We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel San Miguel Ibiza”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel San Miguel Ibiza”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did like this hotel. The all inclusive option is excellent value for money and so is a no brainier. The main plus is the location. Built into the hillside views from the balcony are quite spectacular. As for the restaurant, I have been in some with more choice but the quality was very good. There are some frozen veg but they tended to be in the kiddies section. Breakfasts were excellent with full English and continental on offer with fruit, cereals and various fruits,bread and rolls available. I enjoyed the speciality evenings, the carvery, seafood and paella nights were the best. We always managed to find a table next to a window to enjoy views of the bay from the eighth floor. Wines in the restaurant were quite drinkable. The Chinese is worth a visit or two but it was not to everyone's taste as choice was limited. The tapa tapa bar was excellent for sangria and tapas before the evening meal but beware the waiter here can be moody and sometimes awkward allowing friends to queue jump unlike the rest of the staff who we found really friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour. There are delightful outside terraces with excellent views where you can enjoy a cocktails, beware as these are very popular with smokers. In the beach club the burger bar,ice cream and popcorn machines appeared to be a hit with the kids and as it was next to the beach I found people taking out food to enjoy on the beach. The beach is wonderful, very soft sand, and large enough to accommodate football, cricket, Boules as well as the sun beds without causing any disturbances. The canoes/kayaks which are part of the all inclusive deal are also worth a go seeing as how others charge 10 euros. The bay is wonderful for a paddle around. The water is safe for swimming but keep an eye on the flags as occasionally the bay is visited by jellyfish and they do sting. The rooms are spacious although ours had too many beds( a double and two singles). Rooms contain safes which are chargeable and air con which is not. Hair dryers and TVs are as standard also we had shower fell in the bathroom along with other toiletries. Beach towels are available for a deposit. Bed linen and bath towels were changed regularly and the room was cleaned every day. There are plenty of sun beds around the pools but there are the occasional early riser depositing towels wherever. The San Miguel hotel pool does not open until 9am and you may find people queuing half an hour before then. I cannot give an opinion on the entertainment as we preferred the quieter terrace bars but they were always well attended so I think it was quite good. There is not much to do around the Bay Area at night unless you want a visit to the Irish bar or the restaurants. If all you want is a chill out or keep children entertained by the kids club then this is the place for you, although having said that there was a beach party during our visit with all the trimmings, stage, DJs,food and drinking bars that rattled the balcony windows until 4am in celebration of saint Miguel. Apart from that it is a sleepy pleasant enough place with pleasant people. For a three star rated hotel it is excellent value for money. Beware if you order drinks like Bacardi and coke or gin and tonic as the measures appear to be on a ratio of 1 to 1. Same with the cocktails as measures of alcohol are much greater than you get back home. Try the champagne cocktail in the babysham glasses (very nice).

Room Tip: Some rooms at the end of rows have enormous balconies. Any room with a sea view will have spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    113
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
128
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

as a previous guest of this hotel and have stayed here several times i came back this year for a two week stay from the 28 aug to the 11th of september 2013 and things had gone bad ,as a guest of this hotel also known as the cartago we pay a higher price than the beach club users yet every night the hotel restaurant was overwhelmed with beach club users as word got around that stay at the beach club and pay less and eat better every night at the cartago ,this put extra pressure on the restaurant manager and chef and staff and made meal times a nightmare ,i and many others felt we were paying for a better hotel and everyone else was benefiting from it ,even talking to loads of club guests they quite freely admitted they booked a cheap place then eat in a better place ,like paying for fish and chips every night then eating at the ritz ,it was that bad even the french guests were complaining to their rep about the restaurant abuse by club users, club users can book at reception to have a meal at the cartago ,but how bad can club be for them to use it breakfast dinner and tea every night ,i talked to the staff and chef and they we very unhappy at the situation they were also put in ,my room was dated and had a old telly and was in need of refurb the bath had pealing enamel and to my luck i found money under the bed along with hair clips and a tissue ,i was quite interested to see what the rooms were like at the beach club as the first choice rep said they were not very good ,so i asked at club reception if i could see one and was shown around by the beach club manager and to my surprise the duplex style rooms were spacious with flat screen tv's and what looked like new bathroom fittings ,and the ground floor rooms were much the same ,this made me and several other guests of the cartago feel quite cheated .in all the years coming here the carpets are still vomit stained and sever doors on many of the floors need replacing as things have been carved in to the .i raised some concerns with the reps and was basically offered a £50 holiday voucher to go away ,some of the bar staff at the cartago and western saloon need to practice customer service skills or even try a smile as they seem to treat customers with contempt ,,yet other staff are wonderful and friendly.the entertainment you can set your watch by its basically butlins style stuff and a kids club this also being the same every year ,one local said hes's heard the same stuff for years and even he would like a change ,i have heaped praise on this hotel before even recomending loads of people to come here but now its just to bad and to avoid it till things improve ,the beach party was fantastic and should of been every night as it was miles better than the same old entertainment ,san miguel is a great place but the hotel is letting its guests down and i have never seen so many unhappy guests before all with bad experiances to share ,such as having to fix their own leaking toilets ,a bath that when you use the shower the wated drains on to the bathroom floor ,jammed patio doors ,getting stuck in the beach lift ,slipping on the wet floors and many other things ,
as i have mentioned i have stayed here many time and gave it 5 stars and recommended to many but now even one star is generous .

Room Tip: avoid the first choice trips as it much cheaper to use public transport and more fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kev g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here end of August/beginning of September for 1 week. Family of 5 with 3 children aged 8-13. Can honestly say that we all had a great family holiday and would definitely return. Booked this about 6 weeks before we travelled mainly because it was about the best deal available for an All Inclusive in the Balearics. Rooms basic but clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Food quality in the restaurant was good - we never had a problem getting a table or with the choice available. Good choice of drinks and ice creams available.

We were pleased we opted to stay in the hotel even though we enjoyed spending all day at the beach club. The beach club was great for families with the pool and lots of activities going on but in our opinion the hotel restaurant and accommodation was better. Lovely location right on the beach. We enjoyed the evening entertainment - would agree with other reviews in that Zorro and the team really do work hard and it was good fun. Plenty of other bar/lounge areas though if you don't want to join in.

All in all we had a great time and felt like we got what we paid for. A 3 star all inclusive family holiday. We have been to other 3 and 4 star all inclusive Thomson/First Choice hotels and to be honest this is as good, if not better in some respects. If you want 5 star luxury then that is what you need to pay for - this does what it says 'on the tin' and we got what we expected. We also met some very nice families and it certainly wasn't 'full' of people drinking all day and letting the children run riot. The majority were friendly, hard working people enjoying themselves on a well earned holiday.

Room Tip: High floor in the hotel with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week in August with my partner and 6 year old son. Upon on arrival we were checked in swiftly and sent straight on our way to our room, grew rather anxious as we walked through the dated and tired corridors but was relived to see the room it's self was very clean only complaint on cleanliness would be the mould in the tiles of the bathroom. The room it's self was very small would have been fine as a double but was very cramped with the 3rd bed squashed in for my son great
views of the beach and the bay.
The pool areas are very clean and nice although the sun beds are very close together and not much space between the end of them and the pool. You do find your self having to fall in line and queue up in the morning to make sure u get a bed as with all hotels u get the selfish people that reserve them all day and use them for an hour at the most if at all. The food in the restaurant was good the usual all inclusive set up with a good choice of fresh vegetables great for my son. Never had any problems getting a table.
The western saloon food was ok for u usual deep fried fast food but can't really complain about that when 3 meals a day are on offer in the restaurant. The staff were ok but we did find them to be a bit more friendly towards the Spanish guests as they was offered ice in there drinks and ours just seemed to be chucked at us with a grunt.
The lifts in the hotel are a problem with myself and my family mostly opting to climb 6 flights of stairs rather than waiting ages for a lift to come then it being to full to get in. The entertainment team is fantastic they work tirelessly throughout the day and night to keep people of all ages entertained. Zorro is the star of the show and his humour can be very risqué. As one night he made some of the men dress up as women and used the term tranny which gave me some very awkward questions to answer from my very inquisitive 6 year old son, and also lead him to ask me in the female toilets if one of the women in there was one of the trannies (swallow me up) so if your uptight or a bit of a prude I'd stay away but myself and my partner found him to be very funny. The brought in entertainment was very hit and miss but the boogie night that the entertainment team run was amazing had a really good time do not miss it. The kids early entertainment was good but the same every night and my son grew bored of it after the 1st 2 nights but he did enjoy a lot of the later evening entertainment. People who moan about noise from surrounding hotels and bars I think are being a little unfair as we only heard it from the neighbouring hotel and as soon as the balcony door was shut u couldn't hear a thing.
The beach to the hotel is lovely and never seemed to be over crowded. A lot of guests got to make use of the free half hour advertised to the pedalos and canoes but be aware when myself and my family went to use it we was told the man who does the free half hour wasn't there that day and we had to pay the €15 for the hours use, in my opinion if its owned by the same person then it should be available all the time.
Not much around the hotel to walk to just a few of the usual gift shops.
The swap boxes are a great idea but iv gotta say I didn't see much swapping going on, on our last evening we put our sons water gun in only to see the maintenance guy walking around with it 5 minutes later and gave it to a Spanish family.
All in all these few minor issues we found did not stop us having a fantastic and relaxing holiday. I'm not the kind of person to repeat a holiday but I wouldn't have any issues to recommend this hotel to friends and family but only for a week I think it would get boring any longer than that. If u pay for 3 star u get 3 star had a good time and came home brown what more
can u ask for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

we have just returned from here. hotel was clean,tidy, a little dated..food was plentiful.kids entertainment was great(nothing for teenagers) the party on the beach went on til 4.45. no sleep at all!! i love music but it started at 10pm..it was booming all night and it is a yearly party there! i was shocked by the amount of people who drink from 10 am, some of their kids just run around, no supervision!screaming in the corridors, by the pool at 12. in the night, so dangerous!!! i would not go here if you dont have kids over 10..its a shame as ibiza is beautiful.. this place only had 3 expensive tacky shops

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocochanel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We took our son, daughter and grandson for a week and had a lovely time. The rooms were clean and spacious plus the balconies were large enough to accommodate all of us on just one if we wished of an evening. Being all inclusive made it so much easier especially for our grandson who loved their non alcoholic cocktails which made him feel very grown up! The family have unanimously voted to return next year. The only disappointment was the Chinese restaurant which we wouldn't bother with again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wrote a review about this complex in May. We liked it so much we returned in August. This time we stayed at the hotel not the beach resort. I was worried that looking at other reviews from peak time last year that we may be disappointed when they are busy. I was nt. It was as good as last time and the hotel even nicer than the beach club. The local childrens entertainers make this place. They are brilliant and remembered my son and made it a special holiday for him. The night entertainment was also good. Some may feel a bit risque at times but I think was fine and very funny. Zorros team are a credit to the place and because of them we will be going again next year.
If being critical I was disappointed some nights with the food at the hotel..... its amazing how many dishes they can do with Chicken!. One night that was virtually all on offer. However other nights and meals made up for this. The hotel is clean. The staff friendly and the whole ambience relaxed. Thank you for another great holiday!

Room Tip: Both hotels in the complex are good but if I had the chose I would always book the Hotel (cartago) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 356Chooch356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
921 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#3 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.6 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
8.9 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Property: San Miguel Hotel
Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing