We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - an oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - an oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We had pre-booked to stay in this hotel on the night before our flight home (to avoid any ferry issues from Skopelos) having seen the previous reviews and looked at the web site.
Major baggage issues with Viking Airlines on our outward flight meant we were forced to spend the 1st night of our holiday (unplanned!) in Skiathos as well. Having no accommodation booked I telephoned to there hotel who were immediately helpful and reassuring - offering rooms at good rates for ourselves and the other couple + baby who were equally stranded
The next day the hotel manger was very keen to assist and made many telephone calls to the airport and Olympic Operations to try to ascertain what was happening to our luggage - all much appreciated us all.

As for the hotel - we stayed both times in the standard rooms ... they are fantastic!
Very large clean room, well equipped, lovely bathrooms, furbished balconies overlooking the small pool and terrace. Well appointed communal areas, all regularly cleaned by cheerful staff.
Faultless, reasonably priced and just off the main street.

A definite recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
331
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Hotel Bourtzi is in a great central location in town without noise. If you are looking for a town vibe with the option of going to different resorts during the day it is perfect. It is best to hire a car for at least 3 days to get you about. Parking would be a problem in July/August however you can park next door to the health centre which is a 5 minute walk and the road opposite the barrier next door to the school off the main street which is a 2 minute walk. Make sure you fully insure the car. I would highly recommend going off the beaten track away from the busy resort beaches and heading off to Mandraki, Ghournes, Agistros and Meghalos aselinos. All of these have beach bars with good food. If you are daring head to Kechria which is 5km drive down a dirt track, well worth it and head for the little bar which served the best lunch we had, so fresh and the fish was gorgeous. The beach was empty, however 2 minutes in the car is Ligharies which is a bigger beach also which was empty, both were my taste of Greek Paradise. Another beach you must go to for sunset around 8pm is Ag.Eleni. Beautiful. Banana, Koukanaries and the resorts down the bus route are gorgeous but were too busy for me......
Restaurants which are a must in town are Amfiliki fish restaurant with the best views which you need to book, The Tapas bar oppsite the bus stop number 1, if you look up you will see the sign, also the Asprolithos around the corner from hotel which is traditional greek food. For distant views try the Panorama Restaurant and the Plathos restaurant which is very close to the Panorama, both are good fo food but better for the views.

Also go to the Venue bar on the steps near the church for happy hour cocktails.

Things not to do............go on the boat cruises around the island, all the English people I spoke to said it was a waste of time.It was 30 euros each and we hired the car for 25 euros a day. Also do not eat at restaurants on the port front as they are very expensive, just head around the back streets and you will find some great traditional restaurants at much less of a cost.

Skiathos is beautiful and I will return one day and definitely back to the Bourtzi, the staff were helpful and always smiling and although breakfast was the same every day it was a good start to the day and the pool was great way to finish the day

This is not a hotel to stay at if you want to stay all week at a hotel and not go out and enjoy the island.

I hope you enjoy Skiathos as much as I did!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sputwesthampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and stayed at Bourtzi for a week at the end of May in one of the deluxe rooms. We booked through Travel Republic and had no problems with our reservation and the rates offered were very reasonable. The room was modern, well equipped and extremely comfortable. The bed was had a cocoa mat mattress - superb as I suffer from a bad back. The room was very quiet even though the hotel was full, on the main street and has a cocktail bar open to the public until early hours. Only possible downside is the rooms are small but typical for Europe.
The hotel should be commended for the high standard of cleanliness, fresh towels are provided every day. Great balcony with comfortable 'wicker' sofa and table. There is limited choice at breakfast but serves until 10:30am!
Hotel is family run with welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend hotel and Skiathos to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

Excellent choice if you want a central hotel in Skiathos town. The rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated with excellent bathroom facilities. Despite its location adjacent to the main pedestrian route it was very quiet and peaceful. The family (owners) were extremely friendly, helpful,humourous and took a pride in their hotel. We had read previous reviews (which may have been written prior to the refurbishment) and some of these were critical of breakfast, swimming pool area and bar prices but we found these to be either inaccurate or completely out of perspective. The breakfast was very good and the only time there was a limited choice was when we arrived at the last minute, or later, which is hardly the hotel's fault! The swimming pool area is in shade for part of day but if you go to Greece to sit around a pool all day then that's a bit sad. The bar prices were typical of a quality hotel/cocktail bar and there are plenty of alternative bars in the area to suit all styles and budgets. We and our friends have stayed in many quality hotels around the world and would not hesitate to recommend this one - indeed we are going back again in 2009.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoncoChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

Went as a family of four, including two teenage daughters, in summer 2008.
Exceeded our expectations even having read the previous reviews on this site.
Modernised to a high standard the newer 'Boutique' rooms looked fabulous. Our room was in the slightly older section but was still very well maintained and spotlessly clean. Room cleaned and fresh towels daily, better than average Continental breakfast, nice pool area, great central location, nothing we could really fault!
Most of all the family who own and run the Hotel were absolutely fabulous. Ever helpful and always had time to have a chat with us, especially Dimitri.
Would definitely stay there again if we return to Skiathos!

  • Liked — Friendly family atmosphere and customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandAnneStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rising, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Spent five nights at the Bourtzi as part of our three week holiday in Greece.

The hotel facilities were excellent - we were upgraded at no extra cost to a room which would have cost probably £200 a night in most cities in the UK.

The location is very central - just off the main street, but, unlike many town centre hotels, the area was not at all noisy.

The owner was incredibly helpful and friendly as were all the staff and we would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Skiathos town and wanting a high quality hotel.

  • Liked — Quality of room facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merlin's_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We spent just 2 days in Skiathos and in Bourtzi Hotel and after seen all the previous reviews I would agree with most of them that 1. rooms are clean and spacious. 2. no special view from the balcony, but who cares, 3. excellent location, just off the main market street, quiet place, close to the town's restaurants, bars, clubs, port. If you're coming with the ferry, you don't need transportation to the hotel. 4. loved their bathrooms, and the room decoration (contemporary elegant), 5. nice bar services, but don't waste time in the hotel, go to the town, lots of tavernas, pizza places, gyro-souvlaki and restaurants. Not to mention the nightlife!! It is a pitty to stay in doors, when you can find a variety of clubs, bars and pubs, where after midnight everybody has become friends with each other and having the time of their lives dancing until dawn.
The hotel has a relatively decent size pool (I've seen half the size of this one in other hotels), but who wants a pool, when you can dive in some of the most beautiful sea-shores of Greece and the Aegean. It is a pitty to loose time swimming in an indeferent pool, when the blue waters and golden sand, pine trees and beach bars of Skiathos are waiting for you. Go to Koukounaries, Banana and Vromolimnos beaches - classical choices if you stay for a few days, search for more beaches if you stay longer - yes there are plenty!
When chosing a hotel in Greece, skip the trivial amenities, such as coffee/tea, pool and hotel bar-restaurant. In Greece you can find gorgeous beaches, blue-clean-safe waters, plenty of water-sport opportunities, all kinds of restaurants, from fast-foods to traditional tavers and luxury sushi places. Just book the hotel for a decent sleep, do all the rest outside!. Bourtzi hotel serves that very well. Almost forgot: the owners and the staff are very polite and helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, close to the town and port, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Athensjuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
3.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#4 of 88 in Skiathos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourtzi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourtzi Boutique Hotel

Property: Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Moraitou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bourtzi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern boutique hotel, with its spacious and carefully designed rooms and suites, is situated just a few minutes away from the harbour, in the heart of Skiathos. Offering high quality central accommodation, with a recently renovated building and outdoor pool, the Bourtzi is a fine choice for every type of traveler. The hotel has free wireless internet access in public areas and soundproofed rooms for total rest and relaxation. Enjoy breakfast beside the large outdoor swimming pool, a drink in the tastefully decorated bar, or take a walk through the town. The location of Bourtzi Boutique Hotel is perfect for accessing the shopping, landmarks and night life of Skiathos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourtzi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourtzi Hotel Skiathos Town
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing