We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a very nice time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
middle dimson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“had a very nice time”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 15th dec 2012, very nice spot, loverly grounds, beach great, staff very freindly, room was ok, great range of food in the seagull, all was very nice , food is all inclusive on our deal, but you get a ticket for a meal on the complex for use at mamma mia or curry and grills, please beware on one point on these, we had a bottle of normal rose wine and where charge about £15 for the bottle, this to put this into context, we dined at "mikes place" across the road from dona sylvia , both had full meals and drinks and paid £8, can recommend mikes place as a change from eating in hotel, we did the trip to "cola beach" through the thomson rep karen, who was great, as was the trip, cola beach is loverly, staying in the tent might not be for everyone , bug wise, but was comfortable with and en suite attached, my wife got a bit edgey because a cat run out from under her bed and a few lizards and other bugs got in, me i had lots of brandy and slept like a log, micheal the guide who took us was great, paid £45 each inlcluding all food but paid for drinks, jai,s just up from the hotel seemed to be the place to change your money ( turn left out of hotel, 100 yards up on the left at bend ) , hotel will change for you but charge a bit more . was 32 degrees in daytime, get some bug spray as they like to bite you in the evening, the seagull moved outside twice when we where there and set up el fresco on the grass which was nice, again staff where great, just another quick note, i got a bit of dehli belly which i put up with for 2 days, dont! , my rep called the doctor on a sunday, was there within half hour, injection, tablets etc, cost £8 , was right as rain 1 hour later, local traders badger you quite a bit, if you dont like that, stay on the left hand side of road, if you cross to the right every trader will engage you, just be polite and say no thankyou ,we got some bargains, so please do have a look and they will expect you to haggle, was getting 10 to 20% off depending on price , all in all had a very nice time, read some negitive reveiws befor we went which i couldnt understand, but can only recommended : ) enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Kevin,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Let me thank you for your review and valued feedback. Looking forward to having you stay with us in future.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    569
    162
    41
    18
See reviews for
462
743
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited here in Sep 2012 and had a real wonderful time. Had bought an all inclusive package and was absolutely worth it. Great food, easy access to beach, vast pool and activities around it makes it worth staying in and around the resort itself. Though we did take a day drip to South goa (Church, Goa city, river cruise etc.) but realized that we would have been better off chilling at the resort itself.

Food is great with lots of options for both veg and non-veg and you may ask the chef to prepare something of your choice. I did that and they actually followed-up the request till they delivered...

I would recommend the resort to other fellow travellers - especially ones with families and who are not looking for sight-seeing, place-hoping etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saurabh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Saurabh,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your review & valued feedback. Hope to see you again at Dona Sylvia in near future.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Don't let my title mislead you, I have no problem with the Dona Sylvia, my problem is with a scam that I fell victim to at a jewellers outside the hotel! The jewellers I am referring to is Zanskar Arts, directly opposite the hotel!
I bought jewellery at this shop in 2010 and 2011 and have had no problems with the jewellery itself. However, when we went to order a specific piece of jewellery to be made in 2011, Mr Bilash offered to have all my own jewellery cleaned for me so that it would all look sparkling once more. One of the items I gave him for cleaning was a £ 3500 diamond solitaire set in a gold band. (I know, it was a stupid thing to do but hindsight is a wonderful thing!) The jewellery took a lot longer to be cleaned than he had originally promised but when I got it back it did indeed all look sparkling!
However, within a few weeks of returning home the "gold" had turned black and so had my finger. The diamond also did not look right. When we returned this year, I took the ring with me and explained the situation to our rep, Karen,. She was horrified and took me to an independent jeweller who examined the ring who confirmed my suspicion that this ring was indeed a fake. We then went to confront Mr Bilash who denied any wrongdoing, and there was nothing that I could do about it. All I know is that the only time this ring was EVER off my finger was when I gave it to Mr Bilash to be cleaned! You must draw your own conclusions, but BEWARE.
I HAVE HAD A LOT OF JEWELLERY FROM THE HOTEL JEWELLERS AND THAT HAS ALL BEEN EXCELLENT!
I would also suggest trying Classic Tailors which is down a little side cut by the Jazz Inn. We always have clothes made there when we go, you can take your own material from home if you find something you really like!
As far as the Dona Sylvia is concerned, this was the fifth or sixth time we have returned and we have already booked for 2013, I think that speakes for itself.
Alright, the hotel is probably more shabby than chic nowadays, but the room are clean and comfortable and have everything you need.
The food is really excellent, but please try dishes outside your comfort zone as local dishes are superb. Both a la cartes are very good and it is nice to be waited on for a change.
All the staff are smiley and friendly, its nice that they remember you and your names from year to year!
Slight problem with guests from the next door Radisson coming in and using Dona Sylvia facilites but once this was pointed out to the management, they were taking steps to stop it.
If you do have any problems, make sure you raise them as the staff all want you to have a good time and encourage you to go back again, so will always try and put things right for you.
One disappointment, nothing to do with the hotel, was that the Indian Government has brought in a new law that prohibits the shacks on the beach from having more than 5 sunbeds. This has totally decimated their trade and is a real shame. There is a lot of controversy about it and hopefully things night change!
So, in conclusion, if you want beautiful weather, wonderful staff, fantastic swimming pool, first class food and simple entertainment then this could well be the place for you! Don't go expecting 5 star luxury, this is a third world country, enjoy the simplicity of what is on offer and appreciate the genuine hospitality!

Room Tip: We like upstairs rooms as they are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank travellersLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review on Dona Sylvia and I am so sorry about your ring. Looking forward to seeing you again at Dona Sylvia on your next holiday.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We chose Goa because its hot..We chose Goa because its our honeymoon.That was all we knew about a place that people had told us slightly mystical..So we gave it a visit..What a fantastic place to holiday..Getting off the plane the heat is intense but bearable. The journey to Doña Sylvia is full of speed/horns blaring/vehicles overtaking/overtakingx2..breathtaking with 3/4 people on a little motorbike..fantastic!!driving passed the slums is a reminder of where you are..The streets just bustle with people/vehicles & animals.Our resort was 100m from the beach.On arrival we were offered cold towel/drinks & huge warm handshakes.All the staff were so pleased to see you..Is this how royalty feel??Our room was spacious airy with a huge 6x7 bed!!Aircon & fan all working.This lovely place is brilliant if you want no hassle/sunshine..We met loads of Brits making they're 3/4 visits always coming here & not the Radisson Blu next door.We saw eagles soaring right over the fab pool,fruit bats in the trees,huge dragonflys,wild life is a dream &its all around you.The beach is lovely but does have pedlars who can be a pain.If your in a beach bar pedlars will be extremely friendly with the patter & good to..but they will try to sell you jewellery!!Speak to the experienced Brits there who will tell you where to shop & you must haggle!!A week wasn't long enough to try/see it all..The lasting memory will be the people we met/sunshine & the fabulous food..If your a veggie it's unbelievable.Curry for breakfast now that was a first!!Give it a try as India is there to see!!Look past the non existent fly tipping laws around the streets..just go with the flow!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ghillie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for the wonderful review and it is indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us. My sincere apology for a delayed response.

See you in Goa and Dona Sylvia on your next holiday.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Firstly, if you are travling from Madgaon bus station then please dont pay more than Rs.550 to cab to go to resort. The resort did reimbursed that amount to us but cab drivers were demanding exhorbitant amounts initially. When we checked in, the staff was very much helpful. The resort property is excellent and quite spacious. However, few group tours have come which made tht resort over crowded. The food quality is excellent and non veg food has good variety. The spa is also quite a value for money and do try hot stone massage there. The room are good but certainly not of 5 star standard. The swimming pool is nice but we could use it only after group tour people checked out. The best way to enjoy over there is spend as much time as you can in the resort itself. The hotel also organises half day tour for goa. Dont go for that, its waste of time. The beach adjacent to resort is very calm and safe. Overall good experience..

Room Tip: Select room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaustubh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Kaustubh,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Firstly, let me apologise for delay in responding to your wonderful and helpful review.
We will set right all the hiccups that you experienced during your stay with us and would like to assure you of a fabulous experience on your next holiday at Dona Sylvia.

You can reach me on atool@donasylvia.com before booking so we can make to trip pleasurable right from your arrival in Goa.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We started out on this holiday with some concerns. We had originally booked with Thomson at a allegedly better hotel at Varca beach but were informed shortly before we were to travel that Thomson were not sending clients there any more. They could not find an equivalent hotel for us so we selected Dona Sylvia. Thomson did us a good turn. With the refund from Thomson we had more than enough money to upgrade to a suite at the Dona Sylvia which proved to be an excellent investment.

THE RESORT

Dona Sylvia has an excellent location. Right on the beach it is shielded from the beach by large coconut palms with a short and relatively narrow path leading directly onto the beach. The beach though public was relatively deserted apart from a few beach huts selling food and drinks and tourist trinkets. The huts have some sun loungers which are free to customers. Incidentally the huts are well worth frequenting for drinks or a meal. In turn of course the beach is sheltered from the hotel complex and stretches almost endlessly in both directions making it superb for walks and beachcombing. The resort gardens are beautifully maintained with very green grass and colourful shrubs. Our suite was on the upper of two floors and the block opened out onto the large lawns between the accomodation and the beach. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. The shower was powerful enough and the room contained a bath. One word of warning there are so many different types of buildings. Some are bungalows , some are two stories and some are superior rooms. Not all have balconies and if these things are important we found it very effective to go onto the hotel web site and email the manager with your needs. The response for us was efficient and speedy within 24 hours.

The pool is spacious and popular with guests from the Radisson Blu nearby who also find the bars congenial. One criticism is that the sun loungers have few shade umbrellas but we found that if you are prepared to move your sun loungers into the shade provided by the numerous cosonut palms there is no real problem especially as pool staff are keen to help.

FOOD AND DRINK

The Seagull buffet restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you are paying breakfast costs 500 rupees, Lunch costs 750 rupees and dinner 850 rupees. The hotel exchange rate is 83 rupees to the pound We always found comfortable tables with beautifully ironed linen napkins. Service is excellent with waiting staff approaching you almosr right away offering as appropriate tea/coffee or alcoholic drinks. We find in hot climates that tea is best taken without milk. Ask for teabags and boiling water if you do not like strong tea. The coffee is not perhaps the best in the world but this is one of our very few grumbles. Indian wines are really drinking well. They are made in the Nashik valley in the north of India from Portuguese vines. We enjoyed both the white and red wine on offer. The range of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was considerable. Fresh local fruit and freshly squeezed orange and pineapple juice at breakfast. Eggs of course with the usual accompaniments usually fried or omelettes but if you fancy a change they will happily provide a poached egg or whatever you want. Lunch and dinner are similar with an extensive buffet of Indian produce beautifully and tastily spiced and prepared. This must be one of the best places in the world if you happen to be a vegetarian. Fish, chicken pork and beef are also available. There is always a Western alternative if you dislike Indian food or would really enjoy a change but the choice is not as good. The hotel has two different restaurants the Mama Mia serving grills and dishes such as beef bourguinon and fish and chips where the quality is excellent and the choice more than adequate. If you wish you can buy a different wine. The second restaurant is the kebab and curry which is quite different from the buffet choice and really excellent. Four courses are offered. Although you are only allowed to eat at each restaurant once during a fortnights all - inclusive stay you can ask at reception if for example you wanted to use both tickets for the Mama Mia.

Cavellosim village is just outside the gated hotel complex and offers a variety of cheap local restaurants many offering a western choice. We found the tandoori prawns at Mike's Place excellent as was a western steak.

We were pleased to note that smoking on the hotel complex was restricted to the upper Amalia bar away from eating and sunbathing areas.

The hotel is popular with Indian, Russian and European guests. Indeed we met one lady from Austria. One English lady nearby moved here for six months during the English winter and was really well looked after by the staff.

There are two gala evenings each week when food is eaten outside. These are enjoyable but it is important to take insect sprays. There were no mosquitos when we went but tiny biting insects do exist despite the hotels efforts to fumigate trhe area.

The entertainment provided at the resort is excellent and concentrates round the upstairs bar eachj evening.

LAUNDRY

It might be wortwhile to think about how many clothes you want to pack. Mens shirts cost 70 rupees to wash and iron, trousers 100 to wash and 110 to dry clean. A ladies eveningt dress costs 120 rupees to wash and 150 to dry clean. Ladies trousers 100 to wash and 120 to dry clean.

EXCURSIONS

It is important and very worthwhile to see something of Goa during your trip. The trips on the river boats were popular and inexpensive. Once you have seen one Asdian market however you have seen them all. We enjoyed a trip to the Palaceo Do Deao a mansion at Quepem which included autorickshaw rides and a trip to a market and a ride on the Goan railway which was built for the Portuguese by Britain.

All too soon our fortnight was over and just how good the service was at the Dona Sylvia was highlighted by one lady member of the Thomson cabin crew on the journey home who seemed to attract more complaints for surly aggressive and unaccepatable behaviour than I remember on any airline before.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach seem to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank diandaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a 5 day corporate event at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort.The resort provided excellent service in terms of Front Office, Housekeeping and Senior Management Staff. Special thanks to Maqbool - who manages almost all aspects of the resort, Gita and Maxcy - excellent front desk service and customer support. The chef plated up excellent food and desert (the fruit flambé, strawberry parfait and the orange pudding are to die for!). The resort truly lives upto expectation as it provides excellent locations, bars, entertainment, expansive lawns and a clean & quiet beach teeming with shacks during season. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. They do require an update which is currently being undertaken by the management.

Rating Scale 1 - 5:
Rooms: 4
Beach: 5
Lawn: 5
Spa: 4
F&B: 4.5
Front Desk: 5
Service: 5 MILLION

Overall, I'd personally give it nothing but a 5 star rating on service excellence. These people truly know how to please the customer.

Definitely worth a visit if you want to get away from all the Hype that is North Goa

- Salil, Seema, Ajay, Neha and Pratik

Room Tip: Chose a room along the spine of the hotel or facing the lawn and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PratikLShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,848 reviews
9.4 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
1,830 reviews
23.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Property: Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing