We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at HI 4th to 17th February this year.As this was our 10th time you would think we would be getting tired of the hotel and location.Not a bit of it.From the moment we arrived to our departure it was absolute bliss.Over the years we have seen quite a few changes and it just keeps getting better.Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean with a wall mounted flat screen t.v., fridge, free bottled water and toiletries.
Breakfast was great.My husband loved the porrige and omelettes whie I usually had the flavoured yoghurt and some croissants and jam.The choice was excellent with many cooked dishes as well as fruit and cereals.The boys who served the tea and coffee were so friendly and helpful, especially Joeson whe fetched my husband a lovely cup of filter coffee most mornings.I must also mention Edwin, Malvin and Tyson who were all very helpful.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel and usually used Sam's shack or the restaurants in Cavelossim.Joe's Rivercove Restaurant on the ferry road deserves a special mention both for the food and service.There is live music three times a week and the restaurant is easily reached by taxi.This restaurant overlooks the River Sal and if you cross the road from the HI you can book at Bettys Restaurant both for a meal and a trip on Bettys boat.The trip takes you out to Sea to see the dolphins then back up the river Sal to see the fruit bats and lots of different birdlife.The boat is then moored and you will have a lovely meal of garlic prawns and warm bread, followed by kingfish steakswith rice and saladand for dessert ther is fresh fruit salad.The drinks flow freely all day whether you prefer beer, spirits or soft drinks.Try the Old Monk rum.
Octimas restaurant in Cavelossim is very good for food although we found the service rather slow this year.Fatima always takes time to talk to diners and is a lovely lady.the loos are said to be the cleanest in Goa.
The Mango Tree is a new restaurant in Cavelossim and we had some good food there although it is a bit dearer than other restaurants.That said I thoroughly enjoyed my steak and on our second visit my huband had the cottage pie with vegetables which he said was deliciousAs I said previously we ate in Sam's shach a lot .The food is always good and the service quick and friendly.A special mention to Francis,Deo,Ganesh, Ramesh and omigosh the new waiter whose name has gone out of my head.If you go please say hello to them all from us.Don't forget party night at the shackwhich was on a Friday but I know they were thinking of changing this to a Thursday.There are fireworks, dancing and some live entertainment.A great night.
We had superb service at the hotel and on our Wedding Anniversary we had a lovely chocolate cake delivered to our room.I think this was the work ofJjune Gonsalves or Benita and was a lovely surprise.We are already booked for next year.It is really a fantastic hote and location.Go and you won't be disappointed just be warned that you will want to return time and time again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Goa for two weeks during February, and it was one of the best holidays we’ve ever had.

The hotel is lovely, huge grounds, and good sized, clean rooms. The balcony was a bit on the small side, but we never used it so it didn’t bother us. We had a flat screen tv, a fridge, a safe, air con, a ceiling fan, a hairdryer and even a torch for the frequent power cuts, (they only last for a minute or two at the most). My one tiny gripe with the room was that we had twin beds rather than a double, but they were very comfortable.

Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but plenty of choice. The dining area is netted to keep the birds out, which was a nice touch.

The pool is very nice, not many chairs, but that wasn’t a problem as most people seemed to prefer sitting in the gardens where there are plenty of loungers spread around, or on the beach where the shacks provide them free of charge as long as you buy your food and drink from them. The grounds are so big that even when every single chair was taken, no one was on top of you, there was plenty of space for everyone.

There isn’t a pool bar as such, the fig and olive Mediterranean restaurant and bar is very close, and a waiter walks round the pool taking drink orders occasionally. The prices are much higher than outside the hotel though, so be warned.

The hotel offers an all inclusive option, but it is so not worth it, everything is so cheap once you get outside the hotel. You can have a lovely meal for two with as many drinks as you can handle for £20 easily, lunch with a couple of beers is about £6 for two people. There are at least 8 places to eat within easy walking distance of the hotel, and many more in town, a short taxi ride away (approx £5 return).

The shacks are fantastic, if you don’t use them you are missing out on the best part of the holiday. The food is fantastic and so cheap, we ate in them at least once a day and never had a minutes stomach trouble. To my surprise they all had a flushing toilet which was clean and supplied with toilet paper and decent hand washing facilities. I did find a frog down one once though, you cannot begin to imagine my shock when it leapt out of the pan and landed halfway up the wall!!!

Across the road from the hotel there are a handful of shops, including a supermarket, which between them sell just about everything you could possibly want.

Each of the shacks has a beach party on a different night, Mikes is Wednesday and is by far the best. They have fire eaters, limbo dancing, fireworks and a bonfire, then you can dance the night away under the stars with the waves in the distance, its brilliant! The music up until about midnight is 70s, 80s and 90s, after that the more modern stuff comes on.

We went to Mikes place in town for valentines night. We had a fantastic two course meal, a bottle of champagne, cocktails, beer and very good live music all for about £40, you wouldn’t get the champagne in England for that!

The beach is fantastic, very wide and goes on forever. If you get up early and walk down towards the river you can often see dolphins quite close to shore. The beach is almost deserted, it’s a lovely time of day.
Our favourite part of the day, however, was lunch time in the shacks, usually Mikes. The waiters there are so friendly and Mike will make a point of introducing himself. We’d sit there for hours with a plate of chilli prawns and a few beers watching the world go by and enjoying the sea breeze. One day we saw four cows wandering down the beach, unaccompanied, to Sams shack, apparently they go regularly for the scraps. On most days a family of locals will arrive and set up what we first thought was a washing line on the beach, a little kid will then shimmy up the pole and start tightrope walking. We were amazed the first time we saw it, some of them cant be more that four or five years old!

The only fly in the whole ointment is the prevalence of a certain rude nationality, however, since they mostly seem to want to ignore you, even a friendly good morning is met with an icy stare, then you can happily enjoy your holiday with little interaction from them. They are entertaining when drunk though, but that’s another story.

We like to try new places when we go away, and because of this have only ever returned to a hotel once before. The holiday Inn Goa will be the second hotel we return to, without a doubt. Book it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WildwomanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed here 12/02-25/02. No complaints about service or cleanliness..what you would expect for a hotel in this chain.
Really dissapointed in the quality of bathroom though. The tiles , sanitary ware and fittings seemed to be out of the 70's. I kwow you don't spend your holiday in the bathroom but was genuinally shocked at the appearance.
never let it be said that our German cousins are the "Towel on sunbed culprits " again. The English guests here were up and booked their spot round pool at God knows what time. I even overhead a group saying it ws like Brits Corner.....having said that there was never any trouble getting a sunbed on the grass.
Husband had room service one night and enjoyed and surprisingly it didn't break the bank.
Our 4th time in India (no stomach problems before ) and got food poisoning so think we will give India a miss next year. I hasten to add this was not contracted at hotel.
Also at over £100 anight I would not be expecting to pay for wifi or internet access.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I think Holiday Inn , goa is the best place to spend your holidays in goa with, you family, I am very happy to go there.
pls. go there once atleast, to enjoy. Private beach, beautiful scenery, greenery, silence,good food.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankush11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

It was a pleasure to spend our 5th anniversary with Holiday Inn, Goa. We actually got upgraded to the delux villa and had a free serving of wine, fruits and cake.

The stay for 4 days was really nice be it the pool with pub, the beach front, the food was amazing (we had taken a package for b'fast/lunch and dinner). We also had a day tour to goa city which was neatly organized with a guide.

Overall very nice and we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNBIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed in a luxury suite overlooking the gardens. The room had everything you could want and very comfortable. The staff are very attentive and polite, the marble foyer is particularly impressive, there are a variety of eating places and facilities.
They spray the grounds to control flying pests (of which there were none) but this also means that the only birds are crows, cranes and a few wrens and humming birds.
Pristine beach immediately accessible and a variety of shacks and cafes within easy walking distance. We mainly ate at these and would pick out Betty's place (not Betty's shack) and Sam's shack as particularly good.
Go into the local village if you want better views over the river, the local riverside establishments are too close to the coastal fishing industries.
I have marked Location down a star mainly because the grounds are not terribly exciting, nor yet fully mature. Hotel Leela down the road shows you what can be done better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was our third visit and the renovations have improved the ambience. However, it is the staff who make this place special. Everyone is exceedingly friendly, always ready with a smile and a cheerful greeting.

Rooms are very clean, with comfortable beds and good aircon. If you are lucky there might be an Indian wedding celebration whilst you are there. The two we experienced were very atmospheric, complete with the groom arriving by horse in all his finery and excellent fireworks.

The breakfast buffet is very good, although orange juice as an option on a daily basis would have been nice. The dhosas make an interesting change from eggs-try a masala one with cheese.

Sam's Shack, on the beach is excellent-lovely food, good service and friendly staff who are terrific. It's like visiting old friends when we go there. Sam gives good value, has a terrific sense of humour and does a great party night. He is also very conscious of hygiene and we have never been ill after visiting.

Thau, who helps out there, sells nice jewellery at good prices and is very interesting to talk to. He has 4 children so is always pleased when people buy from him. Sake does the rounds of the shacks and sells good leather bags.

If you can, buy from the beach sellers as they speak good English and offer a good insight into life in Goa, whilst not hassling when trying to make a living. Look out for Christopher as he is a veritable institution there.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.0 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
24.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Goa

Address: Mobor Beach | South Goa, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: $142 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque Mobor beach in South Goa with direct beach access. The Holiday Inn Resort Goa offers hotel accommodation that is a unique blend of traditional Goan and contemporary architecture. Situated 45 minutes away from the Dabolim International Airport and just 17km from the Margao Railway Station the resort is ideally located for a relaxing and fun filled Vacation in Goa. Our 203 rooms and suites offer comfort and serenity combined with modern amenities with an option of a garden view pool view or sea view with attached balconies. When travelling for a family retreat take advantage of the game room kids playground and activity zone or just unwind at the outdoor pool and revitalize at the Spa Villa offering multiple ayurvedic treatments.Experience a choice of Indian and International cuisines at Mardi Gras Our 24 hour Coffee shop. Rediscover the ethnic flavors of the Far East at the exquisite Whispers of the Orient or try out our wood fired pizzas at the Mediterranean restaurant Fig and Olive. The lobby level bar Sun Downer offers a relaxing view of the Goan sunset or have an exciting evening at our beach side restaurant Beach Grill offering a huge selection of freshly caught fish cooked to perfection. Organize your special wedding day, corporate retreats or productive meetings at the Holiday Inn Resort Goa, offering the largest ballroom at 5065 sq ft and able to accommodate up to 800 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Holiday Inn Goa
Holiday Inn Cavelossim
Cavelossim Holiday Inn
Goa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing