We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and serves its purpose...”
Review of Samos City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samos City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and serves its purpose...”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting Samos. Located several steps away from the port, so conveniently located close to all the restaurants and shopping. Samos is definitely an island where you will have to rent a car to see anything and this hotel is close to all the rental agencies. The hotel looks to be very old, but is very beautiful, both inside and out. From the very elegant marble floors and staircase to the very helpful staff. The rooms are lacking in elegance, but are acceptable for an overnight stay for one or two nights. The bathrooms and showers were definitely an afterthought. You will bruised and bloody your forehead if you attempt to wash your bottom, while in the shower. Next time, I will choose a 5 star in another location for just over $100 USD which are close to the many wonderful beaches Samos has to offer. Again, if you are here for one day and don't want to venture far, this is the perfect place!

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room where the electric cables do not add to your view of the beautiful mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    74
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
67
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here 2 weeks+ recently on friends’ recommendation who know Samos well. Turned out to be an excellent choice. Really made my holiday as I arrived unprepared ! Location overlooking the port and bay was both central & scenic, close to everything needed (seafront restaurants, bars, shops, bank, etc) - without the pitfall of being noisy even at night time or weekends. Rooms are clean with good air con, free wifi. Service was friendly and efficient throughout. Hotel bar/restaurant very pleasant place to hang out at the beginning or end of day with excellent Mojitos (!) and bar food served. Staff went out of their way to accommodate my requests (was switched to room with sea view at no extra cost when it became available) and were pleasant and helpful throughout my stay. All in all the hotel was a great base and relaxing and comfortable environment from which to explore the rest of the island. And value for money too. Would stay here again as I loved the island.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel have sea views. Junior suites very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GanzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A renovated hotel in the heart of the port of Vathy - Samos. We stayed with my 2 daughters on our way from Kos to Chios for one night. The room was clean but despite the renovation looks "tired", the bathroom was small. Our balcony overlooked the back side of the hotel, back side of buidlings. It was Ok for one night but if this is your vacation and for more nights ask for a sea front view. The breakfast was rich and tasteful. Overall a good value for money choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annybenetou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Great position walking distance from ferry terminal. Our room had a balcony overloking the harbour. Breakfast good. We walked 50 mts to have a swim in the ocean - for free - and the hotel also has a pool. Walked up the street for lunch in the trattoria.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiamaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samos, Greece
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We live the other side of Samos so when we come in to Vathie we choose to stay here. It has recently refurbished rooms, in particular their junior suites. They are really well done for a good price. The 4th floor is the floor to ask for if a large boat is in Port. The staff are very helpful and it is very clean and the beds very comfortable. It is directly opposite the port and is at the start of the main strip so everything is close by, in particular all the nice restaurants and coffee shops with all types of shops in the street behind to wonder through on your way up to the square. Breakfast is the usual greek style but you can ask for a cappucino or other specialty coffees for no charge. Sitting on the balcony after the sunset is gorgeous but in the afternoon the sun is setting in your balcony. The pool area is well maintained and lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We are a couple in our late 60s. A good Location is very important to us and this hotel provided just that. Staff were notably cheerful and attentive. Being close to the port was a bonus for us and provided an interest. Noise was not a problem. Breakfast was good if a little much of the same and of course no Bacon. I think it is important for people that have mobility problems to be aware that standard rooms do have a walk-in shower but it is very very tiny. The bathrooms in general are very cramped. the only alternative means the shower is over the bath again no good unless you are young and fit. Loved Samos, the people & staff at this hotel but the bathroom was a real problem if you don't have good balance.

Room Tip: If you like your morning coffee soon as you wake take a kettle. large wardrobe with plenty of coat h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriso231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way from Greece to Turkey and stayed at this hotel. For what we needed it was fine. Clean room, decent breakfast. Nothing spectacular but it was right for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.6 mi away
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vathy
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
4.3 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos City Hotel

Property: Samos City Hotel
Address: 11 Sofouli Themistokli, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Samos City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samos City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Town Hotel
Samos City Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing