We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gagou Beach-Samos Bay Hotel Outstrips Competition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Rye Beach, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gagou Beach-Samos Bay Hotel Outstrips Competition”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a travel agent in Kalloni, Lesvos. Although she herself had never visited Samos or stayed at the hotel, she thought that it might be a good choice for us, based on the feedback she had received from other travelers. And she was right.

After arriving at Samos from Mytilini, we were tired and a bit confused about driving directions to Samos Bay from the harbor. Once we checked into our room, though, the beautifully sited hotel continued to grow on us, as we explored its offerings: i.e., the spectacular view of the bay, wonderful private balcony, clean and well designed rooms, an attractive lounge area with outside terrace, and the magnificent dining area with an array of outstanding services.

The most important aspect of our enjoyment, however, came from the dedicated, hard-working, professional, and attentive staff. The desk manager did a wonderful job in booking us into the hotel and coordinating all of our lodging needs. The waitstaff made our stay memorable. In fact, we can heartily recommend the hotel to others because of our superlative experience.

We also want to make note of the Monday evening Greek night. It was terrific! The musicians were excellent, as were the dancers. And more, both the musicians and dancers made every effort to include customers in the fun experience, enhancing enjoyment of the event. We're musicians, leading a 30-piece Hellenic and Near-Eastern orchestra, so our critique of the music and dance carries additional weight. Staff ensured that every diner was served promptly that evening and their own demeanor added to the special "kefi" of the evening. Hats off to Samos Bay!

Visitors will love the beach in front of the hotel and its proximity to the downtown area. The city center is a short walk from the hotel, ensuring that evenings at the hotel won't be in a noisy city location. Prices are reasonable, and there are numerous great eateries in the area. Another attractive feature of this Samos hotel is that the island itself is a good launching point for travel to other Aegean islands and Asia Minor.

In all, the whole experience receives high marks from us, and we travel often to Europe. On our journeys to Greece, we try to visit different areas of the country, but we expect that Samos will be a repeat trip for us. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
59
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were very happy for choosing this hotel, as we had a very pleasant stay. With a very good location, next to a small beach, we were impressed by the sea view from our room. Hotel is, above all, very clean, we had a nice room, large and everything we needed, just a little bit noisy, cause we had it just above the restaurant. The terrace is perfect for late drinks :-) Stuff was excellent, very friendly and helpful and always smiling, which is a big plus for this hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the restaurant, they may be a little bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We only needed to stay in Samos to get from Mykonos to Turkey. Because of a slight stuff up with the ferries we had to stay two nights, not one, and I couldn't be happier. Gagou Beach Hotel made Samos for us.

We chose this hotel because it was the right price and not far from the ferry but it was a world away from the hustle and bustel of the town. What really won us over was the beach. It;s right on your doorstep! After a month of sight seeing and not as much swimming as we wanted, it was exactly what we needed.

Even though you are not right in town, there are a few restaurants around the hotel. The walk into town takes less than 15 minutes and we did this twice throughout our stay. I am glad we didn't stay in the city. Being so close to the beach is what made this

The hotel itself has just undergone refurbishments so the common areas were nice and clean. The rooms are very basic but the views from the balconies more than make up for it.

I would highly recommend the Island of Samos, and staying at the Gagou Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheBeeGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

It was a first time in unknown Samos, Greece, not Greek speaking & trying to impress my small group with a quality, clean hotel without blowing the budget on a resort style megapolis. Gagou beach hotel fit the bill.
Brilliant location onto a small clean pebble beach (12 minute stroll into town), leisurely atmospheric with it's own home-made-feel restaurant. Great views from every room balcony. Friendly informative staff & free lobby wifi + computer access.
Samos is perfect for access/exit to/from Turkey & a beautiful island to tour via vespa or soft-top jeep. We loved our stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very very good hotel in a good location. Excellent service who give you a lovely welcome. Clean and everything perfect. Highly recommended. 21/7/2012-28/7/2012. From Cyprus. Από Κύπρο με αγάπη Ελένη.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotel is nice and clean. The location is right to the Gangou beach. The service is good, nothing to complain. All rooms have seaview, they are clean, toiled and shower are OK, small but suffice.
he staff is nice and very friendly. They will do thier best to feel nice. Food is local, but nothing special. Onece a week is Greek night - local food. Once a week you have Italian night (pasta + pizza). Breakfast is traditionaly Greek - nothing special. Some fruit was not very fresh :( Dinner was good, nothing special. If you like to eat fish - you will have to go to a tavern.
Walking to Samos town takes 15min on a road (no pavement). A small shop is nearby to get some things. 6-7 parking spaces are avaliable for rented cars (recomemded). The beach is nice with pebbles. A tavern is across the beach - service on the beach can be arranged.
We rented a car and discovered the island on ourselfs (recomended).
Overall: the hotel is nice, clean, rooms are OK, food is OK, but nothing special. I recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0rpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is so wellcoming that from the first minute you enter you feel at home. It's small boutique hotel right on the beach. I was affraid that the road between hotel and beach will be busy and noisy - like the one last year at Kos - but it isn't! Further is just a hotel Samian Blue and a hill with abandoned building.
All the staff are polite and efficient (hello Dimitros if you read this). Hotel is clean, rooms simple but well furnished, wc works well:))
A balcony is another good story. All the rooms have a sea view and afternoon sun. And when you sit there you can admire a sunset and then beautiful colours of the evening sky. In the morning you can watch a local fisherman who's coming every day at six to drag his little nets.
We were on halfboard and it works well. You can enjoy greek food made of Samian vegetable. Only a choise of meat is poor - pork every day, sometimes chicken and once fish.
Hotel is in walking distance from town, but there is no short way, you must walk on road with no pavements - be careful. I must say I was pleasantly surprised that all drive slowly, with no hurry and no bipping. We rent a car for five days and we discover all Samos. If someone would ask me where was the most beautiful, I would be in trouble. Like a slogan I read on a T-shirt and I write in the title.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dark_roseSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.2 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
232 reviews
4.8 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
110 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
176 reviews
5.6 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
592 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#13 of 20 in Kokkari
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel

Property: Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Address: Gagou Beach, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the nature adorers with forest green and crystal blue sea, in a beautiful gulf with the beach right under your feet, you will find GAGOU BEACH HOTEL in the Greek island of Samos! Providing you with the authentic Greek hospitality, relax and enjoy your stay with a refreshment-snack on the beach or on your comfortable room balcony. You also have the choice to enjoy delicious meals, from our Greek cuisine at our hotel-restaurant "GLAFKOS" right over the Aegean Sea. It’s just a unique and ideal place for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing