We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Nearby Hotels
The Leela Goa(Cavelossim)
$168
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$159
$110
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$32
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shikara Beach Resort(Cavelossim)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dona Sa Maria(Cavelossim)(Great Value!)
$227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sao Domingos Hotel(Cavelossim)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa de Cris(Cavelossim)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveler rating
449
447
115
48
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
447
115
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal resortscasa lisboaroyal goan beach clubsplash bartime shareswimming pools arecavelossim beachbedroom villatable tennisin housemain pooljazz innweek staygreat resortnorth goaboat tripmonsoon season
Filter
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I go to Goa almost three times a year either with family and friends for last 20 years.Usually we stay at the Lalit Goa resort at Canacona for last 6 years just to stay away from crowded north Goa region.A member of Royal Goan Beach Club for last 4 years but we did not use their Goa property.So last week we went to this resort with my friends(booking was done a month ago).
Nice big property with welcome smile at the front desk.
Allotted was one 2 bedroom villa(v 072)which was spacious but no view and away from the pool.Rooms were big and kitchen has all utensils without microwave.But sofa at the hall where 2 persons are supposed to sleep is not comfortable and they should not charge for putting extra mattresses in bedrooms if requested by guests.The sofa is really not good for sleep.This point should be noted by management to make their members happy.
However,resort has good activity schedule for kids to keep them busy throughout the day.Two big clean swimming pools,small water slide and poolside bar.Well equipped gym,pool table,carom,chess etc are there,but squash court was not functioning.Two restaurants are there but numerous cafe,restaurants are nearby to choose from.We never ate at the resort.
Excellent well decorated English pub they have which is very relaxing.A nice pool table to play is also inside the pub.
A large shop selling bread,eggs,milk,tea,vegetables,all kinds of groceries wine,beer at market rate is inside the resort which remains open till 10 pm from 8 am.
Beach is nearby,walking distance (approx.10 minutes) and numerous shops,money changers,taxi stand,car rentals are outside the resort make it very convenient stay.Only negative point is the rooms are not done up at par with the 5* hotels.But we are going back as early as possible,this time with my family.

Room Tip: Get poolside rooms/villas.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandipkumarbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and our team looked after you. I have made note of your point on the sofa-cum-bed and am rectifying that problem. We do take your point on the in-room decor and need for up-gradation. The refurbishment program is well underway and a number of villas are upgraded and more are due to later next year.

You will appreciate that we get a slender window of opportunity to carry out major refurbishment and at the same time keep disturbance down to manageable levels. With Goa now being a year round destination, it gets difficult to do any extensive renovations. But we still manage to carry out work.

We look forward to seeing you once again.

Thanks and best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Haathi Mahal when we stayed there from 20th to 23rd of Oct 2013. The accommodation of the Villa where we stayed was wonderful and the kitchen was adequately furnished. The service was superb and most importantly my kid enjoyed to the fullest as Haathi mahal has continuous programs planned for Children. The Cavelossim beach is amazing and is walk-able from the resort.

All in all one of the best places I've stayed in Goa and enjoyed the most. Will definitely be my first pick if I plan to stay in South Goa.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the Pool are the best ones
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafsarhussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy that you enjoyed the facilities and our team looked after you during the stay. Please do come again and also tell all your friends and family about your experience.

Thanks once again!

Grenville Dcosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Haathi Mahal. It is the premium property of the Royal Resorts group in India, and provides good accommodation and activities. We also like the fact that it's not in an isolated place, and that we can walk to shops, ice cream joints, etc outside the gates. Cars are very expensive in Goa.
We stayed in a one bedroom first floor apartment overlooking one of the two pools. We had been offered an Imperial unit at the back when we arrived, which had better furniture and kitchenware, but we opted for a poolside villa. Apart from one evening when the activity center opposite had a Karaoke Night, we enjoyed being in the middle of the action.
The resort has several pubs and restaurants, and places like the Holiday Inn, The Leela, and Fisherman's Wharf are only a few minutes by car. The Leela was a bad experience, though - we went there for lunch, and a security guard stuck to us. Ultimately we left and went to the Holiday Inn, close by. The Cavelossim beach is about 10 minutes on foot. Half a dozen beach shacks, and not very crowded. We spent enjoyable evenings there.
We were there during the Diwali week, when the resort was packed, but we got good service from housekeeping and other staff. A pleasant stay, and lovely memories of the vacation.

Room Tip: If you like peace and seclusion, take an apartment at the back. Poolside units are fun, but can be noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parang_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Haathi Mahal on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had a great holiday.

Yes, the poolside can be noisy at times as the Recreation Area and pool bar is around there. However, we try to keep things down. You will appreciate we have to cater to all requirements and karaoke is one of them.

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort and have gone back with great memories.

Please do come back again and give us another chance to serve you.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A good resort but not as luxurious as so many hotels and resorts in Goa. The location is great (not next to the beach) but has lots of really nice cafes nearby. We stayed here for 6 nights, and ate out every night - it's what most people did as this resort would be unusually empty in the later part of the evening. We stayed in the 1BHK, the rooms were good but there was always some issue or the other with the AC or some electrical appliance. The TV was not good (one shouldn't be watching TV on a holiday but still). Had a nice large balcony which overlooked the pools. Breakfast buffet was good. The resort had the tendency to charge for the smallest of things - this is really unnecessary, as it's not that the rental is cheap. If you are coming on a resort exchange (RCI, Club Mahindra, etc.), this resort will be better than the usual ones, but not otherwise.

Room Tip: Stay around the pools. Rooms not on the ground floor come with a balcony and are recommended.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallivanter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on your stay at Haathi Mahal. I am sorry that your experience at our resort was a bit up and down. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the breakfast buffet.

The TV reception is improved now as there were a few technical glitches to be sorted out. Like under any exchange program there are statutory charges applicable. It is equally done when our guests use other group resorts and is not something extraordinary.

We look forward to seeing you once more.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were a grop of 7 families and spent a weekend at Hathi Mahal Resort at Cavelossim. The Experience was Awesome. Rooms are spacious and superb. The attraction of the property is the swimming pool. One of the biggest I have seen in Goa. Amazing breakfats spread and very courteous staff. Lot of Games and activities like TT, Pool , Housie etc.
Dont miss the new " Planet Bollywood Pub". It was rocking with Karaoke and amazing interiors.

Room Tip: Pool Facing rooms are the best
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajeshkunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville D, General Manager at Karma Royal Haathi Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed themselves and made great use of the facilities at Haathi Mahal.

Please do come back again and we will ensure you an even better time.

Best wishes,
Grenville Dcosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews