We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haathi Mahal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haathi Mahal”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lovely hotel all the staff were always pleasant and friendly, good variety for breakfast. the hotel is situated in the middle of Cavelossim so everything is in walking distance. We will be going again next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie9MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay at Haathi Mahal!

I am happy you enjoyed your holiday and my team looked after you in the resort. We will be very happy to welcome you back to Haathi Mahal in the future.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    386
    98
    41
    30
See reviews for
388
320
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks end of January. Have stayed in south goa twice previously, betalbatim, and central goa once. We found Cavelossim to be the best so far because the choice of restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel, and the beach a nice stroll of about 15 mins. The hotel room we had (108) was excellent, and the staff likewise. We had a problem with the fridge and the guy (sorry, forget his name) changed it as arranged the next day. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate, although sometimes the staff were under pressure and not up to scratch, but we were on holiday so we don't mind a little wait now again.
Restaurant we enjoyed: Mike's, Goan Village, Jazz Inn, also Miike's river boat trip.
Enjoyed our experience so much we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time off to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy your first trip to Cavellosim and Haathi Mahal turned out exactly as you wanted. I am glad our resort lived up to your expectations. There is certainly lots to do and see around in this scenic village.

Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you once more!

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great resort. There are so many good things about this resort. The best part of the resort is the huge swimming pool with attached bar where we spend most of the day. We usually visit in Monsoon and the weather is awesome that time of the year. The fun of playing in the pool when its raining is awesome. The food is also very good. They have so many recreational activities everyday like live music band, movies, cooking classes, painting competition, chess and carrom competition. We stayed for an entire week with friends and family and the time just flew..the staff are very professional and polite. Overall a very good experience. Will keep visiting ...

Room Tip: Go there is monsoon. Its less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayabagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for a great review! I am happy you enjoyed your holiday and my team looked after you.

We try our best to keep our guests engaged the best way possible by conducting activities for adults and children alike. I am glad you liked what we do!

Thank you once again and i look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I Just with my family from Goa Hathi Mahal. We are members of this club & must say the up keep and quality is truly 5star and worthy of every penny you spend there. The restaurants are great too, excellently made food and served with immense love. Very friendly staff right from Front desk to room service. A sp mention for Vinay Shetty, he is an amazingly fun person and this makes your trip great fun. Farncis too was an extremely affectionate person.
Strongly recommend..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidhantkapoor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the nice review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad my team looked after you and made you comfortable during the stay. We will surely reward the people who made your stay enjoyable. I am so happy you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. We are working very hard to improve and bring it upto even higher standards.

Thank you once again and see you soon!

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We are a couple of older people (70+) just spent four weeks in this hotel! Great holiday, bit far from the beach than we would have liked, but OK for the younger set! Its 12 years since we last holidayed in Goa and how it has changed! I doubt we shall go again!! But this hotel is fine, clean, good staff, friendly atmosphere and just perfect for a relaxing getaway lounging around the pool!! We stayed in room 129, comfy and clean, and I have to give so much thanks to Pranay (Raut Dessai) who cleaned our room most days! Polite, attentive, smart, and the skill he possesses using a few towels and greenery to make a never ending different daily surprise as we entered the room was amazing!! Can't begin to list all the creatures and forms after all it was four weeks!! Just a big THANK YOU Pranay!! We did not eat in the hotel, went out every evening! Narrowed the eateries down to three!! Betty's right opposite the hotel, Gaffinos (Rice bowl) and Golden Eye, all good food and prices! Get someone to tell you where the Bakery is, coconut cake to die for there!! Mr. Vincent the manager an OK guy, really will help if you have a problem!! Knee deep in Russians outside the hotel, but never any problem!! I got a bit sick towards the end of our stay, bit of advice for you, go the local chemist if you have a problem explain what is wrong and they WILL find you the magic pill!! Never got pestered to buy timeshare!! Good place, enjoy it!!

Room Tip: I think you are put where is available!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarets44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for a great review on TripAdvisor!

I am so happy my team looked after you and you enjoyed yourself. I am also glad you liked the resort and the surrounding attractions. However, would have liked to see you enjoy our restaurant and pub. It is well attended and serves all kinds of palates.

The persons mentioned by you will be commended for providing great service and ensuring your holiday in Goa after a long time, went off well.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

But hotel looks a bit 'tired' and, as another reviewer said, in need of some TLC. Reception area impressive and staff friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast had a good selection. Francis and his staff were always on hand with tea refills! Jeremy (who runs the bars) was a fount of local knowledge and always happy to help with any questions regarding places to visit etc.

Avoid Room 126 at all costs! It has no natural light - your view is a brick wall (built up to head height) and a overhanging red tiled roof above. Should not be sold as a room of an equivalent standard to others in the hotel (perhaps use it as a changing room for guests leaving on late flights?).

As has been mentioned before, there was a lack of spare sunbeds around the pool - but there isn't much the hotel staff can do about people 'reserving' beds. However, we went to the beach on most days, so not an issue for us.

Overall an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 126. Refurbished rooms - especially those at ends of corridor - much better. All rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time off to write a review of your stay at Haathi Mahal.

Yes, as i said before we are renovating different parts of the resort as we know it is due. The renovation process started back in 2012 and has been on since. It is not easy to renovate extensively as it will mean closing down the entire resort or large parts of it which is not an option.

Besides external renovations, other 'behind-the-scenes' upgradations like water supply, drainage and air-conditioning also are improved. As you will see renovations are an ongoing process. More hotel rooms are planned to come under refurbishment next.

Thank you once again.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 4th visit to this resort in 15 months and as always absolutely loved it.
Great one bedroom end apartment, really peaceful and cleaned every day to a high standard including some great towel art.
It is hard to know where to start when praising the staff as all have a smile on their faces at all times and provide such quality service. However we will give a special mention to Francisco, Alesan and the lovely smiling girl (sorry if reading but forgot name!) as part of the breakfast crew, omelette guys also.
A warm thanks to Vincent and the customer service/front of house staff who are as ever welcoming and courteous.
Special mention to Jeremy the bar manager whose wit and humour have had us in stitches on numerous occasions. We wish him all the best with his new hobby as local animal liaison Officer rather than a dedicated football follower (private joke!)

Also must mention the Karma Spa where I had two great treatments from Rolina who is a really friendly and professional therapist at very reasonable prices.

The bottom line is that it is very hard to find such a relaxed, clean, and well located hotel in a town with great choice of restaurants,bars etc. most notably Jazz Inn whose food and staff friendliness are second to none.

Apologies to anyone/body not mentioned but the list would be too long.

Will be back in December - cannot wait

Stuart and Julie

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for the lovely review on your stay at Haathi Mahal. I am so glad my team made your holiday so relaxing and enjoyable. Rest assured, all the persons mentioned in your review will be suitably commended for providing great service.

My team is the biggest strength and it is amazing to see them being consistent with their service delivery day after day. We believe strongly in training and refresher programs for the team. I am glad you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions in Cavellosim.

It will be great to see you again in December. Welcome back!

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,040 reviews
20.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Haathi Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Haathi Mahal

Property: Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Address: Cavelossim Beach, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#5 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karma Royal Haathi Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is a mixed use establishment with 65 hotel rooms for transient guests and 80 villas for time share members. Three large swimming pools with gym and fully equipped spa. Children's playing area and recreation center with a movie theater. Restaurant, English pub and swim up bar for food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Royal Haathi Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haathi Mahal Cavelossim
Haathi Mahal Hotel Cavelossim
Haathi Mahal Goa
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing