We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as everyone makes out”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as good as everyone makes out”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Zorbas family house studios. Where to start:- Firstly the rep told us that Nikos (from the apartments) would meet us round the corner from where the coach dropped us off. He couldn't be bothered to come down as he knew a returning guest would be on the coach and knew we would all eventually arrive. The dreaded hill is a "killer" especially when you have to carry your travel bagsin the heat of the day and also any shopping that you may need. They only have water on site, so milk, bread etc you have to get from the supermarket at the bottom of the hill Iwhich is the most expensive supermarket on the island) and then haul it all back up again! People arrived with small children and pushchairs and within 24 hours most people had hired a car. It is not too bad walking up the hill at night as its a lot cooler, but it is dangerous as it is unlit until you are nearing the apartment complex. The apartments are indeed very basic (we had one knife, two forks and two of everything else with an oddment of glasses for good measure). The bedding and towels were changed twice weekly and were very rough and the sheets old and frayed. The bedspread was dirty and obviously had not been changed since the last occupants. We saw the sheets and towels drying on the owners airer, but never once did we see bedspreads drying in the entire two weeks we were there. The shower is a "hand held" affair, you get used to it, but it is awkward when you are trying to use shampoo etc with one hand and hold the shower with the other. As for the bar, the brothers are friendly, but only as long as you are spending money with them, if you don't go to the bar regularly or stay around the pool, they barely acknowledge you. They advertise breakfast, but they are rarely up in time to provide this as they don't seem to arise until 10.00am or later. They couldn't even be bothered to get up to say "goodbye" to people that have been returning for several years. The only good thing about the apartments is the view . We stayed in the apartments below the family house so the view was absolutely amazing! If we go back to Skiathos we would probably stay in Skaithos Town as it is the most convenient place to be. Jimmy's is a good place to eat as is Mistrali at the bottom of the dreaded hill. In Town we ate at 1901 (very special) as is Villa Rosa (part of the 1901 chain). If you like boat trips, go with the Kassandra crew, it is the biggest boat in the harbour, and the cheapest trip around (although we didn't know that at the time, 15 euros for the day which included a sandwich and drink for lunch). The crew are really friendly and helpful and we visited Skopelos, Alonnisos, Mamma Mia church and saw dolphins. The only thing we couldn't do was go into the blue cave, but that was only as the boat was too big, but the Captain took the boat in as close as possible so everyone could see inside. The Mamma Mia experience was amazing. A crew member took a rope from the boat and tied it around a rock in the sea, to secure the Kassandra and then they ferried anyone who wanted to go to the church to the shore. But be warned there are about 40 steps from the beach up to the road, then a rocky causeway to the steps up to the church (around 100 of them). Those that didn''t fo to the church, were treated to the Mamma Mia soundtrack. The beaches around Skiathos are lovely, especially Troulos (look out for the turtles) but further afield, Mandraki beach and Elias Bay are amazing (although the access leaves a lot to be desired). We hired a car from "First" car rentals in Skaithos Town. A lovely young man named Odysseus helped us with our choice of car, ensured we read the hire agreement in detail and advised us of places to eat and visit. Head for the main car park in Town, but before entering the car park, turn left down the hill, which leads to steps. Continue down the hill and "First" is on the left hand side. All in all a wonderful holiday, but would definitely give Zorbas a miss!!

Room Tip: Air conditioning is 7 euros per day which is quite a lot on top of what you have already paid. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delphlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A beautiful place to stay on a beautiful island. Very clean studios, standard Greek euipment for cooking ie 2 electric rings. Electric kettle, TV, hairdryer, safe. Air con at 6euros per day. Fantastic clean pool onsite and excellent bar with reasonable prices. Run by a lovely family of 3 brothers and Mum & Dad. Do not be put off by reports of the steep hill leading to Zorbas, it is well worth the effort, however not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.
I can't reccommend highly enough. We had a brilliant holiday based here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We returned from Zorbas Family House 3 weeks ago having spent 2 weeks there from 16th August 2011. We read the reviews before we booked and were not disappointed.
These apartments are exactly as they are discribed and although the kitchen is basic, which is standard in any apartment, the views made up for any other short comings.
Yes the hill is steep but again the views really make up for that.
We stayed in apartment 15 and 2 other families also accompanied us on our holiday, 6 adults and 5 children aged 5-9years in our party.
Most of the time the pool was shared by our lot and another family and this was great.
The bar area is good with brilliant staff who were always happy to help.
Zorbas Family House is exactly what it says, the brothers run the bar, the father tends to the garden, the other family members come and hang out there too. Its lovely!
We returned to Skiathos after staying there last year at Marina, another nice apartment complex but quite close to the road although our stay was lovely and they have the best Greek night, so much fun.
Basically, the hill is steep as mentioned therefore, strong calves will be built.Pool fantastic, beaches near by great, some fabulous tavernas, the one next to the town bound bus stop which begins with "k" but cant remember the name, Jimmys for pizza and lovely service, another at the bottom of the hill with swings but the one to the right not the left. Also, turn left and keep going to the end of the road, just past the goats and the last place on the right with a pool next to an unfinished apartment block! All these had brilliant food.
Best of all was Johnys at Kanapitsa beach bus stop 12 and you take a right fork along the road opposite the dirt track there, its really lovely, staff great and food delicious.
Kanapitsa is a really good place to try out scuba diving too.
Buses, these are really good, but they do tend to charge different rates with different conductors. They are busy and be prepared to stand. Dont pay for children under 5 either. The worse times to catch buses are around 3pm when locals are heading home for siesta and after sunset on the way back from the beach, 11pm is also bad. If there are more than 4 of you a cab works well and not much difference in price, get your price before getting in!
Skiathos is a wonderful island and the locals have had a tough time this season but do not pressure you to purchase from them except the boat trips.... Posiden boat trips are expensive and do not do what they promise to do, they say that they go to the mamma mia church regardless of the weather, they do not, they never get there!! Apparently the best thing is to charter if you really want to do that trip and its quicker, and more likely to give you more time on the other islands.
We had a really amazing time and will be booking to go back again very soon.
Thank you Zorbas Family.

Room Tip: If you want to have some space, take an apartment with 1 bedroom rather than a studio! even with one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

we first visited zorbas in 2009.went to zante in 2010.went back to zorbas in 2011 and will be back in 2012.i have nothing but praise for this location and the family that run it.it is not luxurious it is not easy to get to but it is run with an attitude that is relaxed yet enthusiastic.the food while not greatly varied is always freshly cooked and the salads are made from home grown produce.the atmosphere is calmness itself and the view is stunning.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank greybeardone2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

lovely place to stay nice and peaceful and very friendly people. studio was kept spotless as was the rest of the grounds, look forward to going back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hattyheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the Zorbas Family Apartments (located at Aghia Paraskevi - bus stop no.16) from 6-17 May and had a fantastic time. Nico and his family were very friendly and we would certainly recommend them. The rooms were lovely and kept immaculate by a lovely young maid who brought us fresh roses everyday!! We hada fantastic view (see photo) and althought the hill is steep from road we found it burnt a few calories off! We found a lovely beach called Abelakia at the side of the busy Koukanaris beach - which was quieter & perfect for swimming. Also there's a magical footpath walk from Koukanaris area to Mandraki beach - the scenery was amazing. There are some lovely meadows with wild flowers and herbs growing (cammomile and fennel) it's like stepping back in time/ Also Knapitsa beach is good (bus stop 12). If you are eating out try the hidden gem Green Park restaurant at bus stop 16 down the lane across from the beach at the side of a stream (its signposted) - excellent food and service + good value for money (7.50E for moussaka) their sea bass and roast lamb are delicious too (same low price) we were given large portions and a complimentary dessert of icecream with honey. There were queuing to get in!! It's so pretty at night when its all lit up outside (see photo). Another good place to eat is Lo&La italian restaurant in town (near Rock n Roll bar) - the owner provided pizzas for Mamma Mia cast while they were filming!! Try it - delicious food!! The horse riding in the Koukanaris area is excellent - I was a nervous novice rider but the Swiss lady that runs it made it a marvellous experience for me - I shall never forget riding in the forest and paths near Mandraki beach!! The island boat trip is very good - our tour operator was offering it at 52E (with lunch) but we got the same trip for 20E booking direct from the harbour. We stayed at mainland Greece for lunch which was only 5E each so it was a real saving! The taxis are great when the buses are full and sometimes it works out cheaper! Watch out and support the taxi driver Byron (Lord Byron he calls himself) who is a real character and v. friendly!
We fell in love with this island and hope to go back in late Sept.....we miss you Skiathos!!xx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190734Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Had a great holiday with my partner! stayed at the Zorbas for one week! service was so friendly and lovely! weather was amazing - soooo hot! views from studios were perfect! would definately go back and stay there again!

We hired a car to get around the island which was really useful as we went to every town/village and also drove to see the sunset which was so romantic! Skiathos is such an amazing island and staying here just made it even more perfect... was clean, friendly family run, had beautiful views, nice clean pool, only down side was the walk up the pathway to get to the apartments... which was steep! and hard work in high temps! but after a few days of going up and down and up and down it, it did become easier and helped us to work off the food we ate whilst there :-)

Lovely holiday, lovely weather, lovely beach and lovely hotel! :-) PERFECT!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraH_AdamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas In Town Family Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas In Town Family Studios

Property: Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Address: Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Hotel Skiathos Town
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing