We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic small and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Costas and Mary hotel in Jul 12 and had a wonderful time. First time in Skiathos for us but have stayed on many Greek islands before. We choose this hotel based on the excellent reviews on here and so it had a lot to live up to and we were not disappointed. Arriving at the hotel just minutes from the airport without our luggage was a strange experience but routine (it arrived by truck 15mins later). The hotel is located down a small back street on the edge of town with the harbour and excellent selection of tavernas about 10 mins walk away. We found Mary and her family genuinely very warm and friendly being totally dedicated to keeping their hotel spotlessly clean, in fact one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in Greece. Mary has a great sense of humour and always ensured she spent time talking and getting to know her guests always making an appearance at the pool bar at night. During our visit there was a heat wave and it was essential to have the high quality double glazed balcony doors shut at night with the air conditioning on otherwise it was just too hot for us. Any noise from the low key night clubs which are some distance away did not disturb us but one or two guests did mention it during our stay. It has a lovely little pool with plently of sun beds surrounded by an intimate garden area. Many of the guests during our visit had stayed many times. Claudia helps at breakfast and cleans the rooms and has a fun sense of humour. This is a fantastic small and friendly hotel run by a great family team, we had a wonderful stay here on this lovely island and will certainly return and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the hotel to the pool may be quieter at night if you want the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

A very good hotel and the service is second to non but the air conditioning is very expensive because if you have a bedroom overlooking the pool,the discos in town start from about midnight until 5am or even later you will need to have your bedroom doors shuts but a lot of hotels have free air conditioning in the summer so why was this not mentioned in other reports about this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not have a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Oh Mary, Costas and family-how we wish we were back, even if I am embarrassed to say it was too hot! It was truly magical, you made it so very special.Immaculate is an understatement, I've stayed at 5 star hotels which were never as clean as yours. I heard absolutely no noise, superb location, we will be back, what more could you ask, 5 min stroll to a town of beauty.Please please do not hesitate . Come back and tell us all we weren't right.We're all that confident.See you soon Mary! Lorraine and The Second Beryl x

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have visited many Greek islands over 30 years. Skiathos is a favourite. It was a true delight to discover Costas and Mary's Hotel. After being warmly welcomed by Mary, we were shown to our lovely room. We couldn't wait to sit by the pool and felt comfortable and happy instantly.Why, after many years in Greece did we both feel it was perfect? All the key ingredients were present. A proffessional welcoming Greek family. Feeling like a true guest, sharing in their family life. All the positive comments about the Hotel are true and we can only emphasise that Costas and Mary and their sons and staff, should be very proud of their Hotel and the special way they treat their guests. We are returning next year for another 2 weeks of a Greek family Hotel, at it's very best. Thank you to all the family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruceandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Costas and Marys. We have been to Skiathos many times but this was the first we stayed at this hotel. Without doubt it is the best hotel we have stayed in in Skiathos. Every part is wonderfully clean and tidy, so much so you would think it as just been completly renovated to a very high standard. The owners and staff are great and always happy, friendly and helpful. When we next return to Skiathos it will be our only Hotel of choice. I would not recommend it for children or younger people as there are no places for them to play or run around and to be honest they would spoil what is the perfect place for couples.

Barbara and Tony Portsmouth uk

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high standard but I would recommend purchasing the air con if you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyhPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A big thanks to Costas and Mary for a wonderful stay. We have been to Skiathos many times and was more than pleasantly surprised by the welcome afforded to us. The staff work tirelessly to ensure everything is as it should be, this has got to be the cleanest hotel on the island. Even at 3 am one morning Mary was on hand to organise taxis as we had a need to got to the local hospital due to a sudden illness, and throughout the next day ensured we were OK and looked after. We stayed in room 202 top floor which has great views across the airport side of town. We will return very soon.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is the second year that we have stayed in Skiathos town. Last year we stayed in a hotel about 3 minutes away from Costas and Mary just five minutes of of the town and near by some waste land that had not been built on last year. We always had the door open at night last year and the mosquito net over the door (together with spray to keep them out..mosquitos that is)! Air conditioning is not good for me and never use. Hence door open all night because very hot. No noise last year. This year was awful with regard to noise from perhaps two or three nightclubs that had opened early June (we saw many flyers at bus stops and around the town advertising the opening). Noise started at 1.30 a.m. and finished at 5.30 a.m. Then the hens were crowing......once noise had stopped! We did not sleep well at all for the whole ten days we were staying at the hotel due to this noise, if we closed the windows, then it was far too hot to sleep. So....if you want air conditioning, no problem, (as door would be closed...only hear slightly) however if you do not, problem!
The hotel is spotless and Mary and Costas are rightly very proud of the hotel, and indeed, their home. Mary gave us a lovely room as I had requested and could not fault the view, we very much appreciated that. On our arrival my husband was told by Mary that 'he was in a rush...so he could wait' I think he was trying to help really! Then he was desperate for the toilet and quickly looked around the pool for this facility....he made the very bad mistake of wandering to an area that could have possibly housed a w.c. facility but it didnt. He was then shouted out by the son who loudly asked him 'where do you think you are going'! Apparently these were private quarters, but did not have a sign stating such and just looked like part of the hotel. This embarassed him in front of the residents of the pool. So the start of our holiday, indeed the first couple of hours, my husband had been told off twice! It was a little upsetting and not necessary. However, we had a lovely holiday and we have booked to go back to Skiathos once again next year....third time! But we will be staying far away from the town, although we absolutely love eating there and wandering around, totally magical, but as for sleeping just outside the town, it appears to be a 'no no' especially if you like your windows open at night.

Room Tip: If you request a room with a view Mary and Costas try their best to give this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LINDYWIRRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Address: Periferiaki Odos Skiathou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing