We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT!! Loved every minute!!”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Really loved the holiday, the hotel location is perfect as close to pools and the beach which is perfect for a all inclusive resort. The hotel staff were so polite and helpful, the rooms were huge and cleaned every day, the food was lovely and great choice, hot bread maybe too nice! the beach is one of the best ive ever seen, so clear and warm. there is not a huge amount outside the resort but there is so much in the resort you tend to not leave much. There is all sorts of free sports, canoes, bikes, tennis, ping pong, parks, lovely scenic walks, volley ball and a gym. the lifts are not that bad, you did have to wait sometimes but the stairs are not that bad either. The hotel and beach club in high season may be a little too busy with kids. The entertainment was all day and nite so kids completely love it and you can relax. All together a fabulous holiday which i would definately go back to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milltemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2010

Just returned from this hotel and wouldnt go back. It wasnt too bad for the money - have been to worse but also been to better. Food was reasonable although it was mostly chips and no Spanish food, wasnt very warm unless you got there as the fresh stuff was being put out. Beds very uncomfortable but good size rooms and large balconies. All drinks free but if you wanted a bottle of water had to buy this as only glasses of water included in all inclusive. Bottles were 1 euro 50 for 1 litre but you could get bottles form the Spar across the road for 1 euro for 2 litres or 2 euro 25 for 6 litres. Money exchange at the hotel or at the exchange shop across the road. Beach very close - 4.50 per day for sunbed & 4 euro per day for umbrella, most people bought lilos to use and these were generally left at the Thomson swap shop to be reused which was good. Nothing to do at the resort so went in to San Miguel on Thursday to have a look round the shops and go to the craft market! There wer 2 shops which took all of 10 minutes to look round and the craft market!!!!!! 2 old women - 1 selling sausage and the other oven gloves so would suggest giving this a miss!. Had a very late flight back so booked the room until 6pm and paid 30 euros for this. On checking out were accused of stealing a drawer from the bedside cabinet!!!! We noticed it missing on the first day but assumed the hotel knew about it, the receptionist stated if we knew it wasnt there we should have reported it so suggest if you notice anything unusual you report it. I would be interested to know though who woud want to steal 1 bedside cabinet drawer!! Dont let any of my comments put you off as all the kids there seemed to have a super time so enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Only downsides to this hotel were the number of lifts which you could queue up to twenty minutes for and the dining room staff who weren't particularly friendly and often cleared your plate before you finished your food. Cleaning staff were excellent as were the reception staff. Thomson reps here were excellent and worked really hard to keep everyone entertained. San Miguel is a very small resort and i would recommend hiring a car to get out and about as taxis are very expensive. The food was as expected but there was always something for every taste. I know everyone raves about the Chinese restaurant but to me it was just like having a takeaway at home and we found ourselves wandering into the main dining room for dessert. Lastly i would like to compliment all the Thomson staff on the island as we found our departure day to be the same as Spanish General strike. Although we had to leave the hotel three hours earlier than planned we were given a packed lunch and escorted to the airport by one of the entertainment staff and once we reached the airport you could not move without someone being there to help. I would definitly recommend Thomson and this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bally844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just returned today from Ibiza, our first family holiday with our 6 month old baby and had the best time ever. I really don't know what there is to moan about, its a cracking little hotel, great value for money, food drinks location entertainment...everything, all excellent! I don't know if some people just like moaning or book a 3* and expect a 5*, but I would highly recommend this place. Its clean, friendly, very family orientated and the staff from Thomsons were exceptional.
The only niggle is the lifts..yes you do have to wait a while at peak times, but we had no choice with a push chair, if some of the lazy people able to climb the stairs did so and stopped moaning there might not be so much of a problem having to wait!!! Just a thought!
Tips-There is no cash point within walking distance of hotel, so take all the cash you need or you'll need to get taxi to San Miguel which is about 9 euros each way.
We hired a kettle, fridge & steraliser for the babys bottles to make life easier.
Swap shelf in Thomson office great idea (unwanted lilos, suncream etc), so always worth a nosey as you go by.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

booked an all inclusive for a family of four me hubby and two teenagers 17,15 just before we went read a review that really put me off so wasn't expecting much happily suprised.As i always book independentely we took a taxi from the airport to port of san miguel(a small quite location)taxi cost 35€ day time i thought that was ok were trying to get a bus but would have had to change at santa eulalia as the bus directely to sanmiguel only runs on mon & wed and with two very heavy cases and 4 people it was money well spent. Arrived at the hotel about noon oh if you book any of the three hotels known as sanmiguel resort they all have an indiviudual name so i just said sanmiguel hotel taxi driver asked me which one so we went up to the top one firstly (the gallion) not that one so then we tried the next one down and yes that was the one didn't think room would be ready but it was the reception is on floor 8 and are room was floor 8 whch worked out well as the main dining room was floor 8.Room was really good modern and obviously had a resent makeover, bathroom basic but clean and functional. small flat screen telly nice view with being high up.Aircon in room was a little noisey but very much needed and soon got used to it. Beds comfy and the beauty of being on the top floor no one moving furniture at 3a.m !!!!!!! Food really good in dining room also lots of snacks available at various locations you can use all the three hotels great views from the gallion above and great mexican snack bar. Chinese resturant on floor 8 of the hotel but this must be booked so if you like chinese book it on arrival as we got in on the thur even though arrived on sat. The evening entertainment got a great thumbs up but we didn't bother as we liked a walk about after our meal. Met lots of nice people and didn't see any roudyness just couples, & mixed aged families. All the staff were jolly and about the best staff we have encountered. The only thing i could say on a negative vibe is the resort is extreamly quite we knew this so if you like shops this place is not for you i felt very relaxed which is just what i wanted from my hol. The only other thing to mention is some people did experience difficulty with lifts i think that was maily people with push chairs we walked down most of the time and sometimes back up did us all good. So to sum up picturesque quite resort but plenty of hotel entertainment. lovely beach great fun was had by us we bought a loaf everyday to feed the fish what fun!!oh and my 17 yr old loved using the gym.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Me and my partner, 23 & 30 stayed in Hotel San Miguel. We stayed for 1 week mid July 2010. We arrived and were met by the hotel staff on reception, very kind, gave us the information of the hotel and directed us to our room, the room was very nice, clean, large and cleaned every day by the staff - clean towels on request from the cleaners - who were always happy to help.
The hotel is very big, the resurant is on the 8th floor, along with the reception, and the pools and bar is on the 1st floor, so if the lifts wernt working then you had a good old walk - this was the case quite a few times during our stay - which for a couple isnt really an issue, but for familys and people who couldnt walk very well, this service was poor.
The pools are kept lovley, and clean - and there is a pool in the hotel san miguel which is more for the quite life type of people, and in the beach club there was a larger more fun pool that we went to every day - entertainment round the pool, the westen salon which served food all day and drinks.
the food was ok, I am quite picky with food and didnt enjoy it as much as my partner, but you need to remeber - its a 3* hotel - you get what you pay for.

all in all - great hoilday - fantastic staff and evening entertainment for adults and children. food was average, rooms great, pools brill.

there isnt nothing really around this hotel, is more of a stay in and enjoy type of place, the beach is a stones throw from your room, and beautiful. i would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chel_col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

hi :) im 22 i went here with family and one 6 year old

pool- was ok some people let their kids run wild tho,

location -Personally i did not like it it was too far away from everywher i like to go walks round the shops at night u cant do that ther. we hired a car for two days which was not that expensive we went in to san antonio and old town it was very good to get out the complex for a while we stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks which was fae too long 1 week would hav been enough.

food- the main restraunt was ok some days food was ok other days crap. chinese was ok we went twice, saloon bar was not very nice, we went in to san antonio for dinner one nite it was the best meal we had while in ibiza. tip, when u go in to the main restaurant sit near the back wher the sun cant beat down on u VERY warm when ur sitting trying to enjoy your dinner.

entertainment- FAB really good , the reps are brill with the kids our wee one loved it zorro was very good as well u couldnent say a bad word about the entertainment thought it was amazing

bar - could not fine one alcoholic drink that i liked i had coke n fanta for two weeks.the cocktails wer horrible. got sick of drinkin out of plastic cups

beach - was nice out room looked on to it

hotel - was ok we wer on the first floor, air con FAR too loud, beds wer uncomfortable, it got cleaned every second day,

i did enjoy my holiday but it had its good points and bad points i personally would not go back. Our wee girl had a ball made a few friends. also every one was very friendly every one always said hello and good morning.

thanks for reading :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,012 reviews
4.7 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Can Curreu
Can Curreu
#1 of 3 in Sant Carles de Peralta
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar ...
#3 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing