We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful setting, with a couple of negative points”
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a beautiful setting, with a couple of negative points”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose Leela as an escape for 5 days before heading to Mumbai, we were looking for luxury, tranquility, great food and of course the beach. As Global Hotel Alliance members we were very confident that it would be as high standard as a Kempinski hotel.

There were a lot of good points - the transfer from the airport was very smooth, and the welcome was warm, though its rare that we are asked to pay the entire bill up front, practically before we sat down - I don't feel like this gave the best first impression. Still, we paid, and then we were shown to our room which was very nice despite the fact that an upgrade wasn't available for GHA members.

On our first evening we ate at the beachside restaurant and my other half ordered a particularly expensive seafood platter. Upon receiving it he pointed out that the fish was not properly cooked – at which point the plate was taken away. When it was returned, other elements had been re-grilled (read burned) and the fish was no different – the chef then explained that the texture was different as it was a river fish and he should trust him. He did, and was promptly ill for the entire stay, losing one of the five days in bed. Various people visited the room to apologise, fine, and he was sent 20 red roses?! In addition to a hotel branded get well soon card, slightly worrying that they keep a stock of these. Upon check out we were then told that they had taken one third of the price of the dish off the bill, that was all. After arguing they eventually took the food off but refused to take drinks off. A sour end to the stay considering they wouldn’t remove £30 on a total bill of £1600 and this is without mentioning the breakfast missed and room service that we were forced to order as we couldn't leave the room. We were also charged for internet despite being a GHA member and receiving this free – discovering this when we looked at the bill at home. I’m sure that we were just unlucky with the food, and are very willing to accept that this probably happens very rarely but the way that our complaint was handled was not acceptable.

The rest of the stay was relaxing, we didn't have much choice and couldn't go far - the pool area was lovely as was the beach (a momentary glitch in the form of a very drunk guest threatening to punch every male guest in the hotel was not dealt with by security efficiently – in fact it was not dealt with), breakfast was good in the buffet, though for evening meals I'd recommend Pearl's beach shack 2 minutes walk down the beach - the drinks are much cheaper too, after spending £10 in a gin & tonic at the hotel bar I wasn't keen to return there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11978LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at The Leela Goa.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to your husband and your comments have already been taken up with my team for corrective measures.

We always provide internet free for our GHA members if we are aware of the same and would really appreciate if you can email me your bill copy so that we can reverse your charges.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    457
    114
    42
    32
See reviews for
654
950
43
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allschwil
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Leela (Kempinski) with friends for 11 nights in Lagoon villas. The rooms had everything one could hope for. Very well air conditioned, 2 full size bzth rooms, modern amenities, 2 balconies (smoking allowed on the balcony), a sitting and a master bedroom both equipped with excellent flat screen TV, everything clean and in perfect condition. There were 4 restaurants -all with excellent food and fast and friendly service. Nice swimming pool, ocean somewhat rough, but lovely beach. Very good bar service and reasonablo good selection of liquors. Largrst selection of food at the breakfast buffet I have seen in a long time (good tasting too). To be recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very pleased to know that you overall had an enjoyable stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wonderful place : beautiful swimming pool, beach and golf. Very nice rooms and overall service. Go there to enjoy the stay in the hotel: it is too far away in the south of Goa for the visits. If you book through the concierge for the train for Hampi, tell them AC seats : I thought it was obvious but finally discovered we were in sleepers - non AC. Only one drawback : internet should be included in the price.

Room Tip: Rooms around number 100 are greatly situated. Saw that some are not of "house" type and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at The Leela Goa.

We are pleased to know that you overall had a comfortable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

We normally keep the guests informed about the class of tickets available and am really sorry that the procedure was not followed in your train ticket booking. Have already taken it up with my Concierge team for corrective measures.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week, the second week of Feb 2013, looking to relax after a tiring week touring Rajasthan, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded from a Lagoon Suite to a Club Suite. The grounds are extensive and well tended, quiet and secure. Our Club Suite was huge, well appointed with two large TVs and even a Bose Sound-dock, but I'm sure that the Lagoon Suite would have been equally comfortable.

Buffet breakfast in either the Club Lounge or the main restaurant, which offered an extensive selection of European and Indian food over probably 100 metres of buffet bar, all freshly prepared. We were served each morning by Francis, whose lovely smile made our al-fresco breakfast all the more enjoyable.

The hotel has 5 or 6 restaurants all offering the usual selection of meals at a fairly standard hotel price. We found these to be more expensive than we had expected, and were recommended a restaurant 5 minutes walk outside the hotel instead, offering equally good quality, but very much more affordable.

The bar area was large and airy, and we enjoyed being served by the cheerful bar manager Jordon, during Happy Hour each evening. The pool areas were very pleasant, but the sun loungers were all taken by early morning.

The hotel fronts onto the beach on a quiet stretch of the Goan beach, and the Arabian Sea is just like a warm bath.

I would definitely come back to this hotel, and would be happy to recommend it to anybody.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. It was with equal pleasure that your comments were shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is my favourite Leela of the three I have visited to date. (Bangalore and Kerela being the other two) the rooms are beautifully appointed, gardens are stunning, lovely pool area, spacious throughout, and luxurious. I love the way the rooms overlook the lagoons, the birds and flowers and fish all add a beauty that help you relax. Service is fantastic, all the staff are knowledgeable and helpful, just what you would wish for. Food in the hotel is good, especially the breakfast buffet, but its expensive and you can eat out much cheaper although its is much more rustic. The beach is huge, and the variety of beach restaurants help add some dieversity and another dimension. I hope to come back here again very soon, this is a resort that has it all for a decadent relaxing time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
449 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we stayed at the sweet of the hotel , which was unbelivably huge and beautiful.it was as big as a 2 bed room house in bombay, indai. it was well kept and the staff was very helpful. the beach was beautiful . the food in all the restaurants was great and it is a huge property with practically evrything in it. one doesnt need to step out and can just enjoy the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anugoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited The Leela goa on my honeymoon in Feb 2013. was pleasantly surprised on every single step. from the airport pick up to the warm welcome upon arrival at the hotel, the beautiful room, gr8 spa, superb food quality at the restaurants.

they knew exactly how to please their guests.. well trained staff!! the beach front of the leela was breath-taking!! too bad i cudnt try all d restaurants.. will definitely need to go back to try them..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very pleased to know that you overall had a memorable stay, especially since you were celebrating a special occasion and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
6.1 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
24.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
13.1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
10.5 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Property: The Leela Goa
Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing