We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a clean up”
Review of Pythagoras Hotel

Pythagoras Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Samos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pythagoras Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Needs a clean up”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we read about it in Lonely Planet. It is a good 10 min walk fromt e ferry terminal. The twin room we had was quite small with a tiny balconey. But it was not that clean. There were several centipedes on the floor as well as numerous mozzies. The bathroom was so small that a piece had been cut from the door so it could open and shut past the handbasin. We only stayed one nightand were out of there first thing in the morning. There are other hotels in Vathy that cost about the same and offer so much more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The manager and staff were the best. Excellent Hospitality. The men(dimitri) were gentlemen. They carried our heavy luggage. The room was excellent and clean. It had Air conditioning and a shower with a shower curtain. The surroundings were beautiful with an excellent view.Nice Place to stay in samos.

Room Tip: basic but nice location and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellisabatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Good value for money hotel. Arriving late at night by ferry really appreciated being picked up. Free wi-fi. Fridge in room a plus. Breakfast is not included as stated in the lonely planet. The owners were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help you. Only a ten minute walk to the centre of town and ferry terminal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1962perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We went to this hotel because it was highly recommended in Lonely Planet, and the rooms were nice and very affordable, with a wonderful view from the balcony. True, there is no air conditioning and there was no shower curtain around the shower, but this is a 35 euro/night hotel in Greece, and we were used to that. The owners were very nice and let us keep our luggage there while we took a day trip to Turkey. The only problem was bed bugs, which ate me alive during the one night we stayed there, and I was covered from head to toe with bites the next day. It was also a bummer that you had to pay to use the internet. Still, if they get rid of the bed bugs, it would be a wonderful little place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laradventurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The hotel was clean and the location pretty good. The owner was friendly and very nice. He gave excellent service by taking my niece and I to the ferry. The bathroom did not have a shower enclosed by a shower curtain. That was minor to me except I do not like water all over the place. The view was very nice.

I hate to write the negatives because the owner was nice but here they are.

Negative number one - No Air conditioning. Sorry but I am from Houston and I live in air condition. Greece is hot in August so A/C is necessary.

Negative number two is we were on the side facing the one hospital in Samos. So when the ambulance went by it woke me up. If you use this hotel pay the extra for the sea view.

So if this hotel had AC and if you were on the sea view I would give a better rating.

I would say I would recommend with quailifications

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecileK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is very basic... but it does have fantastic sea views, is excellent value for money, easy walking distance to beaches and town, close to the best bars in Samos town (especially for sunset views!) and a very friendly owner. It's also clean and the rooms were of a decent size.

We only stayed here for 2 nights which was enough. We didn't love Samos, but it was okay. The hotel is fine if you are after something simple

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Due to Greece's unpredictable ferry schedules (to be fair, we were there admist their protests & strikes), we arrived at 4am in Samos, with no place to stay. The 8am ferry was cancelled - next available ferry was at 4pm. So we had to find a roof. ITSA was luckily opened - bought our ferry tickets to Kusadasi, & Dimitry suggested for us to stay at Pythagoras.

Within 10 mins, we were picked up and less than 5 mins drive to the hotel. Maybe it was the early hours, awoken from sleep - the guy wasn't very friendly. Then again, his behaviour next day didn't improve much.

Room felt slightly dusty. Furnishings & tiles in the bathroom definitely needs to be improved. Can be noisy along the echo-y corridoor, especially when others kept opening & closing their doors. The place felt quite gloomy.

At 40euros for triple (with bathroom+ hairdryer + small tv & fridge - I opened the fridge to find some black stains & a rather bad stale smell), no breakfast, some may consider this a deal. Stay only if all you want is a place to sleep & washup.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Soul_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samos Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.2 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirini Hotel
Mirini Hotel
#6 of 14 in Vathy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pythagoras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pythagoras Hotel

Property: Pythagoras Hotel
Address: Kallistratou St. | Vathi, Samos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Pythagoras Hotel Samos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing