We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great traditional taverna...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Alexandros

Taverna Alexandros
Ranked #32 of 131 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great traditional taverna...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice tradition food,great atmosphere feels like you are in Greece back in 80's...love the small square with the malbury tree in the middle...we love the live greek music they had and the staff was very helpful...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kostasicebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    148
    47
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic night at this taverna; we loved every minute!
We enjoyed a meze of Greek salad, tzatziki, cheese saganaki, mussel saganaki and dolmades... all washed down with house white.
The food was perhaps a little basic compared to other tavernas but it was still delicious. I did keep spotting the chicken souvlaki which looked really nice so I'm determined to have that next time!
What makes this taverna so special though is the atmosphere. The old guy and the male owner sit playing Greek music throughout the night and it was just amazing, we loved sat listening to it, just letting the night roll on and clapping along every now and then.
The way they played zorba the Greek was brilliant and you can tell they're very talented.
At one point a guy from one of the tables got up and did some Greek dancing, clearly obstructing the waiters service but they didn't mind at all and it was all in good fun!!
We just had a fantastic night and when my husband asked for the bill in Greek, the old guy patted him on the shoulder and smiled at him!
Just a fantastic taverna and we had planned to go on our last night but it was extremely busy and there were 8 people waiting before us so we ended up going somewhere else. We should have booked really but we will definitely be going back next time, I can't wait already!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisasuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“relax and enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food is excellent, house wine better than most others, very friendly service and entertainment, the perfect Greek evening in a typical Greek setting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants to visit on Skiathos. The food is your basic Greek fare but well cooked and very reasonable. Lovely to listen to proper live Greek music without the dreaded amplifiers! Always enjoy an evening here and The waiters are great - particularly Alex!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Should be in the top 5!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've been going to Skiathos for years now and we return to Alexandros every time, especially when bringing new friends to the island as it really is the perfect introduction to greek cuisine (and music!) Gorgeous setting in a courtyard surrounded by houses with lovely balconies and a fig (I think?) tree in the middle overhanging the tables. The menu is rather large but I've never had anything on it I didn't like. Nevertheless stick to the traditional dishes as it's what they do best, particularly the souvlaki.A small group of locals play traditional music but it's far from cheesy, in fact I got the impression that they actually just eat there every night and at one point decided to bring their bouzoukis along for fun - a very relaxed set up. Alex and his staff are lovely, always making sure that you're happy without being over-attentive. Good value and not to one to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Alexandros also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Taverna Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing