We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Expectations”
Review of Taverna Folia

Taverna Folia
Ranked #30 of 143 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Having read the excellent general reviews and liking the sound of back street and traditional my wife and I chose to look for this taverna.Not easy to find,due to location and the fact it was in the middle of a thunder and lightening storm,however it was certainly well worth the effort.Got looked after from the minute we got there to the moment we left,excellent service with fantastic home made Greek cuisine to match in a great place to people watch.Without hesitation would recommend people to try here,we will be back with visiting friends next week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dannyfore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    84
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were looking for another restaurant we had visited 3 yr ago but couldn't find it. Desperate to sit and eat we called at Taverna Folio, a lovely little courtyard on the lane itself. The food was delicious I had a huge piece of Mediterranean cod in red wine sauce with roasted peppers and it was the best thing I had eaten, hubs had kleftico which he judges a test of a good restaurant. While not the best it was very good, as always in Greece the portions were huge and we couldn't finish the greek salad we had with the meal. Staff were friendly and the restaurant was busy though early in season. Do give this place a try

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellduckSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went to Folia after reading reviews and was very disappointed. Lovely setting in courtyard apart from being surrounded by cats. I had beef stifado and my wife had the special beef in spinach leaves. The stifado was like molten lava probably to long in the micro wave my wife had finished her meal before mine cooled down. Her meal was very fatty piece of meat and an overdose of spinach. Service very slow from clearing our table to getting the bill over 20 mins

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank burf97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Food.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This down one of the Streets near the bar area and they can not do enough for you and the food is fantastic and great value they are very friendly people from the waiter and the lady's there and one was a good singer when me and my wife where there and advised her to get on the X factor which made her laugh the chef was a very friendly and came outside to greet you and make sure he said good bye can must go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wilke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came across this lovely little place in the old town. It's a typical Greek eatery with a lovely vibe. The food was excellent every time we went there and it was lovely to eat outside under a large tree. Best of all we found the prices not expensive, and they certainly gave good portions. We would go back without hesitation. I can recommend the swordfish!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kentisi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Folia also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Taverna Folia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing