We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outing with friends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outing with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was the first outing with a group of bigger than 10 friends for me!!! and it was amazing!!! the place is a nice one they have nice villa style of rooms where almost 8 ppl can fit into!!!! which is an amazing site..... although we took two rooms we used to hang out in one and it was very comfortable and cozy in the nights!!!! the service was quite good.... we cannot expect fast service here as the property is a vast one!!!! the only drawback is that it was very very far from the main beaches!!!!

Room Tip: The villas are nice and if you like walking around the property choose one which is at the end!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hathirohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    73
    39
    70
See reviews for
136
93
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kandivali, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a memorable trip of Goa, thanks to the Byke and especially Ms. Lavina. The hotel is located in a very peaceful place and has its own private beach and water sports. The hotel has very good rooms - large, spacious and clean. Rooms have its own kitchen area and a drawing room. The service was very good. Staff was very cordial and Ms. Lavina made sure that our stay was excellent. She is very courteous and forthright in guidance and advice. Will surely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhumika_Parekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel only because all the other Hotels in South Goa were full due to Goa Ad Festival. The 2 nights I stayed there, my room was never made up. The food is vegetarian and the breakfast was ridiculous. The bed was hard and was stinking. I am sure there were bugs in the blanket. The room was shabby and the toilet was old and broken. Would suggest to avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanjeevprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cavelossim hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Usually people give a bad & biased review for a place with a terrible service experience. But how do you not give a resort where the property itself is appalling a review which cant even be considered to rate?!

The property is huge...upon entering, you are amazed by the main resort building which is the shape of a cruise vessel. Dont fall for that yet. You are greeted with a cold welcome by the staff who struggle to find your room keys and show you away to the most deteriorating rooms.(Since i travelled in a large group I inspected atleast 7 rooms all of which were ugly, wearing paint, cheap toilet kit, plumbing gone awry, no room service (in room telephones dont work) and numerous others.

I didnt know this place was pure-vegetarian. The biggest let down, when you are in Goa and expect to have the finest sea-food. To be fair with the hotel, of course we didnt check that before. But even though, their breakfast was anything but appetising. Stayed for 3 days and the breakfast buffet menu was unchanged. Oily medu vada, stale bread slices, frozen butter cubes and jain pav bhaji for breakfast!

On return, staff was most unhelpful with arranging for a cab for the group. Claiming no responsibility of arranging for a reliable airport transfer.

Book this property at your own risk. Byke is doing more damage to its Matheran property but associating itself with this shameful Goa resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ezeego1

Helpful?
2 Thank zubinnalawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We (6adults and 5 childrens) enjoyed our stay last week. The location of the resort is very
good, front side it is Cavelossin beach and back side its river. the rooms are spacious, neat
and clean. The food - veg (jain also) was very much good - different varieties - good service.
The front office manager Lavina madam was very much helpful . Overall good experience -
good hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms in "B" category r good for a couple and 1 or 2 childrens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked a standard room at the Byke Old Anchor for two nights through Makemytrip.com. On arrival the reception treated us like unwanted guests once they knew we had booked through makemytrip.com. We were made to wait over an hour to check in during which we were told that Byke had issues with Makemytrip so we were being used to drive home a point. Despite several calls to Makemytrip.com, they didnt bother to call us back. Finally, we were allowed to check in after speaking to someone from the Byke management.

The hotel currently under renovation leaves much to be desired. Our room was poor - paint was peeling off in one place, shower curtain had black spots on it, the pillow covers were well worn out, the glass in one of the windows was cracked, the fridge was ancient and rusty. The pool was not clean and little mossy bits lined its walls. Despite several children running around, there were wires and loose ends left unattended around the hotel property.

The rest of our stay was ok, the best part of the stay was breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Athitidevobhavah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

had been the family it is above average the resort was totally empty. leaving fly behind and going out seems scary. they need to do up the resort the + points was their breakfast it was good.

Room Tip: far away from panji even to Margao is around 12KM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xyz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
3.2 mi away
Varca Palms Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Old Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Property: The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Address: Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Salcette, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Old Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first ever Resort in South Goa Old Anchor has cast its spell on one and all. Here, from dawn to dusk, you can see the earth & the sea resting in one another's arms & dreaming of waves, tides, clouds, sands & lush green palms. Where you can succumb to timelessness with no schedule to follow except those set by the tide. Goa echoes with the magic of its natural panoramic beauty, beaches temples and churches with their distinct style of architecture, colorful festival, a rich cultural atmosphere and above all friendly and warm people. Silver sands, cool sea breeze, the parties at the shacks, water sports, swimming with the Dolphins or a lazy cruise down the river, what ever makes your holiday. Goa has it all. And there’s no better place to drop anchor in Goa than at The Byke Old Anchor Resort. You have the river on one side, a pool in the middle and the sea on the other side. Invigorating warm sun above and cool green shades below. The resort has 240 Deluxe bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your The Byke Old Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Old Anchor Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing