We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent throughout - great location and very clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taxiarchis Apartments
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Leek
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent throughout - great location and very clean”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in room 4 which has a great ground level location with very private outside area.
Rooms are basic but very nice and homely with well equipped kitchen - ony criticism being that the matresses & pillows could do with an upgrade.
Excellent location only 5 minutes walk to either shops or beach and a great little pool area with plenty of sunbeds and chairs.
Very friendly owners and excellent bar and food.
Skiathos is a truly beautiful place and the island and accomodation would take some beating anywhere in Greece.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here May/June 2012.

The apartments are ideally located down from bus stop 4, just before you reach the steps going down to the top of Papadiamantis Street.

They are family run and we had a warm welcome even though it was our first time.

Our room (#3) was on the ground floor and consisted of a decent sized bedroom with twin beds, bedside tables, wardrobe, dressing table, small table for eating, 2 folding chairs and a small kitchen area with 2 ring hob, fridge, kettle and crockery/cutlery.
As I didn't cook anything at all, I don't know if there was sufficient equipment.

The bathroom was a disappointment when we first went in, it was quite dark (even though it was daylight) and when we switched the light on it was very dim but the energy bulbs took a few minutes to brighten and then it was OK.

There was a shower and shower curtain but it pulled over to include the toilet in the shower area so imagine a shower cubicle size space with a toilet in. We've never had this before in all our times in Greece. However, the water pressure was good and there was always lots of very hot water.

There was a safe in the wardrobe which cost a reasonable 12 euro per week.
Our room had air conditioning (presumably at an additional cost) but as it was early in the season we didn't need it.

We had a share (with one other apartment) of a large paved courtyard (maybe 25 feet x 35 feet) which got the morning sun and was a lovely place to sit for a morning coffee and a glass of wine on our return from the beach. It was walled on 3 sides and planted with trees and grape vines. That maybe did make the rooms a little dark but as they didn't get any sun, it made them pleasantly cool.

One of the bedside lights was out when we arrived and, as I like to read, we mentioned it at Reception but didn't really expect to get it fixed during our stay but the following day, they'd replaced the bulb so top marks for that!

The rooms were cleaned regularly (missed Sundays I think) and towels were changed every other day, not sure about bedding but it seemed often enough to us. As mentioned in a previous review, the towels are a bit tatty but were clean so no problem there for us. I don't know if it was intentional or just coincidence, but we had a different towel colour (white, yellow, green) at each change so you knew when linen had been changed. Quite a good idea, really.

There is a small pool with not much room around it for sunbeds but that wasn't an issue for us as the beaches are so fab anyway.
My OH had a few beers around the pool and enjoyed that. We didn't have any food in the bar.

Would we stay there again? Would we be happy with the same room? A resounding 'Yes'!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prettypollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was a good priced and well located base for exploring skiathos. We were in the top 2 rooms in the building and one of them was better than the other. One room was very spacious and the other was slightly small.
It was very clean and had all amenities if not a little basic but would recommend it as a good priced and centrally located place to stay. The towels were a little mismatched and worn out but were clean. It was only five minutes walk down to the beach and five minutes walk the other way into the main area of the town where you can get boat trips or the bus all over the island.
There are lots of bars and shops close and the harbour is only a short walk away and is very lovely. There is a bar in the hotel and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The only downside to the hotel is that the pool is quite small and the balconies are quite long and narrow so you couldnt sit outside and socialise as it was difficult to fit 2 chairs outside. For the price we paid it was great value for money to be in such a good location in the main town but it is a little noisy as motorbikes are commonly used on the island so if it is a quiet relaxing holiday you are after this is probably not the place for you.

We had a lovely time at the hotel but it was mainly used as a basic base to explore the island for us.

Room Tip: The very top room to the right is larger than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

What can i say taxi,eleni and there family run the friendliest place i have ever been to in my life.Eleni,s food is great cant fault it and she works hard to make sure you enjoy your holiday,taxi is always on the go i dont know where he gets the energy,panos and stavros you need to meet them.The BBQ they do is great value for money and the food is fantastic my girlfriend is a vegetarian so eleni made a dish just for her!!!.The new bar area is a great place to sit at night and have a drink.Even if you dont stay here go for a drink if you are in town and you will see what i mean.I will definately be back as i dont see how you can beat this place Taxi is a legend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrvranas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just returned from our 5th stay at Taxiarchis and already booked for next year! What else can we say other than the "family" make you feel like one of their own from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. They actually go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable, safe and happy as they can, working long hours to achieve this.
We have stayed at several places in Skiathos over the last few years but none come any where near the Taxiarchis Apartments, and we would personally like to thank Taxi, Helen, Panos and Stavros for making this holiday memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, but the ones at the back are quiter as there is a road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WirralMike_Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have just spent 2 wonderfull weeks in the company of Helan & Taxiarchis plus their 3 children, they made as so welcome and nothing was to much trouble, thet made us feel we was part of the family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cove_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

lovely people.endorse all the good comments above, but hope that Eleni can invest in new towels and sheets for 2012, the old ones really are worn out.
Strategic airlines are the pits, hope they dont last.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lenandnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 14 in Skiathos Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#6 of 14 in Skiathos Town
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 14 in Skiathos Town
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 14 in Skiathos Town
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taxiarchis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Apartments

Property: Taxiarchis Apartments
Address: ________, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Apartments Hotel Skiathos Town
Taxiarchis Apartments Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing