We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Alexandros

Taverna Alexandros
Ranked #32 of 131 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jonkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really bad service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I can't really understand why so many people give this restaurant so high grades. Ok, the place is kind of nice looking at night, but the staff (guess it was the owner, name was Alex) is really unfriendly and don't seem to want you there. Worst experience during our holyday in Skiathos. After waiting a long time for him to take the order, he came and was very unfriendly. We left and whent to 1901 instead, and what a difference!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ON81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    148
    47
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friednly and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Visted this for the first time this year on a copule of occassions despite having been to Skiathos for 10 years and not been there before!! We'll be back here next year as very friendly and atmospheric. Thanks to Panos for recommending this to us.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We visited this restaurant on 3 occasions during our visit to Skiathos in June. We stumbled across this lovely restaurant by accident as it is tucked away in the back streets of Skiathos town. The food is very good, the only criticism I would have is that on 2 occasions we had to send a meal back as it was warm but not hot. The service we received was very good, the staff were friendly and served us quickly. I can recommend the Moussaka, it was one of the best ones I had whilst in Skiathos.

The setting of the restaurant is lovely as in the middle of it is a Mulberry tree which really adds to the ambiance. The highlight though has to be the free entertainment which starts around 9pm. This consists of 2-3 local gentleman who come to the restaurant to play and sing local Greek folk songs. We really enjoyed this and it makes for a great atmosphere in the restaurant.

I would recommend getting there to eat by 8pm as it does get very busy from around 8.30pm and if the restaurant is full they tend to add extra tables which does sometimes make it too full and this does effect the service as they get far too busy, but I would not let this put you off visiting Alexandros as it is a really good traditional Greek Taverna.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciderhead_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Greek restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I had a lovely holiday in Skiathos 1st - 8th July, and this taverna was recommended to us by some other guests in our hotel. ( Kassandra Bay, Vasilias ). We were told it had a great Greek atmosphere with live bouzouki music.
I asked hotel reception to make a reservation for us, for about 7.30pm Tuesday 5th.
We had picked up the Skiathos town street map at the airport on arrival, which has popular restaurants marked on it, and we managed to find Alexandros after a few wrong turns in the maze of small streets behind the Old Port.

We were lucky to have one of the tables under the tree which grows in the street / small piazza close to the taverna building where 4 small streets meet. Other tables are clustered around, some on a raised step, and also some along the narrow streets which lead off the small square. The occasional vehicle can just about get past! All the tables are open air. Tables were filling up quickly, and a chap of ' senior years ' was playing the guitar and singing, which was very pleasant.

We ordered a bottle of red Greek wine, which was fine, as we found in other restaurants in town. I think it cost € 15. We shared a selection of cold appetisers / meze.

We asked the waiter if there would be any bouzouki music, and he said it would start a bit later. The guitarist is a family friend who has been playing there for many years apparently.

For main course my husband had the prawn saganaki, which although very nice, was a smaller portion size than we had at Taverna Selini as appetisers, and was not quite as good. If you like prawn saganaki I certainly recommend Taverna Selini for this dish.
For my main I had swordfish ( two steaks ) with lemon, rice, and salad. I also ordered a side dish of grilled vegetables, which were peppers, aubergine and mushrooms.
We were debating whether we had room for dessert, when the waiter brought us a free dish of Greek yoghurt topped with some fruit and sauce, which was a nice surprise.
We then had capuccino coffees, and some ouzo.

Whilst we were eating, the bazouki player arrived, who is a younger man, and family member. He played some tunes alone, and some songs/ tunes with the guitarist. Later another man arrived with a bouzouki and joined in as well.
This was not like a performance, but more like family and friends spending a warm evening outdoors, playing music. They really seemed to be enjoying themselves, and the younger bouzouki player was brilliant. I think the waiter said he is the son of the man who owns Taverna Alexandros.

Although people were queueing along the streets for tables, we were not hurried to leave - in fact quite the opposite. We were debating whether to ask for the bill, when the waiter arrived with a free carafe of wine, so of course had to stay longer! Some diners got up and began some Greek dancing which was fun to watch, although we did not join in - too busy drinking the wine.....

A very enjoyable authentic Greek evening, with good food and some great music. It was lovely sitting under the tree when the lights came on, and we didn't really notice the time passing - it was after 11.30pm when we paid the bill ( € 60.60 ) and left, with the music still going on.
I recommend this taverna, especially if you can get a table under the tree, or on the raised step. Service was rather slow, but we were not in a hurry, so that did not matter to us. The waiter was friendly and helpful.
We ate in some lovely restaurants with fabulous views of the sea, islands and town ( Taverna Selini, Plakes restaurant, the balcony table at The Windmill ), but also really enjoyed our evening at Alexandros for the food, music and atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Figgygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have been visiting Alexandros for over 12 years. Not easy to find but worth it when get there. The restaurant has now taken over most of the little lanes around it so you may have to wait to get a table near the kitchen. The atmosphere is so lovely, the staff fantastic, the live music so authentic and the food is good too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Alexandros also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Taverna Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing