We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be so much more.”
Review of Samos City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samos City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good, but could be so much more.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the best location in the town, steps from the ferry port.

walking into the hotel you would think that it's very nice. A great lobby bar along with a great lobby. the rooms on the other hand are a different story. All rooms are circa 1950 with decor & televisions to match. if you are average size don't even try to have a shower in their shower as it is near impossible due to the size.


The best thing about this hotel however is the free breakfast that comes along with the room. Try the croissants and ask for a capicuino, absolutely spectacular.

Enjoy your pleasantly relaxing stay in Samos, I know I sure did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Phelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    73
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
67
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a very mixed experience of the Samos Hotel.

The rooms are basic and fairly clean, with comfy beds (although apparently no option of a true double, as opposed to twin beds pushed together). There was no kettle, no safe, not even a folder of hotel information in the room. I had two different rooms, and in neither one was it possible to have a shower without holding the shower head, as the wall attachments were broken.The hotel wifi was appalling, with a connection barely able to cope with checking email at busy times (i.e. all mornings & evenings). I would honestly prefer a hotel to not offer wifi than to promise it, and then provide such an unreliable service.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet (mostly cold) with veggie options including: cake, biscuits, bread/toast/croissants, jam, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, greek salad, and eggs. It didn't vary much from day to day, but there was enough choice.

I was travelling to Samos for a conference (perhaps not the most typical reason to visit a Greek island!) so I really needed to get a good night's sleep. The staff were happy to move me to a quieter wing when the loud music from the bar was keeping me awake - but I'd be hesitant to book here during a busier period, as it really was very loud on several nights.

The chairs and tables on the balcony were filthy, I had to wash mine before I could sit outside. Perhaps this was an off-season thing (it was late March) but as the weather was plenty nice enough to use the balcony, it was unfortunate.

I also had experience of the hotel's conference room (some miles away, in a beautiful hillside location, with even worse wifi connection than the hotel) and their catering service (very variable in terms of veggie provision - I got quickly bored of feta sandwiches).

Room Tip: The side wing (on the right as you enter the hotel) is quieter than the central rooms above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelcotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff was kind, helpful. Breakfast was very good ... hot continental , salad, cereal, fruit, sweets ... only the cofee was instant coffee. Rooms were very dark, half of light bulbs did not work, bathroom was small - the shower was separated from the toilet with a synthetic curtain - so the water was all over the bathroom after taking a shower. Seemed like the water taps had not been decalsified for ages as none of the taps had normal flowing water.
The hotel has some views towards the bay, but the most are towards an inner yard. The rooms have bad sound isolation - you can hear everything that is going on in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS HELLAS
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very helpfull staff!!Nice location to the centre.Narrow but lovely rooms with nice sea view.Recommended.. For bussiness trips.
Well organised front desk provides info for excursions and sightseeings of the island.Good breakfast.Mainly i could say its a family hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSTAVROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not having done this before we were a little anxious when we arrived off the ferry in the late evening with no accommodation booked. We need not have worried! The Hotel Samos is very near where the boat docked and they really looked after us. We had only intended staying for one night but in fact we stayed for three as it was so comfortable and the staff were so helpful. The room was good and the balcony a nice place to sit in, in the heat of the day.
Buffet breakfast was in the open and in the beautiful Greek weather was a delight. The hotel is well situated with lots of restaurants nearby and we visited a lovely Italian one nearby twice it was so good. Also there is a great bus service around the island which we used to do a bit of sightseeing, but our main treat was to sit in the main square sipping coffee and watching the world go by

The only tiny crib I would have about this hotel was they didn't tell us about the fantastic swimming pool on the roof. We had to find it for ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayfarer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
394 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived off the evening ferry and walked straight into the nearby Samos Hotel intending to stay a night. We stayed for three nights. The staff are friendly and helpful, it is well located, the room was comfortable and the buffet breakfast was very good. The pool area on the roof is the icing on the cake and great to sit beside with a book for a couple of hours of late afternoon sunbathing. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
742 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,305 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel is located right across the street from the ferry terminal. You can get car rentals right there. Lots of shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

We went up to the rooftop lounge. The pool looked very clean and there was a good number of chairs/lounges for guests. Area was clean. No service right there(end of September), but there was a menu and a hotel phone to place your order. We ordered wine and it was brought up within a few minutes with some munchies. We gave the waitress a nice tip for her troubles and she genuinely seemed to appreciate it.

We sat at the bar counter and had a wonderful view of Samos and the harbor. Sunny, blue skies and charming scenery. It was delightful.

We will be going back to Samos and will try a stay here. It looked very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.6 mi away
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vathy
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
4.3 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos City Hotel

Property: Samos City Hotel
Address: 11 Sofouli Themistokli, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Samos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Town Hotel
Samos City Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing