We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some parts good/some bad”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Got back from a week at the San Miguel Hotel on Wednesday 26/9/2012 and I was not as impressed as some of the reviewers here have stated.First I will start the the overall picture and then move on.

The flights were with Thompson, both on time and no hassle. Transfers went smoothly and the check in was the quickest that I have ever had.

Now the details( bad points)

The room we were assigned to was to say the least crowded, it had a double bed plus two singles and a unit on which the T.V.sat. The unit enroached on the sliding door giving about a foot width to enter/exit the balcony. The balcony was at a higher level than the room so you had to turn sideways to slide in or out. The matress of the double bed was really uncomfortable with spring sticking into your body at every turn. The bathroom was small and functional but deserved a really good deep clean. The balcony was cleaned twice on the week we stayed. Unfortunately the view we had was of the sister complex and the stage were the evening entertainment was held. The entertainment did not go on too long but the Irish bar about 200yds away stayed open until 2am and was very noisy.

The food in the chineese restaurant was terrible, in fact it was the worst chineese meal that I have ever had.

The guests were a mixture of most europian nationalities with mainly Brits and French. Despite signs saying no reserving of sunbeds, no lilows in the pool and no diving all these were ignored, mainly by the Brits. Children were being allowed to run around without supervision both in the lifts and the dining room. There was not a dress code for the evening meal in place and some guests were turning up still dressed in the gear that they had been wearing at the pool 2hrs before.

Now the good bits.

The food was some of the best that I have had in a holiday hotel. Breakfast was a mixture of continental and full english, fresh rolls,warm croissants and cookrd to order omlettes. Lunch was a choice of salads or of four main courses with side of pasta for microwaving. The evening meal was simular to lunch with additions of roast meats,poached whole salmon and cheese boards featuring during the week. Tea,coffee,beer,wine and soft drinks were available throughout all meal services.

The tapas tapas bar was a little haven of peace, a place to stop after sitting by the pool and while you wer on your to get changed.

The bar was large and airey and the wait for drinks was minimal. I do not know where the put all the miserable Spanish bar staff that a lot of people seem to complain about because I have not yet come across them. The staff at this hotel were friendly, attentive and polite doing a difficult job in trying to translate some of the requests that they were asked (does anyone know what a pina colada with a hot milky coffee is called).

The reception was very efficient.

The public spaces were spotless.

Would I go back? doubtful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side, better views and quirter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonsey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 260 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

we stayed in the hotel part as a group of 8. as it was a higher star rating, but after visiting we would have been just as happy to have stayed in the club part, as it was only 1 floor, next door to the pool/eve entertainment/beach, so was easiest to access all that you need. our room was lovely and very clean fresh towels every day bedding twice a week , our only niggle was the shower even tho you had a very good/power shower it seemed a little old. but did the job great. the western saloon's food was really nice yes it was burgers/chips/chicken but the chicken rolls we had were lovely we often had 2 or 3.
the restaurant food could do with a little more variety only 2 main meat dishes and what ever they cooked on the grill (1 meat+1 fish) then salad and veg. but could get a nice meal with the items they had. you were better to buy there cups at 2euros as you got more to drink but we never had a problem getting 4 drinks per adult, ice creams were fantastic loads to choose from as often as you wanted.

the only frustrating part of our holiday was the lifts. only 2 to run between 8 floors unless you got in on 0 or 8 you really struggled to get in the lifts. 0 was to go down to the pools etc 8 was the restaurant. meal times were bad. we was floor 3 so had to wait awhile or even ride the lift til we got the floor we needed. i would not come here in a high season unless it was in the club area. overall it was a really nice holiday would recommend just not in high season unless you don't mind steps. we had to use lifts as my sister is disabled and unable to manage so many steps up and down. beautiful location, sea was lovely and clear huge fish so my husband said as he snorkeled but it did have pebbles after you just walk into the sea for around 2/3 feet so maybe advisable to wear shoes. staff very nice and helpful. reps in resort helpful.
really enjoyed out time here. hope this helps people for future bookings.

Room Tip: club resort rather then hotel. easier for lift access up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandaBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We read a few bad reoorts about the hotel etc but it was recommended to us by thomson.
We had a fantastic 2 weeks and wish we'd been able to stay another week!
The hotel is really clean, very well maintained daily, clean towels daily & beds are made by leaving a tag on the door knob 'Please make up my room' daily if you wish. The staff are really smiley and friendly and very helpful. Our daughter was sick in the night once, the cleaner had no problem taking the bedding away with a sypathetic smile for my daughter, we later realised that within the bedding had been a blanket she has for comfort, the receptionist called the cleaning company and true to her word it was back at the reception desk ready for us to collect that afternoon... you can't ask for more than that!.
Thomson staff on reception & in kids clubs are really friendly and helpful, up beat and lots of fun and love entertaining the kids there's a free club and a payable club @ 4 or 5 euros each day. The hotel entertainment were great. Zorro the main one is really good fun he jokes with everyone with a great team of 2 men and 3 girls Zorro's humour can be close to the bone but your on holiday and its really funny, e.g. a short guy was named smurf but he loved it and it was all taken in the best way as it was meant, people tend to take things more with a pinch of salt on holiday all joining in the fun together! There's daily entertainment and competitions daily and the kids 11 & 8 loved getting involved then a mini disco from 8pm followed by adult entertainment which is fine for the kids also of any age group. Zorro really makes the entertainment and wouldn't be the same without him! Its a really safe/secure area.
This was our first trip to this hotel and we got to know some of the people who have returned year after year and everyone was so friendly, we felt very welcome!
If you want a bed at the hotel pool its an 8am start, earlier for beach club pool
The food was varied and plenty for all tastes even the kids have a mini buffet every day full breakfasts etc - all inclusive is the best! free ice cream - make yourself ice creams or cornetto's magnums or ices from the bars , also serve yourself popcorn . We can't fault it at all!
The resort is quite small with 3 shops and a couple of bars including a late irish bar that is open till the early hours. no disturbances caused.
My only disappointment was that to go shopping you need to go into Ibiza town approx 35 mins bus ride with a lovely marina. however once there lots of shops to browse, including Pacha, Zara, lots of boutiques hippi etc
On the beach there's plenty of sports which is literally outside the complex and beautiful with a cool breeze. Loved it!

Room Tip: The room we had was fine with 1 double bed and 2 singles it was adequate there are larger family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AB_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ive never had to write a review before but please read this if you are contemplating booking your next family holiday at the San Miguel Hotel.I have literally got back 2 hours ago and felt I needed to write this brief review. The location is superb,the beach is stunning,the drive from the airport is fine,excellent weather,Food is brilliant,barstaff really friendly,couldn't fault the entertainment day or night, all in all as a family hotel faultless the kids had a whale of a time.I do have a few negatives,the rooms are tiny and really dated,damaged furniture and even loose railings on my balcony but fair play most of these were resolved within a couple of hours .What I really want to talk about are the "Frenchies".It seems that the French 18-30 mob have decided to use this hotel this season and boy have they taken over.They have monopolised the pool area ,the bar area,they don't believe in queing up for anything,they are loud and rude and generally obnoxious.Complaints were going in thick and fast and allegedly the Hotel was kicking them out and even removing their all-inclusive bands but this still didn't stop them from spraying suntan lotion over the lift area or throwing things in the pool or damaging some of the appliances available to make snacks in the restaurant,or upsetting other guests.I even had to physically threaten four of them who decided that running up and down the 2nd floor that I was staying on in the early hours and throwing wet floor signs about was the norm.I really hope that the Hotel address these issues quickly and robustly and get rid of this loutish behaviour.Speaking to other families that have been here previously this has never happened here before and even they said they wouldn't return again.And what a shame because otherwise its a cracking resort but please take on board what I have ranted on about,it may not even bother you in the slightest but it annoyed the hell out of me!Oh and by the way take your ear plugs because the air conditioning unit in the room is bloody noisy!

Room Tip: Apparently if you book direct with the hotel there are superior rooms available.Excellent views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caravanman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

thiss was our 2nd visit to this resort,and found this visit much more relaxing then the first time,because of the knowing how it all works ect, we had a much nicer room this year, because i emailed hotel about our last years room not being suitable for my kids to share bed because of there ages and different sex! so this years room was perfect over looked beach club pool with a double bed with 2 singles and also a seperate bedroom,,

Food was lovely but becomes very repetitive which is to be expected when you are there 2weeks! my only fault is the sam old same old entertainment! would be nice to see something a bit different, i would visit again but being this is our 2nd time abroad im hoping to venture on new grounds next year!!

Room Tip: email hotel first telling them your family size ages and sex's,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was a bit sceptical going to this hotel with some of the reviews I had read about the Hotel San Miguel but myself and family (husband and our two girls14 and 10) had a fantastic time. The hotel is in an excellent spot, so picturesque. We stayed in the hotel and always got a sunbed in the morning. We usually got there about 9ish and got a bed. Although a good tip is if you like the beach go there in the morning then you can get a bed at the hotel pool around 3 as quite often people had moved on then and we stayed there until about 6.45, the pool closes at 7pm. We never used beach club pool although the girls used it a few times. The food in the restaurant has a great choice, given that they are trying to please quite a few different nationalities, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes it does become repetitive but then so does my food at home! The Chinese was excellent and the Western was okay if you like burgers etc. We never used the Tapas bar as we were quite happy with the main hotel restaurant. The room is basic and air conditioning is noisy but to be honest after the first couple of nights you get used to it, and we definitely needed it. The room was cleaned every day with towels changed also. The staff were friendly and we had no problems with them at all. The entertainment was great, we loved it. We used the kayaks too which was great. Transport can be a bit of an issue in that San Muguel is very quiet and buses only go to Ibiza Town, San Antonio and Santa Eulalia on certain days, but if you like to go for a week's holiday and lie by a pool it is perfect. Overall it was a fantastic holiday and hope to visit again in a couple of years.

Room Tip: We were in room 409 which was looking onto the pool but I think rooms like 600 - 610 had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jogranatbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just arrived back from two weeks in the Hotel San Miguel here is my honest review

Hotel - the hotel is perhaps a little tired cosmetically, however it is spotlessly clean and is well maintained by the hard working cleaning staff. Towels are changed every day. There is air conditioning in your rooms, but they re-create the sound of an aeroplane setting off, no joke!!!

There are two pools, one in the hotel and one in the beach club. But be warned, you have to be down at the pool area around 6.30 to get a bed, and the only areas free are towards the outer edges of the pool area. Beds are actually reserved poolside when people return from the local alcohol establishment(Caseys) around 2.30/3.00am
Moreover you are moved quite unceremoniously from your sun loungers around 6pm to accomodate chairs and tables for the evening entertainment starting at 8.00!!! As a family we liked the late afternoon/early evening sun but were not afforded the opportunity to enjoy it. This was reversed around 11pm when the entertainment finished as staff would make you leave your table to clean up in readiness for the early morning sunbed dash

Location - suburb sea views from the hotel, the beach club has views over tennis courts or pool, however if you have a pool view be prepared to be awakened fron1.00am by sun loungers being dragged around the pool side. San Miguel as a resort is very small with just three shops and two bars. Nonetheless the area is safe and clean and relaxing, with beautifull sea and beach(a little shingly) with a multitude of water sports, infact the hotel offers free use of kayaks.

Food - not a substantial choice but the food was really good, warm and well presented. You could eat at the Chinese restaurant, which was quality authentic Chinese food, the tapas bar and the Western Saloon for snacks such as burgers, chips and chicken strips. You are allegedly limited to four drinks from the bars in the hotel and beach club but there were many who were returnees to the hotel who actually brought their own custom made trays which could hold upto TEN drinks, not too good if your stood in the que behind two or three of these people!!

Staff - the staff are typically Spanish, some very miserable and some just miserable. One are two of the waitress cracked a smile occasionally, unless it was just wind. But on the whole the staff were what you would expect from mid range Spanish hotel

Entertainment - well, where do I start. Zorro the head entertainer was actually quite funny, then he would repeat his one liner, then repeat it again a couple of more times throughout the holiday. He was also close to the bone with his humour using sexist, racist and sexuall inuendo's throught his well rehearsed routine. Not the humour for my 12 year old daughter to listen to. Perhaps with zorro touching 40 the time is right for a younger and more enthusiastic person to take over.
Many of the quests were there for there 4th, 5th, 6th,7th and more consecutive year. The clientele was a cross between Pheonix Nights and a Northern working mens club. Sadly if you were not part of this returning click you never got a look in if you wanted to participate in the evening entertainment. Get a life, there's a world of hotels out there!!! Zorro, whilst being the head entertainer had little patience for the young children, constantly telling them to "sit down" . Thomsons are also being undercut by Zorro's trips, mirroring there own but a little cheaper. He also has a bouncy casle pool side in the evening charging €2.50 for ten mins. Bit of a rip off. The Spanish economy would quickly recover if Zorro's side earnings were declared!!!

I don't want to sound a misery as the hotel was really good and we made some nice friends and i feel that it is only the entertainment which lets the hotel down. Would I return? Not next year but if and when the entertainment is revamped and refreshed we would definately return

Room Tip: Hotel section of the complex has superb sea views
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,010 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
8.3 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
365 reviews
8.9 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#2 of 13 in Es Canar
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing