunning group of apartments/villas in a beautiful location, in fact it was so good that we stayed in on several evenings and just sat on the patio enjoying the peace and quiet - I even cooked one evening, using the well stocked kitchen (with complimentary bottle of wine/beers/soft drinks), but with so many good restaurants that Peggy can recommend to you on the island it's a shame not to sample them.

Okay - the one drawback: to get the stunning views that Villa Athena enjoys you need to be up high and the road to and from Villa Athena is steep and I mean steep. It emerges right on Bus Stop 5 and is okay(ish) walking down but walking back up after a few drinks in nearby Skiathos Town is a bit of a struggle and definitely not for the unfit/infirm. As the crow flies it's not far into town, about 20 minutes walk but allow more to get back - a lot more! I hired a quad bike for the fortnight (arranged by Peggy) and my first drive up and down the hill was greeted with shrieks of terror from my wife on the back, but... you get used to it and it all adds to the fun. So don't let this put you off, Villa Athena is stunning, so stunning that we will be back and we have never stayed at the same place twice in our life, as the title says I think we've found our perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The owner Peggy has developed these 6 apartments with great love and attention to detail. It really is some Greek / South African version of "Homes and Gardens' with fantastic views of the Aegean. We loved the peace and quiet ( no noisy pool bar or music,thank goodness) and the beautiful gardens set among an olive grove. Everything was perfection.....Good quality bedding, thick white towels, even beach towels and a mosquito net...Peggy even thought to put an umbrella outside our door when a storm was brewing.
(Also if you struggle with the Greek toilet problem then you will appreciate that at Villa Athena the paper can go down the loo.)
Peggy collected us from the airport and went out of her way to share maps and information with us on the terrace of her lovely home which is on the same site.
This is a fantastic retreat but one drawback is the access road which is a long steep hill.Driving up and down was a bit of a challenge initially and the blind junction at the bottom is further obscured by a huge waste bin! However we got used to managing it and would love to return next time we are on the Island.
If you are a discerning customer in need of a relaxing break then Villa Athena is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

After our exhilarating landing on Skiathos, I was surprised by the calmness that came over me upon my firts steps onto the island. We received a friendly welcome by our host at the airport.
Villa Athena was exactly what we hoped it would be - beautiful gardens, spectacular views, crispy white and spasious rooms with an experienced host that gives great advise on local tips.
We enjoyed the variety of beaches, friendly people and delicious local cuisine Skiathos offered. I look forward to my next Skiathos visit at Villa Athena.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnelouR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were four friends who spent a fabulous 7 nights at Villa Athena in early September 2013, and what a lovely holiday we had. From endless hours sunning on the many perfect beaches, to wonderful late nights in the many quaint restaurants scattered around the island, we left the island, and Villa Athena, with heavy hearts. Our apartments were beautifully decorated and the view from our rooms were breathtaking. The amenities are excellent and catered to our every need. Our host, Peggy, was very attentive to detail and had the best suggestions for things to do around the island, which beaches to visit, and where to eat. I would go back to Skiathos, and especially Villa Athena, in a heart beat.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlas Hotel Skiathos
Atlas Hotel Skiathos
#5 of 56 in Skiathos Town
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Melia
Villa Melia
#2 of 56 in Skiathos Town
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystery Skiathos Luxury Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Athena

Address: 254 Ftelia Road, Ftelia, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos Town
Price Range: $115 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant self-catering studios overlooking the ocean on the Greek island of Skiathos. Six air conditioned, self-catering studios each with its own private balcony or private patio with a superb sea view, twin-bedded bedroom with shower en-suite and open-plan living room with kitchenette. The suites are spacious and individually decorated with elegant yet relaxed furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Athena Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing