We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, one of our favourites.”
Review of Fontenario

Fontenario
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Espiche
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, one of our favourites.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Food is delicious and the service is exceptional. It's well worth a trip out to Espiche.

I'd recommend the Fish & Shellfish Cataplana.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    18
    7
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Don't miss out if visiting the Lagos area, make a special trip out to this lovely restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great food and good value, the service from Debbie and her daughter is fab and they make you feel really welcome. We have been visiting on and off for 14 years and never had a bad experience. Might be nice if they were to do a few daily specials but there isn't a negative thing to say about our visits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
148 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A little gem off the beaten track”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely family run restaurant located in the little village of Espiche a few kilometres West of Lagos. Always visit when we are staying in Lagos and always have had a great meal. Service from Debbie and her daughter is very friendly. Try the chateaubriand if there are 2 of you or the fillet of lamb - absolutely beautifully cooked. One small negative is that it is on the expensive side by comparison to your usual Portugese restaurants but well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowtietowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
353 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fantastic again”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

A group of 5 and it was excellent. Starters of soups and pate were very well received. Mains of duck, mixed meat skewers, pork fillet and chateaubriand were spot on. Ice cream specials and amaretto strawberries and cream to finish. 5 beers and a bottle of white for €25 a head including a tip. 3rd visit and this place has to be amongst the best in the Algarve. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spongesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good fish stew for 2”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice local restaurant. The playground we had heard about was just a slide and two bits of broken rope that presumably used to have a swing on the end but nevertheless they were very welcoming to our two children and didn't noticeably blink when we entered with a 4-mth-old. The other diners appeared to be regulars. Attentive service, very nice mixed seafood stew for 2 people. We ordered 2 of 4 covers and they brought all 4, not sure why, but at 3 Euros not a big deal.

The local beer was very nice, didn't catch the name of it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontenario also viewed

 

Been to Fontenario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing