We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*******First Time But Not My Last*****”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“*******First Time But Not My Last*****”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was are first time too Skiathos, we went to Thassos last sept and loved it, did,nt think it could get better than that..how wrong were we....we chose this hotel, as the reviews over all were great. The whole holiday turned out to be one of are top 10 favourite holiday,s ever. This was mainly due to the fantastic Zorba family (Dad, Mum, Demitus, Nicholas, Angglas, and the rest of there fab family) we stayed in a studio apartment, small but perfectly formed, beds made daily, bins emptied daily, and cleaned.....for those people who wrote a review complaining of dirty rooms, well maybe you should double what you paid and a stay in 5* hotel, as I am a great believer in YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR....this is a fantastic 3* hotel and well run, with lots of love and friendliness.....now as for those who complained about noise at night at the pool bar, well we had studio 7, right near the pool bar and had no problems with noise( maybe instead of complaining you should of gone and joined in the fun) we met many new great fun people there, that also made are holiday that much more fun and enjoyable.....would I recommend this family run hotel **YES** it is great value for your money with lots of love thrown in for free...We miss you guy,s already xx

Room Tip: if you have walking problems then ask for a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbiebrooks555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent the last week in August staying at Zorbas Family Studios, and the holiday was completely spoiled by the noise from the pool bar at night which went on until 4.00 - 4.30 am. We stayed in apartment no. 8 which was quite basic and not very clean but having stayed in various parts of Greece over the past 20 years we have come to expect this.The setting for the apartments is quiet with a good view but at night we might as well have stayed in Ayia Napa or a club 18 -30 resort.The noise from the pool bar was horrendous making sleep impossible. The noise was caused by a small group of two or three with the barman . The barman was one of the brothers who own the accomodation I think he was called Angelos.The barman ,Angelos, was in our opinion, responsible for the noise as he was playing the music at such a loud level and was encouraging the two or three people to stay longer and create more noise.Indeed, after the guests left ,he was alone at the bar locking up but continued to blast the music out for at least 45 mins. We made a complaint to the rep. the next day and we were reassured that the noise would stop but the next night it was worse than ever. The rep. had asked the brothers to be more considerate about the late night noise but she was ignored and if anything the noise got louder and for longer ,that night it went on until 5.00 am. The hill up to the apartments is ,indeed a killer so bear this in mind if you are thinking of going to Zorbas Apartments .Also you get 1 change of towels over the week and the cleaning standards are low.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joelmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our 4th year on Skiathos and our 2nd year at Zorbas. We have been to many Greek islands over the years but this is our favourite so far. On arrival we were welcomed by Dimitris who remembered us from last year and showed us to our room. Also as before the family were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food around the bar during the day was typical pool bar but excellent. The fresh Greek salads that the brothers prepare are excellent but Dimitris is extra special. I am sure that the quality is mainly to do with the produce being home grown by Papa Kostas.
As lots of other reviews have said the views are superb and well worth the walk up the hill. Zorbas is in a prime position for further walks up the hill where even more spectacular views can be seen. Good places to eat are at the bottom of the hill the Avli, Pegasus an Maistrali all serve lovely home made food as does most of the taverna's on the main road.
The rooms are basic, clean but adequate- typical Greek accommodation. In the evening many family members can be found around the bar and because there are not many rooms at the apartments the atmosphere is warm & friendly.
We are aware that one review found it noisy round the bar at night we were not too late to bed and never had a problem sleeping although our room was opposite the bar.
Unfortunately we had to cut our holiday short due to a family emergency and Zorbas family and Thomsons rep Sam could not have done more for us. Our son & daughter-in-law stayed on but our son became ill and and required medical treatment, again the family and Sam were terrific.
We are absolutely sure we will return to Zorbas in the near future and would recommend it to any age group unless you suffer from mobility problems that prevent you walking up steep hills.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coronationstreet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am not really someone who writes reviews but after reading some of the other comments about this place, I felt I should share my experiences, my most recent being two weeks ago.
I have been visiting Skiathos and Zorbas Family House since 2005 with various friends and family, and never have I stayed somewhere so welcoming. The Zorbas family are warm and caring people. They make you feel like friends as soon as you arrive, and cannot do enough for their guests. You will know them all by name by the time you leave and they go out of their way to learn yours.
The apartments are simple but lovely, and in keeping with the Greek style. The studios as you arrive look so inviting, and they are surrounded by luscious green hillside. The gardens around the property are tended to by the family, and there are beautiful flowers around the pool area throughout summer. There is an infinity pool which looks out over the hillside down to the sea, and small pool for toddlers. Zorbas is a wonderful place if you have small children because the family dote on them as if they were their own.
The family will always greet you with a smile when you arrive at the bar for refreshments. The bar is tended by the three Zorbas brothers and is very reasonably priced. The bar is usually open from 10 onwards, although this time varies depending when the bartender wakes up - but this is the Greek way of life. After that it is open all day and well into the night, until the last guests stumble off to bed, but as long as your patio/balcony doors are closed, I have never found the noise from the bar to be distracting when needing an early night. The bar food is freshly prepared using home grown produce; their omelettes and salads are amazing and served throughout the day. They also have weekly BBQs where the family cook delicious, traditional Greek cuisine by the poolside and all the guests have the chance to get to know one another.
I have read some comments suggesting the place is dirty, and although I am not disputing their experience, I can confidently say I have never encountered this. The rooms are cleaned daily, floors swept, bins changed etc. Albeit the sheets and towels are not changed every day unless necessary, however they will be changed several times throughout your stay. It is self catering, and although the kitchen equipment is limited, it provides everything you would need to prepare basic meals for breakfast, lunch or, if you're like us, a few occasional evening meals to save money - although I would actively encourage anyone visiting the island to venture and try the many wonderful restaurants it has to offer. If you don't want to go too far, there are several restaurants well worth a visit in Agia Paraskevi, at the bottom of the hill that leads up to Zorbas Family House.
Which brings me nicely on to the topic of “The Hill”. Let’s just say, you don't get views like that for nothing! It is perhaps not ideal for guests with mobility problems or pushchairs (although the family have a young baby and manage just fine). However, the hill itself only takes a few minutes to ascend and it’s not too steep but it may leave you a little out of breath after a big meal. Tip: I would often stop to admire the view/stars as an excuse for a break ;) Having said that, I tackled it after a fair few beverages on several occasions and still arrived at the top unscathed! And I assure you, the views do truly make it worthwhile, they are absolutely breathtaking.
All in all, I absolutely love staying at Zorbas Family House, and every time I leave I am already mentally booking my next trip there. The family built this place from scratch and take such pride in it that you feel like you are staying in someone’s home (which you kind of are, as a few members of the family actually live on site). It has that personal touch that you don’t get in hotels and has played a massive part in my ongoing love for Skiathos. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemstar1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from a week in Skiathos. We chose Zorbas apartments because of location and tripadviser reviews. On arrival we were surprised that we had to seek out someone from the bar to ask where our room was. No one introduced themselves and were told we were in room number 7 and were given a key. We have been to many Greek islands and expected something basic which it was but did lack in cleanliness, particularly in the bathroom. The view from the apartments was beautiful and the weather was great. The problem we had was with the noise from the bar area at night. The same small group of people gathered at the bar every evening and stayed there until the early hours and one occasion it was as late as 5.30a.m! With no regard to the majority of the guests who were staying there. The greek family were as noisy as the guests if not noisier. Also, if you want a breakfast dont expect it before 11.00a.m. as the bar was never opened until after then. We didnt see anyone on our departure and had to just leave the room and key in the door. If you want to drink by the pool til late at night then this is the just the place for you but it wasnt for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulineandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have just returned from a week staying at Zorbas in Town Apartments.
On arrival we had a a warm welcome from the family brothers who own the accommodation,This accommodation is in a lovely quiet relaxing place a short walk up the hill. The view is spectacular from the small and perfect location.The pool (infinity pool) area is lovely quiet and a great place for a relaxing holiday.You could purchase a few drinks and a snack throughout the day.
Our self catering apartment was basic ( but all you need ) much bigger than expected for a studio with cooking facilities and a TV and air con.We had a balcony overlooking the bay, with a peach tree growing beside us. The apartment was spotless.
All the other guests were friendly and happy .

I would like to thank the brothers for providing such a lovely holiday accommodation and the holiday so lovely.

Two minutes down the hill were three restaurants serving lovely food in picture perfect surroundings. A supermarket at the bottom of the little hill closely followed by the beach.
The beach was quiet and unspoilt with the clearest water for swimming.
There are a few more restuarants
The bus stop into town is also located here. Buses run every 10 - 15 minutes and fifteen minutes to the old and new port. Skiathos town is stunning. Lots of taverners and little back streets to explore.

The whole area is stunning and I can not recommend the Island enough You can explore by car or Jeep. We picked up a Jeep for 50 euros in the town for 24 hours

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanamay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for a week at Zorbas and we loved every minute of our time at the studios. The 3 brothers are brilliant. Really helpful and friendly.

The bar prices are really reasonable for the location - €2.50 for a large draft beer or €2 for a Bottle of Mythos or wine. Small draft beer and soft drinks were €1.50 each.

The rooms were basic and cleaned on one occasion we think. Bins emptied daily and beds were made 3 times in the week I think.

The pool area was really relaxing for the most part. A few young children arrived later in our stay but it's a short week to the beach which we found really relaxing too if you like peace and quiet.

The hill that people talk of is nothing really. Makes a drink at the top feel worth it.

Away from the studios Skiathos town and koukanaries were very busy when we went and the bus journeys are 'interesting' to say the least.

If you have any questions feel free to message me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas In Town Family Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas In Town Family Studios

Property: Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Address: Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Hotel Skiathos Town
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing