We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home!”
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Not a bad word to say about Costas and Mary's. The hotel and it's ground's are spotlessly clean and it's location could not have been better. Close to restaurants, bars, bus stops and the port where all the day trips leave from. Mary is always at hand to give you advice and personal recommendations and all her staff are very friendly making you feel at home. Do not hesitate to stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Costas & Mary. My husband and I first visited the hotel 8 years ago when Greece held the Olympics and we had a fantastic time. We loved Skiathos and the Costas and Mary so much that we always vowed to return. This time we were with my parents, brother and sister-in-law, niece and nephew. I was so glad when we arrived to find that the Costas and Mary had not really changed (especially as we had raved about it so much to our family). The only thing that had changed was there were more sunbeds around the pool and fridges and air-conditioning in the rooms. It was still spotlessly clean, same great staff and beautiful gardens. Mary was absolutely wonderful and she spoilt the children rotten. She is a lovely lady who cannot do enough for you. She organised taxis for us (when we needed on a couple of unfortunate occasions to go to the medical centre) and she even provided some first aid! She was always on hand for advice and a bit of a giggle. Costas and Mary's eldest son Kyriakis worked so very hard behind the bar both day and night. His efficiency and presentation was second to none. He made a fantastic Cappuchino and a mean Pina Colada! Sadly due to health issues my parents were not up to nights out on the town so we had to stay more local to the hotel. This meant that we frequented only the local tavernas on the sea front this time. However I have no complaints about any of them apart from Medousa (which was out of nearly everthing we ordered,we got main courses served with starters and some meals came up so late that some of us had already eaten our meals).
We managed to get in a trip on a yacht (recommended) but sadly due to my parents mobility we were unable to get to our favourite restaurant 'The Windmill'. Never mind we shall have to return next year so we had better get saving!!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel this time, we did not have air-conditioning and slept with the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first time to Skiathos and we couldn't have picked a better place. Mary and the staff couldn't do enough for your. When my son got sunburnt she gave us a spray that she uses and within a day he was back to normal. No problem with sunbeds if you stayed around the pool but get out to the beaches. We will defitely return to Skiathos and stay here again. One tip if you hire a car make sure its a 4 wheel drive as it got us out of a tricky situation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had researched hotels in Skiathos Town for many weeks and finally decided on Hotel Kostas and Mary, after reading all the positive comments made on Tripadvisor. There is no doubt that our research paid dividends, as we had a truly fantastic time in this hotel. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean at all times, and the overall atmosphere is very relaxed and very welcoming. The main reason for this is Mary, who is a legend in many ways. Her warm and friendly nature and sense of humour made us feel at home from the outset and I am not surprised that many people go back to this hotel year after year. Claudia, who helps Mary in the morning is also a breath of fresh air, with her wicked sense of humour and off tune singing, she made a huge effort to get to know every guest, and this was appreciated by all. The pool is quite small, but nevertheless we found it relaxing. Most of the time we went to the many wonderful beaches that Skiathos has to offer, which are easily accessible via the frequent bus route, I would recommend Achiladias, Vassilias and Kanapista beaches.
The hotel is approx. 5-10 minutes stroll to the beautiful harbour, where there are many wonderful restaurants, our favourites being 'The Final Step' and 'The Windmill', where the food was exquisite and the views were amazing and memorable. The nightlife was also impressive here, for instance the many cool and trendy places to sit and drink cocktails like the 'Rock n Roll bar', 'Goldfish' and 'Venue'.... half price before 10!
Lastly the holiday was made even more special by the wonderful people we met in the hotel. Chris and Steve, Andy, Hayley and Imana, thank you all, you are all amazing people and made our holiday one to remember.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Waine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I can only echo anu63 review, Mary i am still laughing at your antics!! Thanks Mary, your lovely family, and girls, you made our stay with you so special, and indeed the special friends we made, Imana i can still hear your infectious laugh, Looking forward to our next visit,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Returned from a wonderful two weeks staying at Costas and Mary Hotel in Skiathos yesterday (14/08/12).
I visited with my husband and 13 year old daughter.
Costas and Mary is a small family run hotel which is 5 – 10 minutes’ walk from the main port and a great selection of restaurants and bars.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very efficiently run by Mary, her family and her two hardworking ‘girls’, Claudia and Val(?) who serve the buffet style breakfast and keep the hotel sparkling clean at all times.
Claudia is great fun at breakfast, joking with all the customers, singing and taking time to get to know names, especially the children with whom she is especially lovely.
Breakfast was buffet style - basic but sufficient – a selection of cereals, cake, bread, jam, ham, cheese, omelettes, fruit and yogurt with orange juice, and tea or coffee – all served with a smile and a bit of banter from Claudia.
The (essential) air conditioning was an additional €150 and the room safe an additional €15 for the two weeks. Towels were fresh every day, rooms vacuumed and the beds made daily and changed every couple of days.
We used the hotel as a base and spent most of our days visiting the beaches of which there are many beautiful ones. The bus terminus is 5 minutes from Costas and Mary’s and there are 26 stops to Koukounaries and Big and Little (naturist) Banana beaches – the Banana beaches were a (15 minute) hilly trek from the bus stop. The bus price was only €2 for the whole 26 stop (30 minute) trip. All the beaches we visited were lovely, our favourite beach tavernas were on Vasilias and Kanapitsa beaches - we found it easiest to visit Koukounaries and Kanapitsa beaches by water taxi (hop off the boat and straight onto a sunbed) and also had a boat trip one day to Tsougari Island – gorgeous peaceful beach with a small taverna but not a great choice of dishes.
The beaches all seemed to be very safe for young children with warm, calm, clear waters and fine sand. Sunbed + parasol were a standard €8 for two on all beaches and then an additional €3- 4 for an additional sunbed for our daughter.
There is a great choice of restaurants in Skiathos but our favourites have to be ‘The Final Step’, ‘Olive Land (Elaias Gi)’, ‘En Plo’, ‘Lo and La’ and ‘The Windmill’ – booking is essential for all of them and Mary was endlessly patient and helpful in booking restaurants and taxis where necessary. We also loved the ‘Rock and Roll Bar’ and would highly recommend the passion fruit caipirinha (half price cocktails before 9.00p.m.).
If you’re looking to film the scary take off and landings, we had a lovely lunch in the ‘Little Windmill’ at the end of the runway one day, lovely food and great fun to see the planes coming in and parting our hair a few feet above our heads.
My husband was chewed by mosquitos (I was okay ;)) so I’d recommend taking mosquito sprays and an anti-histamine cream to sooth any bites.
Skiathos is a lovely, friendly family orientated island, all the people we met were warm and kind and we felt we had real value for money and wonderful service wherever we visited.
The boat trips along the old port were far better value those offered by the holiday company and I’d highly recommend chatting to the people selling these trips, collecting a few information leaflets and booking trips from there.
All in all, a wonderful, relaxing two weeks made even more special by Mary and her fantastic, hardworking team.
I’d also like to say hello to our new friends – Sam and Wayne (so sad when you went home a few days before we did) and the wonderful and lovely Chris and Steve – thanks for making our holiday even more special.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool had a better balcony view but we heard from other guests that that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Costas and Mary is a small, family run hotel. Me and my wife selected it, each independently from the Thomson reviews and werent disappointed. Mary is so friendly and welcoming - she never stops tidying up! It was spotlessly clean, with towels changed frequently. There is a small fridge in the room, which is handy to chill the endless bottles of water we consumed. There is a 50 Euro charge per week for the Air- conditioning, but it was necessary.The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice, but maybe could have varied. The bathroom was at times small and hot but adequate. Location is great for access to the town, the bus stop and the restaurants, but dusty, quite dark at night and had to constantly dodge cars & mopeds as a free car park is on route and became very busy at night. These are niggles, not moans and if we go back to Skiathos again, without doubt we would choose this accomodation as everyone staying in the hotel at the same time as ourselves said the same thing, it is spotlessly clean, convenient and you feel like you're part of Mary's family!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianq59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Address: Periferiaki Odos Skiathou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing