We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holidays; great memories and good...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

The Barn & the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn & the pool
The pool terrace Courtyard & North Wing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Barn & the pool
The pool terrace
Courtyard & North Wing
The courtyard
Main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Living room & kitchen
Single bedroom
Living room
Courtyard
Courtyard
Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skiathos Town, Skiathos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
SimplyMrs...
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful holidays; great memories and good friends made here.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Skiathos, a beautiful dreamy island with good people and something for everyone. And if you are looking to get away from it all then I can't recommend Zorbathes highly enough. The Barn and The Farmhouse (we have stayed in both at various times) are comfortable and well appointed with all that you need for your holiday. The pool is lovely and all the outdoor spaces are clean, tidy and well cared for.

The owners Geof and Lida are kind and welcoming (in fact they will meet you from the airport) and should you need anything then they are happy to help. I imagine that they are also happy to leave you alone to enjoy your holiday but we rather fell in love with them and their hospitality whilst we were there and it was terribly sad when we left as we had such fun with them. The kids were very sad to say goodbye.

My only hesitation in telling you about how wonderful Zorbathes is to visit is that you might want to go when we want our holiday. Because once you've stayed there (and tasted the homegrown apricots and eaten Lida's homemade jams) you won't want to go anywhere else again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A great family holiday venue.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfgangt...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A marvelous place to relax and calm down.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We come to Skiathos since 30 years and saw how everything developed on this island.We rented the barn when it still was a little hut. This is a very special place on the island.Far away from too much tourism close enough to enjoy, if you like it.In the night it is calm and not hot and no noisy traffic. Now the Barn has become a beautiful villa with a wonderful pool. Geoff and Lida are so gentle hosts you can imagine. They speak almost every language you like.The equipping of the house is complete. It is wonderful for a bigger group , but also cosy for small company. We wanted to come this year again with the whole family - parents , children, grandchildren- but the family is still extending, so we have to wait for a another year. We are looking forward to loving it again.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We just keep coming back”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

There are a few reasons why we have been four times, now. The island is beautiful and offers everything that parents, grandparents and four young children need. The beaches are glorious whether you're looking for seclusion or for something more llively. Skiathos town, itself, is just great to wander 'round and find either Giros (simple meat in bread wrap), a mid-price range meal or something more exclusive. The shops are busy and there's a lot more on offer than the usual tourist trinkets. The harbour-front is a great place to wander and 'people-watch' befor/after going for dinner.

The Farmhouse and Barn (we've sayed in both over the past few years) are simple, but well-equiped, clean, comfortable and all that you need for a relaxing break. The pool is lovely (using salt and not chlorine to keep it clean - which is nice); as is the whole area around the pool with it's BBQ and loungers.

Geof and Lida could not be more helpful or kind. We had fresh vegetables from their gardens left for us regularly during our stay, they collected us form the airport, arranged the car hire and were always on hand if we've needed help.

We've always had the best of holidays and it was the four children who wanted to go back this year and I was more than happy to agree to that. I couldn't recommend the whole experience more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We keep coming back to paradise.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have visited at The Barn and The Farmhouse -- Geof & Lida's idyllic rentals in Zorbathes Valley --many times, with groups of friends, with extended family, and just the two of us. Geof & Lida have lived and raised their family there for decades and know everything there is to know about this exceptionally lovely island of Skiathos -- every secluded beach, hiking trail, and special beachfront taverna. The houses are beautifully and lovingly detailed with quiet nooks for reading or snoozing, gathering places for meals and games, and lovely views to the green hillsides. You will immediately feel like you are visiting old friends . . . and then you will become old friends, as we have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Geof & Lida, the proprietors.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTH10
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

I've stayed at the barn 3 or 4 times over the course of the last decade. My family keeps returning for two reasons: the location, and Geof & Lida (the owners). Skiathos is an amazing island (history, crowded beaches, quiet beaches, stunning vistas, a vibrant town scene) but most of the island's vacation rentals are a short distance from the island's ring road. The Barn is located in a small valley ten minutes off this road. There may not be a view of the ocean (which you'll spend all day staring at). Instead you've got an oasis of cypress, olives, and the myriad plants and veggies planted at the property. Sitting poolside for breakfasts and dinners was the perfect way to bookend many a perfect day there. I'd go back every year if I could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: ......?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful situation and the pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing