We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation”
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

It could not been been more fun. The location, the service, the courteous and well mannered staff. Where does one begin and where does one end. Food options by the dozens of varieties available. Clean beach, excellent spa. We took an all inclusive package late august and got a great deal on the entire 4 nights stay there. Only 1 regret - could have definitely stayed for at least 2 days more.

I will say this to all prospective travelers. When you go the beach and choose to take the optional rides (not included from the hotel), but are provided by locals there. Do make sure that you haggle to get a good rate for the rides available. These locals are quite friendly, but don't get roped in and end up paying through your nose.

During our stay of 4 nights, we only went out of the hotel once, and that too for just 2 hours. One does not feel the requirement of leaving the property for any reasons whatsoever. Thank you all at the Leela for making our vacation an awesome one.

Room Tip: Choose a Conservatory Premier room, but at the time of making the reservation give a request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind comments following your stay at The Leela Goa and it was with pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    457
    114
    42
    32
See reviews for
654
950
43
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We splurged on this hotel compared to the rest of our 3 week trip and are glad we did. Even at full capacity it didn't feel too busy, we rarely had to wait in a line at the buffet (for things like omeletes in the morning, line would be 3 people tops) and we had nothing but great food and service. The beach wasn't too busy nor was the pool, we couldn't believe the hotel was full! We have traveled many countries and this was one of the best. Large room, awesome bathroom, nice balcony, 2x a day cleaning and refreshing towels/water bottles, etc.
Gym was great and we used it often. Lots to do on site.
I was sad there wasn't any snorkling nearby as the ocean is rough but good for body surfing or wave floating.
You are out of the way at this hotel (45 mins from airport which is nice as it is quiet) so are a bit bound to it and shopping in Cavelossim was annoying-soooooo aggressive! Definitely needed a taxi there but for 150 rupees there and150 back it is worth it. They have a few shops at the resort but very limited selection.
Overall the staff was friendly, they have a tipping preference in which you can tip them at the end (each server or leave as a lump sum for everyone). Sometimes the staff could be too friendly as you knew they were trying hard for you to tip them as an individual. We appreciated how hard everyone worked there from the ladies caring for the grass to the cooks in the kitchen so we did the lump sum.
Definitely worth it if you don't need the excitement of the city! We loved not hearing a horn honk for a week :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind comments following your stay at The Leela Goa and it was with pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This place didn't get the little things right.

The feeling of tip hustlers, bad waiter co-ordination on a very special day, mediocre food, average breakfast spread (a first for a large property like this one), unrelaxed late checkout policy, motel-like spa with old plastic doors, no casual seating, reading area or warm tea.

This place just didn't get it right at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sdugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We are sorry to note that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations during your recent stay at The Leela Goa. Your comments are noted as well as taken up with the team for corrective measures.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed in this wonderful property with family for 5 days. What an experience! From airport pick-up in a luxury SUV to the welcome drink, stay and then departure - It was all a great experience for me and my family.

This is the largest and the most beautiful property in Goa. Very well maintained - though one wing was under construction hence closed and the restaurant was a stop gap arrangement during my stay but a very very hospitable, warm and friendly staff more than adequately compensated for these small gaps.
If you want to have a break from your hectic busy and stressed life then nothing like this property. With its excellent private beach - a small golf course - very well maintained, kid's center, excellent swimming pool - one can enjoy and absorb calm, cool and serene ambience that this property provides.
When u go to beach u can also enjoy water sports - jet ski, para gliding, banana etc. These are not provided by hotel though.There are private operators who bring there equipment in the evening and charge for each ride.
My family enjoyed these water sports immensly.

The drawbacks -

1. Far away from the North Goa which is a happening place. If your family wants some action...
2. While departing journey from the hotel to the airport was in a ramshackle bus:( Could have been much better. Anyways, one cant except everything perfect.

All in all , a great trip and the best was my wife and kids loved property so much that last three days were entirely spent in the hotel without moving out to Northern side of Goa.

Room Tip: I had to change my room due to some renovation work. But the changed room was very good and we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that we have completed our renovation of rooms and restaurants and you will greatly appreciate the finished products. Your kind comments are noted and it was with pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We didn't stay there but wished we did. We went one night for dinner and it was the most beautiful hotel I've ever seen. We ate dinner on the beach and it was impeccable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abeshababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind comments following your visit to our hotel for dinner and it was with pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa, as our hotel guest.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The leela Goa offers you a very extraordinary experience. Right from the time we landed in Goa , there was a luxury car to pick us up. The staff is very frindly & always willing to make your stay more comfortable. They also ensure they guide the customer unbaised for tarveling & sight seeing. The food served if exellect. It was my Wife's birthday & i just happen to mention the same . They surprised us with Cake & campaign on the house. I am all sold for the Leela properties & would stay in no other property if there is leela property existing there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amit_bank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal_Dupuis, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind comments following your stay at The Leela Goa and it was with pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team. Very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay, especially since you were celebrating a special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Morton Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The famous 16th century poet John Milton may have written about "paradise lost" but if he had visited the Leela Palace, Mobor beach in Goa, he may well have found it again.

If Goa is the jewel of India than the Leela palace has to be the biggest sparkliest diamond of all times.

I have to say we visited this year with a little trepidation, knowing that building work and extensive refurbishments were taking place and that General Manager Pascal had moved onto a new hotel. We needn't have worried, what building was going on was done with the minimum disruption to the guests.

We were very impressed with the way in the way the rooms had been upgraded.

In our Lagoon Suite, bathrooms have brand new showers, that not only had a shower head to give you the "rainfall" experience but also separate shower heads to give you more directional and forceful water jets. They still have the "his and hers bathrooms". One of the bathrooms has had the bath taken out to give you more space and a dressing table added, the other bathroom has had a new bath which is the deepest bath I have ever been in, although deep it’s not big enough for 2! The wall that separates the bedroom to the bathroom has had a window built into it, the window has blinds which are electrically operated. So you can sit in the bath and look out of the window into the bedroom open the blinds in the bedroom and you can see outside, let's just hope that the people on the other side of the lagoon didn't have a long lens camera :)

Once again there was an abundance of towels and robes which were replaced daily if not twice a day. Hairdryer's are provided but take note they are not that powerful, especially for me and all my hair. Fabulous complimentary toiletries are replenished when needed.

Wardrobes and drawer units have been replaced and there is now plenty of storage space.

With the modern day traveller having camera charger, phone charger, iPad and iPod charger and assorted other electrical equipment, we always travel with a 4 way extension lead to help combat the lack of plugs but this year we didn't need it. It is great to see that some thought has gone into the new design and there are now more plug sockets in the rooms and what is fantastic to see they have all been adapted to make them universal to fit any world plug so you do not have to worry about adapters.

There are new shutters and curtains in the room and this turned out to have one downside they did such a good job we overslept !! We thought it was still dark outside and the middle of the night when it was 9am.

Tiny little vanity lights glow behind the bedsides tables and under the sink in the bathroom so it is easy to coordinate yourself to the bathroom in the middle of the night, they are certainly unobtrusive and a really good idea. Modern light switches everywhere with a tiny blue light behind the switches are also a good idea.

Bedlinen; one of my scales of a good hotel was superb and replaced regularly, and there is also a pillow menu should you not like the ones already there.

New tv's, air conditioning and lounge furniture complete the make over.

Building work was also taking place in the old cafe and indian restaurant, to make this one big space called "The Restaurant" .

This opened whilst we were there and we used it a couple of times and I have to say that I personally have mixed feelings about it, both good and unsure!

At last the old school canteen crockery has been replaced with a more modern white sleek designed china.

Cutlery has also been replaced and this will make Moreton smile when I say that my cutlery was eventually replaced after every course :) a totally insignificant minor complaint of mine was that cutlery was always removed from your empty plate and placed on your table for your next course, not the service I expect from a 5 star hotel especially when the beach shacks replace your cutlery as a matter of course.

I love the way the restaurant now showcases the chefs and the work that they do, although there were active work stations every night it's only a few and the rest were buffet pre made food, I maybe would have liked to see more "doing". But you cannot fault the food, the choice was extensive and the presentation, taste and slection was superb.

If you do want "A Restaurant" experience I would suggest that you do not sit in the main area as you come through the door but choose somewhere more secluded and quiet to sit.

Breakfast - an unbelievable variety of options, there is still the egg man who can whip you up any sort of omelette, or fried egg, we eventually worked out how to get poached eggs and they were great, and hot. The new waffle and pancake station was a big bit with me. I know it's all new and you have to iron out the creases but one “toaster” for the whole restaurant is not ideal, 3 mornings we lost our toast to someone else.

Everyone gives you really good service and are only too happy to explain dishes to you, so get to know your waiter and chefs!

I want to thank a couple of people Immaculada who totally understood my need for 6 cups of tea before facing any food in the morning. Aldren who we were so pleased to see back in the restaurant this year, he has to be one of the best members of staff the Leela has, very dedicated and very organized. Mojoda for being so cheerful and helpful.

Make sure you visit the dosa chef he is a located in the Indian restaurant at breakfast I apologize I cannot remember his name but he is so enthusiastic in his work It was a pleasure to watch him explain all his dishes with so much enthusiasm and passion every day.

There really isn’t one thing that I can complain about or say that I didn’t enjoy, so it really is paradise.

We are currently thinking about this years holiday and the world is calling, there is so many places out there we want to see, but like Marmite you either love or hate Goa, if you fall in love with the place it really does get under your skin. I just can't imagine not going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
6.1 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
24.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
13.1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
10.5 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Property: The Leela Goa
Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing