We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing . . . .”
Review of Taverna O'Batis

Taverna O'Batis
Ranked #61 of 134 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dissappointing . . . .”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After being recommended to go try this Taverna in Skiathos town, I am sad to say that the expectation was high but the end result was a little disappointing.
Location was excellent with fabulous views over the harbour and the restaurant was busy....
Although it was after 9pm when we went to order each item that we selected was off the menu.. finished up/sold out...... So we took this as perhaps a good sign that the food was good.
Alas no. The Moussaka that we ordered was only mediocre and the salad was nothing special either. The waiters were very courteous and service was OK but there seemed to be no sparkle with them... almost as if they were ready to retire to bed for the night.

There are OhSo many other Taverners to try in Town.....So sadly we shan't be returning here on our next visit to the prettiest Greek Island of Skiathos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatchaDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Greek cuisine”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Disappointing to say the least, excellent view of the Harbour however the food really lacked in quality. Ordered the Lamb Kleftico but was severely let down, very basic soggy microwaved dish arrived at the table, it was not we were used to in Greece it seemed no thought or effort had gone into the dish, not what you expect in Greece. There are some other high quality restaurants in Skiathos, had delicious meals in both the Final Step and the Windmill restaurant and would highly recommend both of these if your a foodie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylocketer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice view of the bay.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Taverna O'Batis is located up the steps from the old harbour. A nice elderly gentleman showed us to our table an gave us the menues. The resturant is based on friends comming togetther and making a resturant using their grandmothers recipes. And it works! The food was good, you wont find any great suprises or a new culinary awakening here but it's just good greek food as it should be. The prices isnt bad either despite it's location. One of the better alternatives along the harbour .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metal2000Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Traditional Taverna with excellent sea food”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

O Batis is on the steps above the old port in Skiathos town. The service is always excellent from Christos and his staff. All dishes are good but the seafood spaghetti is the best I have had on the island with huge prawns and a great mix of seafood. The lamb kleftiko was really good too. It can be very hot there but if you sit at the back or under one of the fans, it's fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Last night treat”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were given the name of this Taverna as one not to miss by a person we met on the beach.I am glad that we met that person,what a treat we had.The welcome was warm and genuine,the service quick and efficient.The food plentiful and well cooked,my wife had mussels and was a little surprised to be given a small bib to wear whilst eating them,what a nice touch.I mentioned to the waiter that we had been given a recommendation and were very please to be here.On asking for the bill ,the owner came to the table with a complementary dessert and two glasses of ouzo and thanked us for our custom.The prices paid were in keeping with other meals that we had taken and I would thoroughly recommend the O Batis Taverna

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna O'Batis also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Taverna O'Batis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing