We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Have just come back from two weeks in Goa India staying at the DONA SYLVIA, this was the second time we have been there. The hotel is fantastic the staffs are so friendly and helpful they can’t do enough for you always smiling. The food is also great, if you ask the chef he will do his best to dish up anything you want a friend wanted roast beef and got it with the trimmings. As I love curries the chef used to make me a different one each day to try. The rooms are a bit outdated but you only sleep in the. Everything works, to tell you the truth I don’t have any complaints the only one is it’s not right that people put there towels on the sun beds first thing in the morning before breakfast and then don’t use the bed till midday. I think the hotel should do something about that.
My thanks to all the staff especially to Joseph Maria Benny Isa and to my favourite waiter Arran
See you all next year. Frank and chris room45

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trucker2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We are truly humbled to hear such wonderful comments and compliments of our services and the resort in general. Also, your commendation of our deserving staff would surely be conveyed to them.

Looking forward for your continued, valued patronage of Dona Sylvia.

Warm regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

We returned to this hotel for the 9 th time,so we like it,but this year the dining area had been redone.It not only looked good but the food and service were even better this time .If you didn't like the food on offer then Tara would offer to cook something different ,even non spicy foods like chicken and chips or steak,Benny ,Ramswollop and Maria made sure everything was as we liked ,but there were somme good new boys who are following in their footsteps like Aren and Piety.The pool boys were very proactive this year and Jopseph looked after our every need in our accommodation.Entertainment was varied but Emundo was an amazing magician nd Dr Alfredo attracted the Ladies for water aerobics twice a week.In my view the hotel should everything possible to retain their services as they are so good.The new Dreamliner plane was quicker and quieter and hopefully the new airpot terminal will be in operation later this year.A word of warning is that the airport is very strict about luggage weight

Room Tip: It is best to get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domainegirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Firstly let me thank you for your valued patronage, support and reviews about Dona Sylvia over the last 8 years. Also, we are glad to hear that your stay in Dona Sylvia has been a recalling and a truly memorable one.

Thank you once more, your commendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to enchant you on your next sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a well cared for hotel in a good location. I knew it was on the beach but had not realised there were so many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff work very hard keeping things clean and even the gardening staff are very friendly and say hello.

I love curry but nor for breakfast so thank you to the omlette cooks. We were all inclusive and the buffet usually provided something good to eat. However, special mention of the pork which was tough and full of fat. You must eat in the Curry & Kebab restaurant which had the best food of our stay.

Please turn off the piped music in the main restaurant. If I had heard "Que Sera Sera" one more time I think I would have gone mad.

The worst part of the trip was Dabolim Airport. £120 for the visa was bad enough. The bureaucracy was amazing. The filling in of forms to get in and out of the country. Having to show your passport half a dozen times. It really does put me off ever visiting India again. To be fair, the new terminal building may help.

The hotel management should do something about the reserving of sun beds around the pool. The pool staff put out towels and many of the people never even use them. They should go around and remove any towel not being used after 10 am.

Thanks to all the staff who work so hard.

P.S. Only £1.70 for a 70cl bottle of Blue Riband gin in the shops and it's 42% proof!

Room Tip: Upstairs with a large balcony. Avoid a shared balcony in the bungalows unless you are going with fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your detailed and helpful feedback through the review. We have taken note of your concerns and would certainly look into it . Above all, we are glad that your stay with us has been a delightful one.

Sorry to read about your experience at the airport, hopefully things should be better on your next visit to Goa and Dona Sylvia.

We would be delighted at your return to Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just back from wonderful holiday at the Dona Sylvia Resort. The resort is situated in lovely grounds, which are very well kept. All the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. A special thanks to Joseph who oversaw anything to do with our accommodation and was a font of knowledge. Maria in the resteraunt looked after us well. My husband had a new suit made by the tailor in the hotel and I can recommend his expertise. We wanted a relaxing holiday, and we certainly had one, the beautiful beach was just a short walk through the grounds, on the beach there are shacks where you can get a drink and food for very reasonable prices. The walks along the beach going in and out of the water (which was like a warm bath)were superb. Goa is a very interesting place to visit, although we did not want to do much on this visit, there were no end of vibrant and interesting places to visit and we hope to see some of them the next time we go.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor . We are glad that you have indeed treasured your stay with us, above all cherished the resort amenities.

We look forward to have you stay with us in future and will ensure to make it even more memorable.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Got back from this hotel on sunday. Had a brill time here. First time in Goa and had a room that look over the lawns. The place must be doing something right as a lot of guests have been coming here for years. And as time went on you was walking around with a coat hanger in you mouth saying hi to everyone. Even when you had a hangover from hell. As other people have said the staff are brill and will do anything for you. Spent most days on the beach as the pool got to hot. Rooms were good every thing you needed. Food was good there was something to eat for everyone. Even when starlings people were there. If you wanted more just go and get of there plates lol. Oh how life has change. we even say hi to the germans. The drinks at the bar was brill for Al. And had singers at night in the bar. The rep karen does a brill job here.The Dona Sylvia should proud. So go and see for your self. Top marks.

Room Tip: Room 74 looks over the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cliff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We are truly humbled to hear such wonderful comments and compliments of our services and the resort in general.

We do hope to see you at Dona Sylvia in the coming season as well.

Warm regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

1st time in Goa. Not 4 star. Staff are outstanding. Rooms are not. Food other than breakfast was awful. The beach was filthy with packs of diseased dogs roaming around. The sea was dirty. Never had so many bites of every type of insect. Repellent does not work. There were 4 of us and we all spent a good few days with Delhi Belly. The Thomson days out were a waste of money. We would certainly not be going to this hotel again. Also, be aware that there are no sun beds etc provided by the hotel. You have to pay locally for flea ridden falling down beds from the locals. The brochure makes this hotel sound wonderful. Not true.

Room Tip: There are no nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janettejan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your feedback and your praise of our staff. We will definitely pass the complements to them. It is indeed unfortunate that your holiday experience with respect to the rooms, food & the beach wasn't as per your expectations. We will take the necessary steps to tackle the food variety / choice and rooms' issue. Also, we would have been in a better position to sort this out had you mentioned to us whilst you were in Goa.

As far as the beach is concerned, we (like every other All Inclusive property in Goa) do not have our pool beds there. These beds on the beach are let out by the privately owned beach shacks to their guests and patrons. It is also quite possible that the abdominal disorders suffered by your group could be as a result of food at these places as we had about 320 other guests staying and dining at the hotel at the time, but no feedback of deli belly. Moreover, the beach is a public place and presence of local sellers, stray dogs, etc are not under direct control of the hotel management, though it is our en devour to see that these things do not occur.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was my second visit to goa, unfortunately didn't stay here this time as it was last minute plan, but yes went to visit this awesome place specially to see is it still amazingly gorgeous. And guess what it was outstanding, reception manager she allowed us for a round of the resort, and go through the old memories attached to this place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digvijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRDS, Manager at Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for generously reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your goodness and goodwill towards Dona Sylvia and for highly recommending us.

Thank you once more, your commendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,669 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,382 reviews
5 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
23.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort

Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India (Formerly Dona Sylvia Beach Resort)
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: $102 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cavelossim Beach and set in 20 acres of beautifully secluded landscaped gardens, NOVOTEL GOA DONA SYLVIA brings to mind a quaint Portuguese village reminiscent of a bygone era – an architectural style that earned international acclaim for its architect, CHARLES CORREA….a truly wonderful and luxurious location for holidays, small meetings to large conferences. This luxurious 5 star beach resort is situated on the southern coast of Goa, about 45 kms from the airport and 15 kms from the Margao Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa
Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing