We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Areti Studios and Appartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed in studio 40 which is on the top floor at the end of the building so we had a huge balcony with stunning views of the bay. The studio had high ceilings and consisted of 2 rooms as it had a double bed in the back part and twin beds in the front part. The back part is dark but front part is very light as big French doors and windows. The fridge is noisy so not great when sleeping in the back but we had ear plugs. Studios were tastefully furnished and had all we needed. There is a kettle which you don't often get aboard. We found the studio to be clean. Beds were made every day and bins were also emptied daily. There is a bit of a mosquito problem so you do need to be careful of leaving doors open with the light on at night. The studio is high up but then so will be most places in Skiathos as Skiathos is quite a hilly island. We thought the location was great as easy to walk to the beach and quick to get to anywhere really as we had a car. The roads here are quiet so easy to drive around. The showers do seem to run out of hot water later in the evening so we did have coldish showers a couple of towns. Seems best to shower before 7pm to ensure a hot one. Overall a fab place to stay. Very peaceful and laid back place. Would recommend it if you aren't after night life!

Room Tip: Have higher up studios at the end of the block rather than in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

One word sums up our week 6th/13th June '14: 'Astounding'. Our first visit and certainly will not be our last, Skiathos is by far the prettiest Greek Island we have visited. The whole of our Skiathos experience from the approach and landing at the airport, the amazing scenery, views across the Aegean to the surrounding islands, Skiathos Town and Harbours, Bays and Beaches, to the view across Agia Paraskevi from Artei's Pool Bar were just simply Astounding!!

Areti 1 Studios set at the top of the hill between (at bus stop 17 'Poros') separating Ag. Paraskevi and Troulos with lovely aspects of the Aegean. The Studio's are well appointed and maintained, kept spotlessly clean and serviced daily (except Sunday) by the owner Nina (who has little English but is extremely helpful) and very friendly and cheerful cleaner(s). Together with the sister Areti Apartments make a very pleasing complex, with well tended gardens a very inviting Swimming Pool and Bar terrace attended by Milo. Probably one of the best views on the whole of Skiathos to enjoy a few glasses of Mythos and a Greek Salad or two. However leaving the Areti complex unless you have a car or use the bus there isn't any option but to walk down the hill along the Skiathos's only main road which does not have a footpath. A torch at night is essential, although the road is lit (there is no guarantee all lights will be working) helps you to be seen as traffic often passing at speed and within touching distance.

Troulos to the right, around 250 metres (road junction) brings you to the closest Supermarkets (3) from where it then sprawls along the two roads with its apartments, hotels, bars, tavernas plus other supermarkets and finally beach (bus stop 20). Ag Paraskevi to the left has the closer beach (bus stop 16) dominated by the 5 star Skiathos Princess Hotel, with a couple of supermarkets some bars and tavernas is about half kilometre from Areiti.

Buses (are a definite plus comfortable and air conditioned) run every 15 minutes throughout the day between Skiathos Town and Koukounaries (Beach) and are the ideal way to commute around the south of the island. Fares from Areiti vary between 1 and 2.5 euros dependent upon journey.

Our week at Areti 1 proved to be so very enjoyable and an ideal spot to chill out, and does not take too long to get used to the uphill walks. In fact just the thought of the reward of those views and a chilled glass of Mythos really does spur you onward and upward.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked this through Thomson, our first 'package' holiday for a while.

When we arrived, we were not that impressed with our room at the end of the middle floor of Areti 2. Very dark and a small balcony that wouldn't accommodate the 4 of us. We found the owners son and asked if we could move, this was no problem and he put us at the end of the top floor. Very light and airy with high ceilings and a very large balcony with wonderful views across the bay and to the mainland.

The apartment was typical of Greece, fairly basic, but it was clean, and was kept clean throughout the whole week..

The apartments are in three blocks, with the upper two having the best views. It is a very steep path from the road, and then further steps to the rear blocks and the pool. The gardens are very well planted and kept. The pool again has stunning views, and is nicely furnished with wooden, rather thank plastic loungers, parasols and tables/chairs. The bar has a good selection of booze and snacks, and is run by the very friendly Milo who is always ready with a smile and good advice on car hire, eating out, etc. It was very quiet when were there as it was early season, only 7 of the 35 or so rooms occupied. We only went to the pool in the late afternoon, but I'd imagine it could get rather crowded when the place is full.

The bus stop is just at the bottom of the drive, restaurants/beaches in Troulos and Agia Parasveki are easily walkable, although single file is a good idea as there are no pavements. The beach at Agia Parasveki is part of the view and is less than five minutes away down a quite steep cliff path. We hired a boat for the day from here, and the swimming and snorkelling is fantastic.

We have found Greek accommodation at this price range to be much of a muchness, so it's great to find something with a bit extra. This comes in the form of the amazing views, the best in the Troulos area certainly, and there can't be that much better on the whole island, and with the quality of service from the family owned business.

Room Tip: Top floors in Areti 2, have high ceilings, light and airy with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barnstormer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in the lower Areti apartments in Sep 2012 - I have only just become a trip advisor member but felt I needed to vent my frustrations at the management of this place if they exist.
I hope by now they will have sorted this out!

I know that we stayed in one of the last weeks of the 'season' , however if you are going to operate and have guests, you should certainly have staff working!

We arrived at the hotel at 12.30pm to find our luggage on the side of the road and no-one in sight… we looked around and found a lady who seemed to be the cleaner but was the only person who seemed to work for the hotel that we could find. she didn’t speak any english, and as we speak no greek it was hard to communicate-she pointed to one of the apartments and we guessed that meant it was ours. the rep was nowhere to be seen and we had a look at the pool bar but there was no-one there. it had nice views and we liked the room so we started to unpack and went to have a shower only to find it was broken! i went to find the same lady which took half an hour until she appeared and i then tried to explain that our shower was broken so she got a friend to vaguely translate what we were saying and said there was no-one that could fix it and were no other rooms. we insisted we needed a shower and she said she would see if she could do anything- we were then taken to a tiny room in what seemed like the staff living area, right next to the washing room with no views and not at all private- it was horrible and especially after been shown a nice room to begin with. we needed a shower so told them we would shower there and they would have to sort something out. i rang the thomson helpline and spoke to a lady called catherine, explained our situation and that we were very upset and had already missed the first day of our holiday only for the issues with the room to cause more stress. she was understanding and said she would get back to us when she had spoken to the hotel and got it sorted. we didn’t get a call back and in the morning (sunday) we got a text saying she had been trying to call the hotel but could not get through and a similar text later saying she was still unable to contact them and that our rep wasn’t going to be in until monday. despite us texting the number back we got no reply, we didn’t see the rep all week – i don't think she was there at all, which meant we couldn’t book any of the excursions or get our accommodation sorted- we had to stay in the room for the rest of the week. as advertised the pool bar was open but had no food available or ice for drinks- this was because their season was ending apparently – no good when they still have guests and no staff there!! there was no-one willing to help us – no-one at the hotel and no-one from thomson! what was supposed to be a special holiday resulted in us been uncomfortable, unhappy, feeling unsafe and in cases arguing with each other because we were so upset by the whole situation. we tried to get this resolved while on holiday by speaking to the thomson team as instructed, however we feel they ignored the problems and we feel very let down.

We feel there is no excuse for this poor service.

Simon & Roxanne

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Areti is an absolute gem! We stayed in June, and were rather apprehensive after reading a couple of the negative reviews, but shouldn't have been. I'm not sure if there had been huge improvements made since those reviews were left, as the apartments we stayed in were nothing like the reviews stated!
Firstly, our room was spotless and remained that way during our entire stay as it was cleaned nearly everyday! The atmosphere around the pool was friendly and very relaxed, with just enough sunbeds so that there was always one available but it didn't feel in any way cramped. It was, however, the incredible view from the Areti that surpassed any expectations we previously had! Any quibbles about it's location up a hill are soon overcome when you look out across the Agia Paraskevi bay from your balcony or pool area. (Which had lovely seating areas). It's location also meant that the bus stop was practically at the end of the drive, which proved extremely useful as we visited town 5 out of the 7 nights we stayed and also visited Koukounaries beach. A note on Koukounaries - It's pleasant enough, but gets extremely busy. We personally much preferred Agia Paraskevi beach, which is within walking distance from the Areti.
The Areti is honestly faultless in our eyes. Its traditional Greek feel was exactly what we were looking for and made our holiday to Skiathos memorable for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yeb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from a week at the Areti apartments and can honestly say this is the best secret Skiathos keeps. A fantastic location with views that surpass all others on the island. Staff that will do anything to make your stay perfect and overall accommodation far above the standard of most Greek apartments. Will certainly be returning to this little jewel in Skiathos,s crown fab.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MaggieandStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The pool and bar area were lovely with amazing views. Really good service. A relaxing place to stay. It was close to the bus route which was a fun way to get around the island and explore the south coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imelda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos Town hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areti Studios and Appartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areti Studios and Appartments

Address: Troulos, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Areti Studios And Appartments Hotel Skiathos Town
Areti Studios And Appartments Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing