We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Leela in Goa is paradise, a place to come and relax and pamper yourself. The rooms are beautiful designed, the bathrooms are massive. The Rooms/Villas are all build around a lake, so you can sit on your balcony and relax with some beautiful views, the wild life is spectacular. Housekeeping are flawless. The restaurant serves great food, the breakfast buffet selection is fantastic. For dinner I would suggest going to the al carte restaurant rather than the buffet, the selection is good, but the al Carte menu is better. We didn't make it to the riverside restaurant. I would highly recommend this resort if you need some RnR, Both the Spa and Saloon offer a good range of treatments, the masseurs and beauticians that looked after me were all very professional and really good, I felt like a new person after the pampering. The beach is beautiful lots of sun loungers to sit on under umbrellas and relax under. All members of staff are really attentive. The distance from the resort to Goa is about 40 minutes, the hotel will gladly organise taxis for you and confirm the prices for you. I have 1 negative points, when checking in, ask about the mode of transport you will return to the airport in coach or car. There is nothing wrong with the coach at all, but it will give you a better understand on the urgency of your check out. We thought it was just us again, so thought we would be in a private car, the coach was not mentioned, better to know.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToryCassells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very pleased to know that you overall had an enjoyable stay and your detailed comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated.

Your constructive feedback has also been noted.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a westernised hotel with all the luxuries and mod cons you would expect of a truly top of the range hotel. I spent a fantastic week here. Delicious food. Lovely room with beautiful view. The bathroom was huge. Bath, separate shower and two sinks. There was also a covered terrace at the end of the room with sliding windows and a day bed. Luxury! Stunning grounds, beautifully maintained with lots of exotic plants.
The only downside is that I can't really claim to say that I saw much of 'India' in that the hotel was much what you would expect of a top of the range hotel anywhere in the world. The beach adjacent to the resort is glorious though. Quiet and unspoilt. Lovely to be able to pick up towels and a sun lounger down there. Pool is also scrupulously kept and a lovely environment.
We had delicious buffet breakfast everyday. Everything you can imagine available! Ate a couple of nights in the hotel and a couple of times locally. Fisherman's Wharf restaurant is a few steps away from the hotel gates and we had several divine seafood meals there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very pleased to know that you overall had an enjoyable stay and your detailed comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is an absolute paradise! The staff is very friendly and eager to help.

Breakfast buffet is by far the best one I have seen in any 5 star resort for a long time!! Free shuttle to the airport is a bonus and makes you return to the airport hassle free.
The swimming pool can get a bit too busy with a lot of families and we use to go to the beach more often which is very tranquil with nice cocktail bar.

We stayed in room with separate room/balcony- lake view which was fab!

If ever in Goa again, would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: lake view with balcony is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We combined a holiday with our children along with a destination marriage. My wife and I were impressed by the rooms, hotel, food, service and the wonderful helpful staff in the health club. The icing on the cake was the well maintained 12 hole Par 3 Executive Golf Course - they provide the clubs, balls and tees. The beach is one of the best in Goa - the white sand as well as the lack of crowds makes it as perfect as it can get. They have a wonderful swimming pool at just the right temperature and the bar next to it was great. There were always loungers available.The Restaurant had one of the best selection of buffet breakfasts we have had anywhere in the world. The rooms were large and well serviced. The marriage was handled beautifully and all round it was a memorable experience. We shall definitely come again with our family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SundeepKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you and your family had a memorable stay and your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wife and I came here to start our Indian vacation. One of the best resorts we have seen and it compares favorably against the St Regis in Bora Bora and the Four Seasons in Maui (rated in the top 5 hotels in the world). The architecture is awe inspiring and the statues and art work are breathtaking. Its like a museum set in paradise.

The hotel had almost perfect service and all the finer points were hit by this resort. I also like when the executives of the hotel take the time to meet the guests. Shows that he is one of the people and not too busy to address issues that may come up. This is what this hotel did when we checked in.

The hotel provided a private shuttle for my wife and I directly from the Goa airport. It is a long drive to the hotel from the airport but away from the crowds.
It was early in the morning but the hotel was ready for us.

The one thing I was a tad unhappy about was the cost point. The room and service are without reproach. However, we got in at 7 30 AM and we didnt want to wait until 3 to check in. So they asked me to pay for a half day of the room. Now, I did it and was happy we had the room. But a nice gesture would have been to give us the half day since they had open rooms. And the nighly cost was more than Bora Bora and Bali for comparable hotels.

The food was amazing. I loved the breakfast spread moreso than anywhere else I have eaten. North Indian, South Indian and other cuisines were all presented in a fresh environment and the staff were terrific in their service.

I especially enjoyed the dosa service and the young man who was very enthusiastic. He also remembered my name and was always keen to ask simple questions about America.

Just so everyone is aware, the water quality and sand color are not like the south Pacific, Bali or Hawaii. The resort's appeal is the grounds, the pool, the service and the lagoon living.

We certainly want to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasGuyinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and services as well as your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here and got a very good price. The room was really huge and we had a balcony that faced out into the hotel lake, which was really nice. The bathroom was clean, and the bed and room was spotless. There are golf buggies that collect you from your room whenever you need to go somewhere. When we arrived, we had flowers put around our necks and we were given a welcome coconut to drink - very thoughtful! The hotel also has it's own private beach that we went to a few times. We ate in the restaurant too but found it quite expensive - there are some nice restaurants within walking distance that we preferred to go to, especially the one by the sea - can't remember it's name but it's pretty much right outside the hotel. We visited the Radissom and also the Holiday Inn in Cavelossim before we chose this hotel, and this one outstripped both of the other 2 on every level : rooms, grounds, setting, etc. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. It's in a lovely peaceful part of Goa, and it's so easy to get around if you hire a scooter, which we did from someone nearby for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enchantedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fabulous hotel. Voted one of the best in the world. President Clinton stayed here on a visit to Goa. The rooms are large and luxurious set around lagoons. All areas of the hotel are luxurious, the pool is stunning and plenty of comfortable loungers. There is a 9 hole golf course, and of course a children's area and pool. The beach is well kept with sun beds and umbrellas. Food in the several restaurants was excellent although expensive. Small town a short walk or bus ride away with plenty of shops, Banks and Restaurants. River trips ,and sea trips available. The Indian staff were all fantastic. So kind, willing and helpful. Only downside, Russians.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackieNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and your comments have already been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
6.1 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
24.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,521 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,669 reviews
13.1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: $236 - $1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing