We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyhnari re-visited, again and again....”
Review of Lyhnari

Lyhnari
Ranked #8 of 137 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Leicester,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lyhnari re-visited, again and again....”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We visited Lyhnari four times during our recent visit to Skiathos and the welcome, quality of food and service were all second to none. I have reviewed this taverna in the past and Dimitri and Anne are just as dedicated to providing the highest possible standards. I am horrified by the misleading reviews sent by other diners in the last few days and am writing at once to refute the suggestions that the food is frozen or not of the best quality. As I understand it, rules in Greece state that any items that may have been frozen before cooking must be 'starred' and this is stated on menus of reputable tavernas. The fact that people book in advance is proof of the popularity of Lyhnari and any holidaymakers we have recommended to dine at Lyhnari have always told us of how much they have enjoyed their evening and have re-visited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorahandGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    179
    72
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very friendly staff and excellent food. Worth trying the local speciality dishes. The only restaurant in Skiathos we had to wait for a table to become available - a sign of it's quality, and reasonable prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok Food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The below review is good, these restaurants need to up their game, you will get a good filling meal here with lots of freebies but it ain't that good and there is a frightening amount of food on the menu that is listed as frozen, from memory all the chicken dishes and lamb dishes+, the place seemed to be full of elderly English who were repeat customers, mein host is completely insincere and as such irrelevent, and they seem to take it as an insult if you haven't booked. I hadLamb Kleftico which is 14e, not cheap, listed as a frozen dish the Lamb shank itself was excellent but cool inside, but the whole dish lacked flavour,the Greeks don't seem to understand that if you put loads of ingredients in a pot and cook the crap out for 20 mins at high heat to heat the previously cooked lamb through then the rest is gonna taste of nothing. Ths isn't necessarily a criticism of this place but in general. I wouldn't return but clearly plenty will.There are loads of places on Skiathos better or equal to this. My advice is try them rather Than return to this mediocrity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ironman523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyhnari, Owner at Lyhnari, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear customer.
Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant and we just want to clear some misundertanding. None of our dishes are frozenland re-heated. The lamb are in the owen for three hours before we make the kleftiko.
Sorry if we give the impression that you were not welcome without having booked a table.
Our first priority is good quality food and to make people feel welcome.

Kind regards
Dimitri Stylos
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good taverna choice”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you want good uncomplicated Greek food, a lively atmosphere and fast service, this is a good choice. We chose it based on its Trip Advisor reviews, and it was full, despite being slightly off the beaten track. A good recommendation! The complimentary bread and dip was a nice welcome. Having a complimentary dessert placed in front of us, cheesecake, was kind but not needed with the complimentary ouzo.

The food did seem as if it was frozen and reheated, which is a shame because the moussaka was tasty and well made.

Service was a little frantic at the start and could be a problem in high season if they are turning tables.

The tables are quite close together which means that couples are virtually seated with other couples.

Compared to the other Greek restaurant we went to - 1901 - Lyhnari had great food and an authentic atmosphere.

My advice to all the Greek restaurants is that with the influx of expat-run restaurants with a stronger focus on menu and presentation, they need to raise their game. Cook the classics and make them outstanding. Give away less, and have a longer dessert menu. Get someone's granny to provide delicious home made baklava.Tourists will pay for desserts and coffee. There's a real opportunity on Skiathos for a gourmet Greek restaurant with deconstructed classics and top local produce.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth_bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pub grub lover”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

What is tripadvisor coming to, allowing the last review is ridiculing the past clientele of this restaurant, most of them being from Scandinavia where pub grub does not exist.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank limbimbostok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyhnari also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Lyhnari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing