We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at these studios and we were pleasantly suprised after some of the negative things we had read. The studio was basic but large and had all we needed, it was clean and the maid service was very good with the bins emptied every day and sheets and towels changed midweek.
Yes the hill or Mount Zorba as our rep called it might be a problem for some but interestingly a number of the guests during our stay were 50+ and some 70+ and we managed it 3 times some days, the view was worth the effort. As other reviewers have commented the food was excellent and freshly cooked and the vegetables organic. I agree that the greek salad was the best we had on Skiathos and Skopelos. We really enjoyed the poolside barbecue that the family put on, the food was delicious and very reasoable at 12 euros each.
The family were lovely and did everything they could to make your stay enjoyable, no loud music blaring out day and night. Our room faced the pool and bar and we were never disturbed by any noise at night and it was very quiet in the morning so you could lie on sun lounger or swim in the pool in peace.
As mentioned on other reviews plenty of good tavernas but I think Green Park was our favourite, we had a lovely English breakfast at the taverna with blue chairs ?Cosa opposite the no 16 bus stop. Enjoyed a day trip on the Poseidon to visit Mama Mia church etc, We will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Reading through the previous June reviews I felt compelled to write my own report, something that I have never done before.
We went to Zorbas during the last 2 weeks of June 2012 and found both the accommodation and the hospitality offered by the Zorba family to be of the highest standard.
The studio we stayed in was basic but clean and tidy. The sheets and towels were changed every other day and the cleaner emptied the bins and swept daily.
As mentioned there is a hill that needs to highlighted as it will not suit people with mobility problems, due to the gradient and unevenness of the road. However after a fantastic meal in the resort we found the return walk uphill to Zorbas a way of losing a few calories and the welcoming beer at the pool bar was a just reward.
We found all 3 brothers, Mom and Dad, extremely helpful, charming and polite at all times. Nothing was ever too much trouble and if they didnt have what you wanted they nipped on their bike and went to fetch it for you.
The pool bar meals were excellent and their Greek Salad was the best on the Island.This was because they used their own home grown organic salad. The portions were huge and could often be shared.
We had a studio facing the bar and pool area. I have to say I didnt hear any noise from the bar area of an evening after we had retired.
We saw the pool being cleaned daily often by Mr Zorba Snr . We never had the problem of not being able to get a sunbed of a morning as there was always one on offer.
The view from the pool area was fantastic looking over toward the sea.
All the restaurants mentioned in the previous reports were found to be of a very high standard and we didnt have one bad meal during the 2 week stay.
Overall we had great 2 week stay at Zorbas and would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Skiathos .
Cant wait to go back :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherrypip186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Skiathos, although we have visited a number of other wonderful Greek Islands. We always look for family run accommodation when choosing our holiday, as we would rather experience their hospitality, friendliness and values, than just be a number at a hotel.

Just out of curiosity, I thought I would read some other reviews, and it has spurred me to write my very first one.

First of all I can understand how the hill can be a little off-putting for some. However, from our point of view once you get to the accommodation it is well worth it, and as a previous reviewer mentioned, just look at the extra calories you're walking off!

We found that the family can't do enough for you if you want to make yourself known to them, likewise I feel for those holiday makers who just want to escape and relax, the family will let you be, (not ignoring you.)

The three brothers running the bar can make a mean cocktail and club sandwich, we certainly didn't eat there every day, but thought the menu was generally what you would normally find at a poolside bar.

There are many tavernas to chose from and the beach is lovely. This resort at bus stop 16 is perfectly positioned to get to Skiathos town or to the other side of the Island - Koukanairies.

To summarise, I think if you are considering Zorbas for your holiday, you'll find that most of their guests return year after year, and we will be be one of them.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom apartment at the front on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The only thing that let the Zorbas down in my opinion was the lack of a proper children's pool which deterred us from staying around the pool for longer periods of time! That being said though I prefer the beach anyway. Some of the sunbeds and tables around the pool need to be updated as they haven't been in a fair few years.

I could not fault the brothers and the family as they were excellent and you were a name and not a number so gotthat personal touch that you dont get in hotels etc. Granted they didn't always open the pool bar on time but this is the Greek way of life. My two year old daughter is going through the terrible two stage but the family made a fuss of her at every opportunity.

The walk is fine and easier if you run up it, however we all got lost on arrival as the coach drops you off on the main road with you luggage being taken up straight from the airport once you have collected it from baggage reclaim.

The rooms are very basic but that is to be expected for self catering apartments.

Would I go back yes definitely but it looks like Thomson won't be though Nikos said it was due to a website fault.

This was my third time to Skiathos and Agia Paraskevi previously staying at the Princess Skiathos and am looking to return already. The people are lovely and the area is not particularly expensive in terms of Taverna's and Supermarkets.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLoverSince1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are returning to Zorbas in September and can't wait. It will be 4 th year running on Skiathos. I feel sorry those who wrote the review that were not happy. We found everything to be spotlessly clean and the family were always friendly and could not do enough for you. The hill is a trek that only takes a few minutes to walk up. The views are spectacular and to get an even better view just walk up the hill a bit further. The small supermarket will deliver your groceries for you as will the large supermarket at bus stop 3.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coronationstreet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just returned from Zorbas. We choose here based on the excellent reviews written here. I never normally write a review but felt I had to here as Zorbas bore little resemblance what we read before we went.

The views are fantastic. BUT...

-The rooms are only cleaned and linen changed once a week. Bins are emptied daily but that is it – no floors cleaned, beds made etc. After a day at the beach everyday the white floors get mucky, the linen gets dirty. We understand that others had complained too because there rooms were dirty. Despite complaints nothing changed.

- The communal areas are dirty– the same collection of dead flies stayed in the pool toilet sink the whole two weeks we were there, the corridors are full of leaves, the pool has sand all around the bottom and the pool side was not swept once in two weeks - and you are sunbathing in this.

- The place is a bit “Faulty towers” - our room had no shower holder to have a shower so you had to hold it yourself and try and shower. The bath was not an option as there was no plug. The bathroom sink plug was stuck in closed for the whole of our stay. There was a wasps nest outside the bedroom window. Wasps were nesting in the veranda furniture. The poolside tables had sharp upturned nails poking out of the table top...

- The self catering is extremely minimal and hard to cook anything – one knife for a whole family is quite difficult.

- We had one of the best located rooms I think but other rooms backed directly onto the pool (less than a sunbed’s width away), some were tucked in a corner behind a wall and the guys who stayed there called it their “prison”. The TV/music at the bar was on loud every night and until late so not much fun for people’s rooms that backed onto there and wherever you stayed you could hear it.

- Finally at 6 euros a day for air con (a whacking 84 euros bill for our two weeks) need I say more.

In summary Zorbas had great views but the place was dirty and not cared for and they seemed only interested in your money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank satbythepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Zorbas family house studios. Where to start:- Firstly the rep told us that Nikos (from the apartments) would meet us round the corner from where the coach dropped us off. He couldn't be bothered to come down as he knew a returning guest would be on the coach and knew we would all eventually arrive. The dreaded hill is a "killer" especially when you have to carry your travel bagsin the heat of the day and also any shopping that you may need. They only have water on site, so milk, bread etc you have to get from the supermarket at the bottom of the hill Iwhich is the most expensive supermarket on the island) and then haul it all back up again! People arrived with small children and pushchairs and within 24 hours most people had hired a car. It is not too bad walking up the hill at night as its a lot cooler, but it is dangerous as it is unlit until you are nearing the apartment complex. The apartments are indeed very basic (we had one knife, two forks and two of everything else with an oddment of glasses for good measure). The bedding and towels were changed twice weekly and were very rough and the sheets old and frayed. The bedspread was dirty and obviously had not been changed since the last occupants. We saw the sheets and towels drying on the owners airer, but never once did we see bedspreads drying in the entire two weeks we were there. The shower is a "hand held" affair, you get used to it, but it is awkward when you are trying to use shampoo etc with one hand and hold the shower with the other. As for the bar, the brothers are friendly, but only as long as you are spending money with them, if you don't go to the bar regularly or stay around the pool, they barely acknowledge you. They advertise breakfast, but they are rarely up in time to provide this as they don't seem to arise until 10.00am or later. They couldn't even be bothered to get up to say "goodbye" to people that have been returning for several years. The only good thing about the apartments is the view . We stayed in the apartments below the family house so the view was absolutely amazing! If we go back to Skiathos we would probably stay in Skaithos Town as it is the most convenient place to be. Jimmy's is a good place to eat as is Mistrali at the bottom of the dreaded hill. In Town we ate at 1901 (very special) as is Villa Rosa (part of the 1901 chain). If you like boat trips, go with the Kassandra crew, it is the biggest boat in the harbour, and the cheapest trip around (although we didn't know that at the time, 15 euros for the day which included a sandwich and drink for lunch). The crew are really friendly and helpful and we visited Skopelos, Alonnisos, Mamma Mia church and saw dolphins. The only thing we couldn't do was go into the blue cave, but that was only as the boat was too big, but the Captain took the boat in as close as possible so everyone could see inside. The Mamma Mia experience was amazing. A crew member took a rope from the boat and tied it around a rock in the sea, to secure the Kassandra and then they ferried anyone who wanted to go to the church to the shore. But be warned there are about 40 steps from the beach up to the road, then a rocky causeway to the steps up to the church (around 100 of them). Those that didn''t fo to the church, were treated to the Mamma Mia soundtrack. The beaches around Skiathos are lovely, especially Troulos (look out for the turtles) but further afield, Mandraki beach and Elias Bay are amazing (although the access leaves a lot to be desired). We hired a car from "First" car rentals in Skaithos Town. A lovely young man named Odysseus helped us with our choice of car, ensured we read the hire agreement in detail and advised us of places to eat and visit. Head for the main car park in Town, but before entering the car park, turn left down the hill, which leads to steps. Continue down the hill and "First" is on the left hand side. All in all a wonderful holiday, but would definitely give Zorbas a miss!!

Room Tip: Air conditioning is 7 euros per day which is quite a lot on top of what you have already paid. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delphlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#5 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas In Town Family Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas In Town Family Studios

Property: Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Address: Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Hotel Skiathos Town
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing