We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, such a beautiful view and the food is lovely!....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Na Xamena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Na Xamena
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous, such a beautiful view and the food is lovely!....”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

When we got there our rooms where not ready but they looked after our things while we got changed into our swimsuits and sat around the pool area sunbathing and drinking really nice coffee. Most hotels serve horrible coffee but their's is fab! The rooms were really lovely. As it was a birthday celebration the hotel had arranged a chilled bottle of Cava in the room so we could all toast my mum happy birthday and she also had a present all wrapped up for her. It was a bottle of perfum you can buy in the gift shop. It was so lovely that we all bought a bottle. So the two gifts was nearly 100 euro, extremly generous. The location of the hotel is away from any shops or bars so dont go if you like a walk into town. This hotel is simply to get away from it all. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and happy to help. The hotel play music all day around the pool which is great, its not too loud and its Cafe del mar. Fabulous with the views. My ownly grip with this hotel is that the beverages are far to expensive. Think we payed 5 euro for just a coffee, non alcholic cocktail is 10 euro. Bottle of Cava is about 39 euro. Also it is very noisy from the wooden floors in the hallways. High heels sound really loud at 3 oclock in the morning and the spanish guest's are very loud so I came back home feeling shattered! Still I cant wait to go back and would not let these things put me off! Go and enjoy your stay and do not let other reviews put you off. My view is that some people just cant have a good time any where they go. One more thing go half board. Breakfeast's are fab, lots of food and the 60 euro allowance for dinner at night is brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason-Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    110
    51
    40
    40
See reviews for
61
327
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

How do you even start to review a hotel that left us with a completely mixed bag of experiences after our three nights?! I'll keep it simple and to the point:

The Good Points:
Stunning location with truly amazing views.
Secluded, private, quiet and the perfect hideaway.
Big rooms (we had one with a bath in the room, by the window)
Great staff who were super-friendly and helpful.
Excellent food, every meal was fantastic, no complaints there.
Staff went out of their way to make my wife's 40th birthday as memorable as possible.

The Bad Points:
The hotel needs a massive refurbishment in every single area.
Every thing feels old, tired and patched up with minimal expense.

Hotel management needs to seriously sharpen up and improve attention to detail.
Plastic palm trees in the bar area.
Food took ages to arrive in the restaurant and then the wrong dishes turned up?!
Bar staff seemed over-stretched and drinks took ages to arrive.

Summary:
The alarm bells were ringing as soon as we arrived in Reception. Nobody to greet us at the door. Nobody to take our bags. Plastic notices stuck on the walls with Blu-tack, messy behind the reception desk. On arrival in our room we rang and asked for some ice. After one hour I went to the bar and got it myself. Cigarette butts and old hair clips on our terrace, weeds growing on the terrace, a plastic shower cubicle that looked like it was from the local DIY store, no towels since they'd forgotten to leave them etc etc etc.

I must reiterate that the staff were super-friendly and really did their best but whether it's due to a lack of staff, poor management or no training, the customer service levels are simply not good enough.

The whole hotel has the feel of a once-great hotel that had its heyday about 20 years ago and has subsequently slipped into gradual decline. It needs a MASSIVE refurbishment program. If a world-class hotel chain bought it and spent $5m to $10m on returning it to its former glory then it could once again be the gem it once was.

You can't deny that the location and views are world-class and the chefs are excellent but nothing else was up to par. Old and tired like a movie star who has long been forgotten and neglected.

And Finally...
None of this would matter if the prices were in line with the overall experience but we paid 2,500 Eur for three nights (including food and drink). We could have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world for that money. A three star experience for six star prices. I would be giving the hotel a completely different review if we'd paid 200 Eur per night. I'd feel that was fair and correct but we paid over 550 Eur per night.

Go and spend an hour in the cascades pool, watch the sunset on the terrace and enjoy a nice dinner - well worth the effort. BUT think twice before booking to stay. You'll be sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shrubber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have stayed in a great many 5 star hotels in Europe and we found that this hotel encompassed everything we wanted, service, food and personal care. Yes, ofcourse there are always odd instances but when they are dealt with immediately and with a smile, does it really matter? Our stay was made even more enjoyable because of a young lady by the name of Anna Henry on Reception who guided us to all the best spots on the island including restaurants, beaches etc. Her help and attention to detail was unparrelled and she made our stay together with the magnificence of this hotel, its views, staff and setting an experience we will never forget and definitely go back. Our congratulations to the Owner, the staff all spoke 3 langugages fluently.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

While on vacation in Ibiza, in another hotel, I decided to take my fiancee to have dinner at the Hacienda Na Xamena to celebrate her birthday. The location of the hotel is spectacular to say the least and the view absolutely breathtaking.
Unfortunately, these are the only positive things we experienced that evening. First the tables are extremely unpractical for whoever is taller that 6ft. Don't be fooled by the bread plates with the Relais & Chateaux logo, as the staff confirmed to me after I asked about it that the hotel was longer part of the chain for a couple of year.
We mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday. We are not people to ask for free stuff but an aknowledgement of some sort would have been nice. Instead, that went completely ignored by the staff.
While my fiancee was facing the sea, I was looking at a little window that gives onto the lobby, window were there was a massive spider-web which appreared to have been there for quite some time.
The food. We barely touched what we ordered. It has to rank as one of the worst meal I have ever had. The fish was pasty, badly cooked, while the pasta was absolutely horrendous (we live in Italy so we know how they should taste, even abroad). The staff saw it as they brought back full plates to the kitchen. I was expecting someone to come and ask us what had gone wrong, but no one bothered. In fact, it was not even clear whether there was a restaurant manager or not. . Finally, we asked for the bill, wanting to leave as soon as possible. The bill came in full without event the slightest acknoledgement of the bad experience we just had. Being a special event, I did not want to make a fuss in front of my fiancee, but left very upset after what should have been a special event which was ruined by the restaurant. I don't mind paying but for quality. That evening I felt that I was just a number rather than a customer and that the only thing they truly cared about was my credit card. Not a nice feeeling to have.
I did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment on it but won't ever stay there now anyway.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregorio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Great hotel at a cliffside, spacious rooms, with a bath inside the room from which you can observe the sunset..very romantic. The dinner was delicious, great wines and the dessert...staff was helpful, the only problem we had was internet - they have in the hotel a small business center with two or three computers, but the internet did not work all the time. The location of the hotel could be better, after the sunset the streets in Ibiza are all the same:-D ...but on the other habd you can have dinner in the hotel. This hotel is perfect for honeymooners or couples, very nice.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BosorkaPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We are a couple from Vienna, Austria, and just returned from a 3 day-stay in this wonderful hotel, where we felt like in kind of another world. The location is situated on a hill with a wonderful view down to the sea. The sight is just breathtaking with all the rocks, cliffs and far down the blue and green sea. The lack of the possibility to go just for a swimm into the sea is the only thing that would keep us from staying for a longer period. You def. need a car and then it is about 10 to 15 minutes (depends how fast you drive;)) to the next beach.

The staff especially in the fabulous restaurant - Patric is a perfect cook and Alain a perfect Mâitre - is very friendly, attentive and work far beyond their duty. Sure it was end of the season and the house was not full, but they make you feel you're special.

The pool is clean, you can choose between different sunbeds, chairs under palmtrees and you can get snacks or refreshments.

Anja at the reception was so nice to upgrade us for a superior room and you should effort it. Then you get a terrace and thats worth it. The rooms are clean - except what was really ugly there were dead flys lying on the floor. I guess the roommaid spraid just before she left.....

In the spa we would recommend the cascades - but take it in the evening

The whole hotel has a far east touch with big wooden statues leading you into another red/orange world where you feel special.

But mind that we were in off season - so the rates for high season are quite high

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagmarChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Advertised as 5 star; location and views 5 star, service 5 star, BUT room decor and furnishings in serious need of updating! A very expensive stay for what was a 3 star room.

If you're happy to burn a big hole in your pocket, looking for a chilled out holiday in a quiet, beautiful location away from the madding crowd and are prepared to be underwhelmed when you see your room, then this is the place for you.

The hotel restaurant is very expensive and overrated. The Spa has a limited selection of treatments however the 'Cascadas' were fabulous, especially if you time your 45mins session for the sunset.

Recommend you hire a car and get to see this beautiful island. Cale d'Hort is a must and if you fancy a bit of nudism, try Aigues Blancas! The hotel has such potential as a magical destination. Please can the proprietor update the rooms and give the customer value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onwhitehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
10.0 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
829 reviews
9.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
800 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
700 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,907 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Na Xamena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Na Xamena

Property: Hacienda Na Xamena
Address: Calle Na Xamena s/n | San Miguel, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Na Xamena 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza is a white washed style property suspended 180m high above the glistering Mediterranean Sea, in the heart of a preserved natural park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Na Xamena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Na Xamena Hotel
Hacienda Na Xamena San Miguel
Hacienda Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing