We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel...”
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel...”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our stay at the Leela was awesome. We signed for their meal plan and gosh, all I remember of the vacation was the fantabulous breakfast/lunch/dinner and the sea....

The lagoon view room was awesome with many birds right outside out room. The ocean was great, with warm water and a spectacular beach.

The only little thing is that its about an hour or sp south of the airport on a curvy road - make sure you get an Innova or something similar, otherwise you'll feel every curve the car takes...The somewhat far off location is what makes it very quiet and secluded.

Our hotel host, Vasudev was a really great guy - he took care of our onboarding and exit in a second - pretty flawless.

You will get spoilt by the Leela - it raises the bar for where you will stay next.

Hoping to get back again next year....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desihometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    465
    117
    44
    32
See reviews for
689
965
46
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Pros: Beautiful surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Attentions to detail was very high as well.
Cons: Perfect, were thinking of going again very soon!!!
Location: The point of this locations is to get away from everything, we enjoyed the resort that much we didn't really go out much.
Been to many 4* + Hotels in Mauritius, Caribbean, Egypt, Cape Verde and other parts of India. But nothing compares to the level of service and quality we got at the Leela Goa, we spent 7 nights wish we had booked a few more. Food was amazing and catered well for vegetarians, unlike some of the other hotels we've been to before in other countries. I also think its very good value for money compared to some of the other long haul destinations we've been to as well.

Room Tip: tale a personal suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishav b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at The Leela and loved it. We were originally booked to stay at the Taj Exotica but had our booking bumped when the hotel was taken over by a corporate event. Having now stayed at The Leela, we are so pleased that this happened because we couldn't have wished for a better hotel. We just wanted to relax and chill for 7 days after a week touring in other parts of India, and the beautiful gardens, beach etc at The Leela was the perfect environment. It is about 2km out of Cavelossim but that was not a problem as firstly we didn't want to be near the town and it is only a cheap taxi ride away, plus there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel that it is not necessary to go into Cavelossim.

We only ate one night at the hotel, which was very nice but very expensive. All the other nights we tried the varying restaurants around and although some are pretty basic we had absolutely no problem with Delhi belly. In fact all the food we ate was absolutely superb - freshly cooked, and delicious.

The staff were extremely friendly and professional, from the gardeners to the reception staff.

The reason why I hadn't chosen The Leela in the first place was because of its close proximity to the river and mention of ponds around the hotel, as I was concerned about mosquitoes. However, the river is not beside the hotel and is extremely clean anyway with lots of restaurants alongside it, plus we had absolutely no problem with mosquitoes and the water gardens are stunning.

We would definitely love to go back to The Leela, Goa.

Room Tip: We did see one style of room that didn't seem to have a balcony, which would be a shame not to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We are regulars to south Goa on business/social trips, on this occasion we were staying in Cavelossim and decided to have dinner at The Leela. As one guest writes below Leela is devoid of any culture especially for such a large establishment, this is rather true. We ordered drinks at the open lounge area, if you haven’t been here this is an exceptional area but its let down by lack of social ambiance, perhaps all guests were sleeping at dinner time or had gone out.

Excellent bar service with complementary selection of nibbles provided with drinks whilst listening to the Tabla duo.

We were having Indian so walked through the buffet area (noted flies on deserts and pointed that out to girl who was escorting us, she just politely smiled). The restaurant wasn't busy two couples plus us two and a table of four who were sitting outside but were having a buffet. Rather surprisingly the simple order of mixed kebabs and baby sweetcorn took a long time, soon after we were asked if we were ready for mains !! ah no. My wife did not like them as they seem to be undercooked, the baby sweetcorn was deliciously described but it came out with thick batter and without any yogurt dressing, I am heavily into food but the slow service and food not as described is awful regardless of if your Indian or another nationality.

As this is a review, the issues are; cold plates are being served to guests, food is barley hot, the delicately battered corn is covered in thick pakora batter, no yogurt on the salad, kebabs are okay but not fantastic, the mains were disappointing as the starters, since when did all dishes have cream ? the buffet may have been better, minus the fly trodden deserts.

I did complain to the waiter who called the manager, and guess what he called the chef over. As the chef was there we had a chat about the quality of his food, I did mention there was no yogurt on the dish, his answer was the yogurt comes from outside and is sour these days, what really chef ? so The Leela can’t make the simplest of the Indian ingredients (yogurt). The chef was rather apologetic and offered us further dishes which we declined, we were not there for free food. I did inform the chef about some restaurants in London I am associated to and how we serve food. This is not 5* food, I suggest dress down and eat in a shack instead.

With some thought I am rating the service average & food poor, I am sorry if this reflects on your overall score, its great if your quality has improved since.

Booked 28th Feb for Dinner only, your Chef has my name. “The Leela” please leave an email address if you want to discuss quality of food and service, I hope it improves, perhaps next time can spend some time with your chef if you allow.

Room Tip: Did not stay here, my comments are on food only. See other hotel reviews for accommodation. btw don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aro-rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your visit to The Leela Goa.

We are really sorry for your dining experience at our resort and have already taken up your comments with my team for corrective.

Thank you once again for your valuable inputs and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive impression.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

A multiple star beach resort which boasts of beautifully and painstakingly grown and maintained foliage and rare plants and has a beautiful entrance lobby having an imposing statue of Karnataka NANDI and typical CHIDAMBARAMNATRAJA artistically posted doesn't have any cultural programme for the guests in the evening, is a pity. The santoor and tabla player are just an apology.
The Beach front is kept clean but the staff is more keen in either directing the guests to the beach shack " SUSEGATA" or collecting towels, I found the staff at the PARK HAYATT more attentive in my previous stay there.
The food quality and spread was good but there was no MAP offered either full meals or only BB were there which were rather annoying and uncomfortable offerings.
The pool services were fine,the staff was polite and courteous reception desk was helpful and ever ready to extend any assistance. Our three day stay was hassle free but it lacked some good meaningful evenings minus some cultural inputs I was having great hopes showcase of about the rich cultural heritage of South India.
I had read about the authentic South Indian food specialities in the menu but I am sorry to note I was not thrilled by the fair presented, it didn't match the hype.
To sum up it was a good trip but not a memorable one to remember for times to come !

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Santosh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are pleased to know that you overall had a comfortable stay and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Your constructive comments and suggestions have also been noted.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent the first week of March at the Leela and would highly recommend it - we wished we had booked for longer!
TRAVEL: We originally planned to book direct but then found that Monarch was offering hotel as a package with Cosmos from the UK which worked out slightly cheaper. We weren't particularly impressed by Monarch on the way out (poor communication, dinner too late after lights out, etc), but the crew were better on the way back. We didn't see the Cosmos rep or go on any of their trips, but found that we had a private taxi transfer to and from the hotel as part of our package, as no other Cosmos guests were staying from our flight.
HOTEL: Beautifully laid out and great for nature lovers with its tropical grounds - we saw kingfishers on the hotel lagoons, brahminy kites, a green bee-eater, red-whiskered bulbuls, sunbirds, big butterflies too quick to capture on camera, and innumerable egrets. A previous reviewer said they would not want a lagoon room as the lagoons didn't look clean - total untrue. The water looked fresh, was covered in beautiful water lilies, and was kept moving with water jets, and contained copious large fish. Got a few insect bites but nothing serious and probably not mossies - just used Deet when going out in the evenings.
BEACH - lovely - but beware the dry sand gets incredibly hot in the sun, so make sure you wear something on your feet between the sunbeds and the sea! Plenty of comfy loungers, with either umbrellas or palms for shade. Flag system for drinks service. Quality huge fluffy beach towels for beach/pool. Sea itself is warm - it's not often my other half will go straight into the sea without a lot of faffing - but this time it was just the waves which made her shout, not the temperature!
ROOMS - wonderful. No point in spending extra money on Club when Lagoon rooms have been recently refurbed. They have thought of everything. Lots of useful switches including a "night light" setting so you don't have to turn the light on to visit the bathroom in the night. Switches to open and close the blinds between bathroom and bedroom, so you could enjoy a view over the lagoon from the big deep bath if you wished. Excellent hot powerful shower. Comfortable bed with duvet and good aircon or a fan option. "Ice man" comes around 6pm to give you ice supplies if you so wish, to go with the room bar, and there is also a complimentary turn down service. Daily newspaper hung on your door each morning in English. We had an upper floor of our block which was at the far end of Lagoon 2 and thought this was a good position. The rooms at the reception end looked rather dark and didn't have balconies. WiFi fast but not cheap - advised this is because of a third party provider having invested significantly in order for the WiFi to cover the 76 acres of the resort and now having to revenue share with that provider until they recoup their costs.
SERVICE - exemplary, so friendly and smiley - from the gardeners to the waiters.
FOOD - breakfast selection and service excellent - it's the only time you see a lot of people, but so many staff to keep everyone filled with coffee etc, it's not an issue. We only ate lunch at the hotel on our first day and after that ate out lunch and dinner, as we found that the local beach shacks offered excellent quality food and drink at a fraction of the price. Cocktails £2.60 instead of £5+ in the hotel, soft drinks 30 pence compared to a few pounds in the hotel. We also ate at Fishermans Wharf 5 minutes walk away which is a smart local option with live music and a good atmosphere.
GOLF - I had to give the pitch and putt course a go in such stunning surroundings, and even persuaded other half to join me, although she lost her first 2 balls in the water features so I ended up tee-ing off for the both of us or it could have got more costly (for 12 holes it wasn't a cheap round). Unfortunately we were more likely to hit an egret, rather than a birdie or an eagle!!
TRIPS OUT - We visited Cavellosim by taxi one evening to meet friends. Taxi was only a few pounds but didn't particularly like the dusty town centre. We did enjoy a wonderful trip to Palolem further south, for which we hired a taxi which cost us around £39 including 5 hours waiting time. We asked to visit Cabo de Rama on route, a headland with ruined fort, which made a nice break with scenic coast views and monkeys. Palolem itself has a beautiful curved beach backed by palms with colourful wooden beach shack accommodation and restaurants and a more bohemian ambiance. We also spent a day on a Betty's Boat trip, initially out to sea to see the dolphins (wonderful - saw around 6 of them, and jumping), then up the river Sal where we saw local life, more birdlife, and had a great lunch of garlic prawns, kingfish and fruit salad on board - all for £9 per person including alcoholic or non alcoholic drinks all day.
So do make the effort to get out of the luxurious Leela and explore once or twice, as it will make your visit to Goa even more memorable! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms offer everything you could wish for. Blocks furthest from reception looked the most at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Your detailed comments regarding our services and facilities is greatly appreciated and we are very happy to know that you overall had a memorable stay.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

It was an excellent experience during the stay for 3 days in Leela. The property is full of green lush with private beach. Enjoyed cycling, walking and relaxing on the beach. Perfect place to relax and pamper your body n soul...They says that go goa in season but if you wanna enjoy peace of mind go in off season..!! I prefer always in monsoon… Aug/Sept

Room Tip: Select the 1st floor for nice view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejendra_gohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
6.1 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,037 reviews
24.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
13.1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Property: The Leela Goa
Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing