We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated”

Amfiliki Pension Tavern
Ranked #53 of 131 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading reviews we were looking forward to visiting the restaurant for the view and fresh fish. The view did live up to the reviews but the fish was very over rated, we both went for the waitress recommendations and had the Sea bream which was half a reasonable sized fish very plainly grilled and lacking in seasoning with a little pile of boiled bland spinach and for that we got charged 60 euro's !!! I cannot understand how they could justify the prices as we had fresh Sea Bream twice at the Clama tavern where we stopped which was beautifully seasoned and cooked for 12 euros each.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poppywood333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    52
    38
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Second visit to Skiathos this year and, of course, back to Amfiliki - it never disappoints, this time the prawn and crayfish spaghetti was just delicious, Ramona and Christina are as efficient and friendly as always. Yes the decor is a bit dated but the view and the wonderful food more than compensate - it's still our favourite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hughol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Amfiliki was the best restaurant that I ate at on Skiathos. The view is spectacular and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Don't miss out on this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiathos, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Introduced to me for the first time by my father many years ago when we were visiting Amfiliki as a family and when tsipouro wasn't included into my favorites list...It has been a long time since both Amfiliki & tsipouro have been included to my faves and I keep going back and recommending it to all my friends and guests for its magnificent sea view and its simple and authentic flavors.

Tips: Try tuna fish, shrimps with mushrooms & seashells with spinach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I_Pothou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upplands-Väsby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were at Amfiliki 2 years ago and it was the best food experience in Skiathos at the time. Our expectations were high when we returned but we were disappointed. The souvlaki was dry and the crouqettes tasted strange...There was nothing left of the inspired chef 2 we met 2 years ago. The view is still great though!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catrin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amfiliki Pension Tavern also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Amfiliki Pension Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing