We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would love to get back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would love to get back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Situated in South Goa, at a superb location, nestled between the sal river and the sea, step out of the hotel and you are on the beautiful Cavelossim beach, the resort is large well maintained and clean and not a toilet as remarked in an earlier review, breakfast is good, they only serve veg food though. The rear side of the hotel offers a beautiful river side view, they staff is courteous and are willing to assist at any hour. The rooms are spacious and well maintained, and offer good value for money. Well i'm looking forwards to get back to the Byke old anchor with my family and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 607 onward towards the rear side of the resort offer a great view of the Riverside, really tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank rohitk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    73
    38
    70
See reviews for
136
92
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

it was a really nice place, nice hotel))) i enjoyed my staying there from 22nd till 28th of March, this year, i have wonderfull river view, breakfasts were really nice, and service was good) a really nice place, nice hotel))) i enjoyed my staying there from 22nd till 28th of March, this year, i have wonderfull river view, breakfasts were really nice, and service was good)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miagomild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

the whole place is a toilet we checked in went to room it wasnt clean from last people dirty sheets on bed floor dirty there is no wardrobe in the room to hang clothes. staff are not very nice they all think you are russian one day a member of staff was walking towards us and he spat on the floor right in front of us cockroaches in the room all the paths are cracked. we didnt use any of the faccilites pool is dirty wouldnt eat there if they paid me. do not go here we have been going to goa for years and would never go near that hotel again

Room Tip: dont go to any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goosegreen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cavelossim hotels

Cherpalcheri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Service is poor.Hotel is very big.Rooms are spacious..but old building.....rooms are not kept very clean.Opt this hotel if you can't get any other hotel in Goa.The only advantage is that it is very near to Cavelossim Beach.I won't select this hotel again for my next trip to Goa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaviCherpalcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khmelnitskiy, Khmel'nyts'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

hotel placed near the sea -- it's all good things.
terrible service: noboady understand english or russian before you give them one baks :) they could to lost roomkey, or to forget some bed-sheet change, or something else.
wi-fi you'd have ONLY on swimming pool or on reception-holl, but it would't work good.
vegan food surprised me.

Room Tip: just select another hotel upstear rooms're some better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrinSivak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms are good in size, neat and tidy , bathroom average , very near to beach, Food is very good for vegetarian and Jains , Staff including front office is very ill trained . Service is very poor both in room and restaurant

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niraj_surana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was my third visit to Old Anchor (now Byke resort).
Repeated visits not because I was overwhelmed by their hospitality but only to recover the yearly maintenance cost I pay as a timeshare member.
As I had written in my earlier review, this place has everything to develop into a potential 5 star resort.
The Resort is located on an excellent plot with river face on one side & the clean & calm cavellosim beach just a few feet away.
The Resort has been conceptualized properly - enough open spaces, sufficiently large swimming pool, well spaced apartments.
I was optimistic when I heard that the resort has been renovated and is being operated by new management & therefore planned a third visit to this place during Diwali 2012. Booking wasn't an issue and it was promptly done.
With confirmed booking in my hand I was expecting a quick entry to my room. I took me more than 15 mins to draw the attention of the executives at reception desk. They were busy arguing with other guests, who were also carrying confirmed booking.
Then I was told that the rooms are being cleaned and it will take another 30 mins. After 40 mins when I again approached I was told it shall take another 30 mins. I told them politely that i don't require the rooms to be cleaned and I shall make an entry & clean kit myself. Then they came out with the real story, they had allocated the rooms to other guests and now they were requesting them to vacate. Finally I got entry into my room 3 hours after my entry inside the resort. I was told that I was lucky & that I should be thankful since there were others who were forcefully given accomodation in alternate resort.
After rennovation rooms are in good condition (i wonder how long they would last as the fittings seem to be cheap). However i had no problem in my stay (last time the condition was really horrible).
Veg food at Goa - not easily digestible, however we dont mind if the management gets sufficient veg clients. Nonveg tourists can always step outside the resort & plenty of restaurants & shacks are available.
Positives - Again location - this resort really enjoys the best location & as i said earlier the layout has been beautifully conceived.
Sincerely hope that the new management instills professionalism in the operation - this has a potential to be developed into an excellent 5 start resort.

Room Tip: Ensure that you are booked in the rennovated rooms. Rooms on 1st floor offer better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
3.2 mi away
Varca Palms Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Old Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Property: The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Address: Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Salcette, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#5 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Old Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first ever Resort in South Goa Old Anchor has cast its spell on one and all. Here, from dawn to dusk, you can see the earth & the sea resting in one another's arms & dreaming of waves, tides, clouds, sands & lush green palms. Where you can succumb to timelessness with no schedule to follow except those set by the tide. Goa echoes with the magic of its natural panoramic beauty, beaches temples and churches with their distinct style of architecture, colorful festival, a rich cultural atmosphere and above all friendly and warm people. Silver sands, cool sea breeze, the parties at the shacks, water sports, swimming with the Dolphins or a lazy cruise down the river, what ever makes your holiday. Goa has it all. And there’s no better place to drop anchor in Goa than at The Byke Old Anchor Resort. You have the river on one side, a pool in the middle and the sea on the other side. Invigorating warm sun above and cool green shades below. The resort has 240 Deluxe bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your The Byke Old Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Old Anchor Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing