We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lost its ethos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Na Xamena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Na Xamena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lost its ethos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

3rd visit to this hotel and sad to say was disappointed this time. We visit this hotel for its secluded location and a chance for peace and quiet, however, we must have picked a bad time to visit as the guests were mainly families with very young children so the pool area and restaurants were very noisy with screaming children. Our understanding was this was a five star spa hotel so we were not expecting the level of noise and disruption that we had every day, plus, as the hotel is in such a fabulous location it is ideal for weddings and we had two over the weekend. Great for the couple and their guests, not so if you are there to relax and get away from it all. We had booked a superior room with terrace which was perfect but we were not aware there was an adjoining door and the children in the room next door had great fun banging on the door till the early hours of the morning and started again as soon as they arose. We asked to be moved and ended up in a very poor quality room with an unfinished bathroom but at least it was quieter!
Feel quite sad that we had such a bad experience as our previous two visits had been great. Maybe it was a case of 3rd time unlucky. Think the owners need to decide on what market they are aiming for. If it is to be a family oriented hotel then it should be advertised as such and guests wanting a quiet relaxing spa experience can choose to go elsewhere. Also, the bar menu needs to be updated as very limited choice for light lunches especially if staying 5 to 7 days or longer.
On a positive note the staff were excellent and the spa treatments amazing.
Overall we still enjoyed our stay but may take the advice of a previous reviewer and check out the gecko hotel for our next Ibiza holiday .

Room Tip: If you are not too concerned about having a terrace/balcony get a room on 3rd floor as lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellopuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    101
    47
    37
    36
See reviews for
58
305
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the most amazing time here - it was like heaven on earth!

We booked the 73 euros (per person) Cascadas suspendidas deal and couldn't get over what we got for our money. We had a lovely welcome from the staff which started off a really lovely experience.

The French girl who looked after was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We got changed into our swimwear and were provided with a fluffy robe. We were taken to the Cascadas pool and as we turned to our right to see the view we were left speechless - it was absolutely breath taking! The view of the sea and cliffs was just incredible and we were so excited to spend the next 45 minutes in the pool. There are eight adjoining pools all with different temperatures. You go to the first pool where the bubbles are and basically follow the bubbles as you make your way through the different sections. The whole time you have that amazing view in front of you and we both have never felt more chilled out or further from London life! There is an attendant there the whole time to help if we needed it and we also had the whole place to ourselves.

After that amazing experience we showered and dressed for our lunch. After thinking we'd pay the 72 euros just to go to the Cascadas, we were really chuffed with the tapas lunch we were provided. It included delicious starters to share, a selection of meats each for main followed by a trio of desserts, also per person. We were stuffed! We also paid for some white wine sangria which was good. The whole time we were seated in the Eden restaurant and made the most of the view before being very sad to leave!

We will definitely go there again - we went as a couple but I think it would also make a great girls trip and I’ve decided to go there for a possible sophisticated hen do in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I thought this was going to be a real treat, an intimate and super pampering exclusive escape. The reality is very different. This is the tackiest hotel I have ever seem. It is immediately clear that it was not renovated by an architect but by very 'confused' amateurs/new owners.
It is a mixture between India, Bali and ...the flintstones! The main area of the hotel where the swimmingpool is located is a painful juxtaposition of stones, plants, water tunnels, huge stones. It is so badly laid out that it takes a couple of days to work your way around this labyrinth.
Many details are not cared for, and the place is so big that the many public areas look tired.
The 'suspended waterfalls' are so ridiculous, first of all you have to pay €35 euros to enter and in addition you have to move around a circuit (timed by an operator) and can't freely enjoy them.
Why not just a huge whirpool?
Food is too expensive, staff generally friendly but with little experience (especially at reception).
This place needs to learn a few lessons from places like 'gecko club' in Formentera: the beauty of architecture and interior design which blends with the surroundings and is utter simplicity.
I have seen top-end real estate in Ibiza and it looks incredible. What happened here?
This is one of the most beautiful places in northern Ibiza spoiled by this messy place. What a shame for what could have been the most beautiful hotel ever.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french_letter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wonderful location and very good restaurant spoilt by siginificant lack of investment in rooms, public areas and facilities. Not a 5* hotel by any stretch.
We stayed for 2 weeks in August - setting is stunning and eden restaurant which looks out across the Med beautiful with a very good kitchen.
However the public areas are very tired - the rooms have had an attempt at renovation in small doses but are generally tired and cheaply done and overall the public areas are very poor indeed.
The service in the restaurant is generally good if sometimes understaffes but the overall cleaning around the public areas is poor with cleaning equipment left around the pool and one morning we came down to dirty towels and broken glass left around the pool area.
The gym areas is extremely poor with an old largely broken multi-gym and old damaged mats.
Its a shame as this hotel with investment could be fantastic- sadly its let down and it shouldnt have 5*. Overall hard to recommend without a discounted rate and a short stay only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The most beautiful spot you' ll ever see . It is a place one cherishes forever. Too bad it's pricy, but once you are there you are hooked. You need a car as the property is very secluded.
The views are breathtaking - the hotel is small, and very quite. The breakfast is incredible.

Room Tip: Anything on the 4th or 5 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idm115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just enjoyed a week here escaping the London rain, I was last here in 1984 and I'm happy to say that the hotel lived up to my good memories of the place . The location is simply stunning, the views and the sunsets are breathtaking .The hotel is a little quirky and there are definite retro touches such.as a wonderful original mural in one of the hallways . we really liked the contrast between the simple white architecture and the buddas and other oriental touches that have been added,very eclectic. The pool is lovely and reminded us of the Cesar Manrique pools on Tenerife.
The service standards were high from the charming young staff and we also found the food quality to be good . The a junior suite with shower was spacious with an amazing view,although the shower cubicle sited in the ,room Is a little odd and dated.
Loved the upstairs terrace bar (added since 1984. !) and on the Saturday night we listened to great chill out music from one of the Pacha Dj's whilst sipping cocktailfs and watching the sun go down, very lovely, very Ibiza. But what really makes this place is the chilled relaxed lovely atmosphere in a very unusual and individual setting.
A few negatives, the gym is awful, needs updating with new equipment and is dingy, the wireless broadband (thankfully free) was very erratic in the bedrooms. lastly the amount of shade on the terrace by the pool is inadequate and more needs providing.
Apart these comments love the hotel ,will come back and it won't take 28 years. !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sch_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I used to stay at this Hotel years ago when it was the perfect, quintessentially spanish hotel. Simple white walls inside and out which complemented the fabulous views. Whoever owns it now obviously loves Bali or the Far East. The plain white walls in the grounds have Balinese posts stuck on them - very incongruous. I just looked at the bedrooms online and they have hideous wooden bedheads and orange furnishings. Also there are no sun umbrellas round the pool except for about 2 fixed ones. Ibiza gets very hot in the Summer!
I had lunch there and even the mozzarella and tomato salad was served with beanshoots
If I won the Lottery I'd buy the Hacienda and make it what it was

Room Tip: One with a view of the sea
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank barnes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
9.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#3 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
10.0 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#16 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
9.0 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#2 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Na Xamena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Na Xamena

Property: Hacienda Na Xamena
Address: Calle Na Xamena s/n | San Miguel, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Na Xamena 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda Na Xamena is a white washed Ibiza style property suspended 180m high above the Mediterranean, in the heart of a preserved natural park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda Na Xamena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Na Xamena Hotel
Hacienda Na Xamena San Miguel
Hacienda Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing