We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Below Par"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taxiarchis Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"Below Par"”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have to say the family are lovely, I can understand why people return but we have been going to the Greek Islands for over 40 yrs and we found this too basic. Whilst it was clean to a degree. The bathroom (room5) was terrible leaky toilet, shower over the toilet, a bowl was supplied to stand in! All the fittings rusty and leaking when you had a shower the water was all over the place hence the mop bucket outside the room. When we arrived it was so cold and the room and bedding felt very damp. Blankets (horse) had to used to try to get warm. We even put the two ring hob on to try and warm up the room which it did to a degree. We asked Taxi could we try the air con on heat, even on the max 30 deg setting was no good. Forgetting to take back the control we where ripped off with a charge of 6 euros a day the most we used it was 24 hrs in total. We will not be returning to this place. I think Olympic have dropped it for 2014.

Room Tip: If brave enough to go back to this place avoid room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanClomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very friendly good place to stay for all local places to eat and the town centre on your doorstop. Five to Ten minutes walk from port and shopping area. The family are also able to give food and drinks from there poolside bar and nothing is to much trouble for them .

Room Tip: For some visitors they may like to be near the pool which they have but if this not for you avoid as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I had such a good stay that I know I will go back. The family owners are exceptionally nice and genuine, nothing is too much. I have spent much more money on holidays which can not compare with the atmosphere of Taxiarchis. No wonder I met people who return year and year again. Clean and adequate and if the family offer to put on a Barbeque, be sure to attend !! A Great Base for a Wonderful Holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taxiarchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

6th time staying at the Taxiarchis and 7th visit to this amazing island. First time we had travelled with our new baby and we knew we would be well looked after by Eleni and Taxiarchis. We had room 7 this time which was very spacious for us all including pram and the cot and although it was on the front of the building there was no problem with the road noise. Love this place and look forward to going again next year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The welcome from the family from the moment you arrive is amazing. I have just come back after a fantastic weeks holiday( not long enough) and am keen to return. I stayed in room 2 and could not fault it. I love to stay in the town and expect it to be noisier but it is well worth it for the atmosphere in town at night. If you have not been do not been afraid to venture along the back streets of the town and those just off the harbor, there are lots of hidden gems for food and drink. Make sure though you don't miss the BBQ at Taxiarchis, also Taxiarchis Pool Bar serves up lots of other tasty snacks. You don't have to be a resident.

Room Tip: Room 10 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Another fantastic holiday on the isle of Skiathos made even better by our stay at the Taxiarchis Apartments.The location isa minutes stroll into the heart of Skiathos town and near bus stop(number 4 I think).We had room number 3 which was on the ground floor and opened out into a private grape filled courtyard at the rear which was a perfect little hide-away for me to have a rollie or two whist the mrs spent hours trying to straighten her hair.
Rooms are spotlessly clean with air con available.Hob etc to cook but never used it once as the food is really good at the bar too,freshly cooked bacon and egg for every day even had a burger for breakfast one day as they looked so good.Great pool area.
The reason so many people are returning to Skiathos and the Taxiarchis apartments is because of the taxiarchis family themselves.They have a saying above the bar that says"enter as strangers,leave as friends" and this true as they really do make you feel welcome. The owners create a relaxed atmosphere and we had a great laugh with the other guests.
The barbecue night is not to be missed-trust me.We'll be returning to Skiathos next year and there's only one place we'll be stopping.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Deciding where to holiday with a toddler and infant in tow is no easy task, so I cannot put into words how happy we are that we chose to holiday here. The island of Skiathos itself is stunningly beautiful. We stayed in a maisonette here and were very pleased. Having holidayed in Greece numerous times we know what to expect from Greek self catering accommodation but we actually found this above average to what we are used to. It was a split level maisonette with double bed upstairs ( very comfy) and two single beds downstairs. We were also provided a cog for the baby, already in our room on arrival which has never happened before. Small kitchen area with kettle, fridge and utilities, more than ample. Bathroom with shower and shower curtain for those who feel anxious about having a wet room. We also had a lovely, private terrace to enjoy some peace and quiet. Rooms were maintained well and very clean. Air conditioning also available at a supplement and was a godsend. Out front is a lovely swimming pool, also well maintained, and snack/bar area with stunning views. The photos in the brochures do not do it justice as it really is a beautiful, relaxing haven. But like everybody else says about these apartments, the family who own/run them are fantastic. Very friendly, extremely helpful and really made a fuss over our little ones which was lovely, our son didn't want to leave. Many of the fellow guests are returning holiday makers and it's clear to see why they all return. We found that all the other guests too were really friendly, which really made for a lovely holiday. Would we go back again? In a flash!! Our son is already asking us when we are going again. Thank you to everyone for such a brilliant holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#5 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taxiarchis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Apartments

Property: Taxiarchis Apartments
Address: ________, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Apartments Hotel Skiathos Town
Taxiarchis Apartments Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing