We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Safe place for couples…”
Review of Dona Sa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Sa Maria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent & Safe place for couples…”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Very good place for couples… who likes silent environments…
Dona Sa Maria is a good resort , you feel very secure and value for money… but only thing is this resort is bit far from city you should hire a bike or car for your sight seen in Goa that will be arranged by hotel management. Food is very good… Behavior of the management is much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    62
    18
    12
    14
See reviews for
32
129
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We too visited the Dona Sa Maria in Tamborim during April’10. This hotel is very basic, but clean, bedding & towels changes every other day, all which was, describes by the travel agents. Brilliant location for a quite, relaxing & peaceful holiday away from it all - bliss, but still within walking distance (50mins) or a short taxi ride to the slightly busier resort of Cavilosim. Local beach was a nice 20 min stroll to the right of the hotel. Go to Travellers Inn beach shack (1st shack you’ll come to), best food in Tamborim & never had an upset stomach once ;-). Food at Hotel was edible but not very exciting; better if they change their chef next season, more guests might eat at hotel. For food visit Casmy’s restaurant (turn right outside of hotel & follow road for 0.5 mile Casmy’s on left on the bend) & see Ida the owner & her daughters, fabulous food & lovely homely feel, Ida & her family’ll welcome you with open arms, great food, big portions & much cheaper that the hotel. The hotel bar was closed relatively early compared to UK standards, but you are in the middle of the countryside in a tranquil setting in India, what do people expect, night clubs, raves & neon lights – go to Malia if that’s the case?*?
We have been to India numerous times at the same time of year (hottest time) always had AC & this is 1st time without it however the fan was adequate, you can pre-book a room with AC if you need it at a small fee (take ear plugs if you are easily disturbed by the sound of a low motor from the air con.). Laundry service was 1st class & only about 25pence per shirt, laundry came back next day washed, cleaner that we can get our laundry at home, ironed & neatly folded. Back to accommodation - hotel did lack a little in atmosphere however, on the whole you pay for what you get, if you want 5* accommodation & comforts go elsewhere. Hire a bike for a few days to see more of the area, see Joe for your hire, 200 rupees (£3.12p) a day all in! Petrol bought from local houses & shops @ 60 rupees per litre bottle.
We enjoyed our stay so much, the week we got home we booked straight back up to go stay in the same hotel same time next year. Great base & cheap enough to use as a base so you can still afford to go travelling for a few days returning to Doan Sa Maria.
PS don’t forget your torch if leaving the hotel at night, as roads are dark, also due to numerous power cuts – seriously watch out for the snakes, pigs, piglets, water buffalo, dogs, cats, rats & massive bats!
Met some great people at the hotel who were brilliant company (Accident prone Ash, Jamie, Dawn & Trevor), had a few sad persistent moaners complaining about anything & everything wanting champagne service but only willing to pay beer money! Don’t let the minority put you off staying here, many people come back to the same hotel once or twice every year & have been doing so for many years, I will say its great for couples but not brilliant for families – met our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

we went to the dona sa maria from the4th of april til the 25th as we were stuck here for an extra week due to the volcano, not anything to do at this hotel unless you hire a scooter or get a taxi, the hotel charges extras for your meals unless you are eating the absolute basics!! when you can actually eat out for half the price, at one point they ran out of beer and didnt restock!!! the bar was closed come 11.30 at night where at that point the owner would come down and tell you off if you were enjoying yourself!! the rooms were very basic but quite clean but we had no air conditioning which we felt that in that heat is needed, the fan in the room was very noisy and kept you awake at night, we also had lots of powercuts and at some point in the night everyone in the hotel suffered without the fan for a couple of ours in extreme heat,this was due to the lazy owner not getting out of his bed to switch the generator on, we didnt even want to try to eat the meals in the hotel due to us seeing a waiter dipping his finger in food several times that he was on his way to serving!!! we loved the the destination but would not ever be using the hotel again in future it was very very basic and didnt have a very friendly feel to it at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Goa. It was our fist time in India, and indeed our first long-haul trip together. We found the hotel and the staff to be excellent. The rooms were clean and spacious. There was no a/c in our room but the ceiling fan kept the room at a nice temperature. The best thing about our trip however was the staff. The owner Sarafino and the rest of the staff were so friendly and helpful, going out of there way on many occasions to help us.
We also like the location of the hotel, situated off a quiet road outside Cavalossim. Both beach and restaurants are within walking distance (restaurants approx. 5 mins. and beach 10-15 mins) but the hotel food is also very nice and the pool is a good size. We preferred to hire a moped which enabled us to travel easily between different beaches and towns along the coast.
On a few occasions we explored other parts of Goa, staying in beach huts etc. but always looked forward to returning to the comfort of Dona Sa Maria.
In summary, Dona Sa Maria is an excellent hotel. Its quite small which gives a good balance of a friendly, almost family atmosphere mixed with the privacy, comfort and excellent staffing one would expect from a larger hotel. Our stay there certainly contributed to a perfect honeymoon. We hope to return to India in the near future, using this hotel as our main base.
Paula & Mike

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

changed towels and bedding every day ,very friendly staff, food very good would go again, taxi to next resort 250 ruppies, when you get a taxi from another resort back to hotel always ask how much then if more than you should pay, tell the taxi man and walk to the next taxi and ask again barter for the taxi dont just get in always ask first, its a bit dearer at night for a taxi, addaptors for your plugs are the europe type with the round pins they are loose but they work ok, beach a very good walk away, sea is a bit dangerous, there are life gaurds on the beach, the pool area is very good , you do need mousquito repelant, as my partner got bit about 40 times, but i did not get bit once,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephensheffield10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Arrived after slight flight delay (snow at Manchester airport) and had to wait an hour or so before room was ready. First impression of the room was not good i.e. very basic and a long list of rules. But it was clean and we were tired - within a day we'd relaxed into the place, it is a budget option after all!
Location is a little way out of Cavelossim, took us about 45 mins to walk by road to the centre, but there is a lot of wildlife to see nearby and it's very peacefull in the country. You could walk to the beach in 10 minutes (by climbing over a gate and crossing the disused airfield) but it was more like 20 mins to get to the shacks at Carmona. Breakfast is exceedingly basic but you could get eggs etc if you paid a bit more. I was glad I had taken my own filter and coffee though!!
Half board comprised 235 rupees towards your evening meal - sometimes we ate there sometimes not - food was good - or at least the indian and goan dishes were - ask them to make it spicy if that's what you like or they dumb it down to suit a bland european palate!
As I said before, the rooms are basic but clean, no aircon but there is a ceiling fan, towels and sheets are clean but well worn and changed every other day.
The pool and bar area was nice to relax in, no entertainment as such but some of the "regulars" organised quizes to raise money - this year they'd raised enough to pay for schooling for 5 local kids and for an electric water pump at the village well.
The stars of this place though are the staff. With the exception of the night man (who also "greeted" us on arrival) they were all very friendly, cheerful and helpful.
If you need to hire a scooter or motorbike, go and see Joe, turn left out of the gate and he's at the first house you come to on the left - he also has a stock of petrol if you need to fill up.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank backnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
5.6 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
1.6 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
895 reviews
5.9 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 38 in Salcette
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sa Maria

Property: Dona Sa Maria
Address: Tamborim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dona Sa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Sa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sa Maria Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing