We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The resort is little far from airport, still its a great place. Nice people, nice atmosphere. Liked very much. Try to book with all in one option, includes, all meals, airport pickups etc. Also you will get rented bikes, in front of the hotel for short trips, which really helped in my case.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijeshVNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    514
    147
    63
    53
See reviews for
669
380
24
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Would have given 5 rating except for 1 major and a few minor incidents - Basically pertaining to empoyee attitude (something is seriously missing there!). We checked in on 15-Jun and out on 19-Jun. With 2 kids for family vacation. Food is good most of the times. When the crowd size goes up it can become a tad challenging for the staff there. Look for pool facing rooms on the ground floor. Monsoon magic of Goa can be enjoyed thoroughly here. Room quality is wanting - nothing glaringly missing - just regular maintenance kind of a thing. Pool is fantastic fun. Walk to the beach is very nice. Other facilities like the spa are also good. Check in was smooth. Value for money stay with the family coming back happy. Decent packages are given by the hotel if you are able to bag one.

Now to some misses -
1. Pick up bus from airport needs to improve. Waiting even for 20-30 minutes adds to misery esp when with family.
2. Staff checking us in did not know whether mini bar is complementary or not (Sachin).
3. Check-out was messed up (Tejaswi & Neha) - only after some calls were they able to resolve - till such point they were only stubborn.

Major incident: In Mardi Gras restaurant servers tend to pick up the plates even when the person is sitting on the table - they are to ask before touching the plate ALWAYS (informed this to Mr. Prasad - Manager). One server tracked my sons plate and asked him to finish the chicken and not waste it. We let it go. He then asks my son when he is alone whether he finished the chicken or not. When my 13 yr old son ignores him he says "Hello - I am talking to you (in Hindi)" - When my son told me this I went berserk and had to follow this chain of command as I persisted (I guess, reaching the PM of India may have been easier ...) - Debi Prasad (server) --> Manoj (Haughty floor manager - his key worry was why are we getting worked up - while Debi prasad was smirking - I wiped it off with a nice rebutt) --> Soumitra (some manager - kept finding it funny and nearly laughing till I admonished him - zero service attitude) --> Rahul (understood the seriousness, but was unable to give me the GM's number as it was after 9PM) --> Rishi (talked on phone and met the next day and kept apologizing, even offered a lunch - we politely refused).

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms on the ground floor preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shangs39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Deliberated a lot on choice of hotels, but I am really happy that I chose Holiday Inn Goa. While many have rated on individual aspects, but I would prefer rate the overall experience, which was superb - room, stay, food, the exteriors, pool and the best - BEACH.

Very courteous staff, high on energy and always ready to reach out to guests needs. Only aspect that I thought called for a improvement was the half day sight seeing tour, which I personally did not enjoy much, and I informed the travel desk about the same.

But that should not take away from the overall experience that we had at Holiday Inn Goa, and would like to thank the entire staff, for that. The responses to my queries were very prompt, the checkins was very efficient.

Great vacation

Room Tip: Take good books and dont opt for the sight seeing trips - the hotel has enough of good stuff that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very recently visited this property from 10-13 Jun. In all we were a group of 8 (with 3 kids), so here is a first hand count of my experience with this hotel.
Airport/Station Transfers: A mini bus (tempo traveller) was send to the railway station & a bus used for airport drop off. Either of the mode of transport was below standard for a 5 star property.
Checkin: Smooth, we reached @ 12PM & were promptly assited by the front desk. There were a lot of check-ins at the same time but I felt adequately attended.
Rooms: Garden view, non smoking. Clean & well equipped. The room was to my taste & it provided a beautiful view of the garden. The complementary wine bottle definately needs an upgrade, some unknown brand of local wine. Here I must say, the bell boy should have given a brief of the room services, facilities available etc. Typically how it happens in most 5 stars, than leaving it as "figure it yourself".
Food: We had an all meal package. I could see only 2 resturant's operational by the pool side. One with buffet & the other was coastal cusiene. We stuck to the buffet, & soon started skipping a meal or two as the food quality is just average. The spread is good, but I hated that they kept refurbshing the fish dishes. Dry lemon butter fish for lunch...dry pepper fish for dinner & so on. So no wastage, all unused dishes land on your plate for the next meal! I agree to another reviews point that they should issue meal vouchers if you opt out of the buffet.
Swimming Pool: Large with a separate kids pool. Well maintained & clean.
Beach: Kept very clean. The hotel staff & a govt. employee clean up the beach daily. There are lifegards & hotel security throughout during the operational hours.
Gym: Limited equipments. But that's fine as not many people holiday to execise ;-).
Overall Property: Is fairly huge & it's a lovely stroll from the rooms to the beach. Something you would like to do as many times as possible. There is a tennis court & volley ball court as well.
Kids Activity Room: A thoughtful touch to keep children engaged. The lady managing this place is very courteous & gels along with kids in no time.
Service: Very Average. So no one smiles or greets you, on the hallway, reception, resturant etc. Call room service & they sound grouchy. Usually take 10-15 mins before someone fullfil your request.
To sum it up, a value for money destination & a good property with loads of options to explore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipayan_Nag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at this facility from 8th June, 2013 till 11th June 2013 and was on all inclusive package.

First the good parts about the stay:
- Location: Its right next to sea and access is very good.
- Rooms: Clean, Spacious and pleasant
- Pool: Quite big and both Adults as well as Kids can enjoy.

Now the not so good parts:
- Service: This is one area that can make or break the experience of the holiday. Holiday Inn Goa Staff lack the service part on all fronts - Security, Front Desk, Bell Desk, Room Service.

I was made to wait for 1 hour before the room was allocated. I was clearly told by Holiday Inn Folks who handled the booking that checkin was at 13:00. After reaching the resort by 13:00, I was told that the checkin was always 14:00. The first room (my preference) allocated was reeking with tobacco smoke and I couldn't even enter the room. The second room was allocated, which, though was not the preferred choice, but was good.

When umbrella is requested, guests should not be made to fill multiple forms / ledgers / registers. Also, Bell Desk is supposed to take care of luggage and not mix it up, given that we are asked to keep our luggage in the front porch for a good period of one hour. Also, on our way back, Bell Desk folks mixed up someone else's luggage with ours, which we could identify on the spot and ensure it goes to right owner.

When we order something from room service, we know perfectly well that it'll be charged. We needn't be rudely informed that it'll be charged to the room.

- Food: After two meals in the fixed menu affair, the food becomes monotonous and boring. In addition, hotel does not offer a credit system if we do not want to have the same old buffet and try out something in their other restaurants. Breakfast is OK though.

- Mixing up of Private Function with Regular Hotel guests: While, its a good thing that hotel offers its facilities for private functions like marriages, the hotel management should ensure that the celebrations are not too loud and does not affect other guests at the hotel. We were greeted with an ear splitting noise when we arrived and we were not able to listen to what the staff was saying even when the talking distance was close to a feet. All the staff did was to cut a helpless face when asked abut the noise.

Based on my experience, I would not recommend this facility.

Room Tip: If any funciton is in progress, avoid pool area and rooms near pool. They get quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumanths08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Goa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear sumanths08,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are pleased to note that you liked our convenient location and we are delighted that you found our rooms to be comfortable and nice.

I was disappointed to hear that we were unable to give you the typical high level of service which our brand is known for. Our objective is to always provide the best guest experience and ensure the highest level of service across all areas and I regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion. We truly apologize that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We got one of the monsoon package deals for our family of 7 which was good value for money, The stay and all meals were included. The hotel is nice, facilities are not very luxurious but are good, comfy rooms, lovely large gardens, a decent gym, nice spa, etc. They have a nice private beach too though we couldn't make the most of it in the rains. What stood out most was the excellent service... from the front desk, housekeeping staff, room service, breakfast chefs, to just about everyone. The staff is always ready to help and is happy to accomodate any special requests. The only low point was that for the first 2 days the pool was filled with noisy crowd from a big wedding party... a second pool away from all the kids and noise would have made the property just perfect... The breakfast spread was good and the omlettes were super but I felt it wasn't really a 5 star spread there could have been a lot more continental options. A cart for travel between the rooms and the main buildings would have been helpful for old people to get around.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in cottages that are not a part of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NusheenPune_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very good private beach, green lawns, pool, sports facility. Lovely place for family holiday. Excellent hospitality given by staff, very courteous & helping. good food. Old property but nicely maintained. Poor selection of places in sight seeing trip. Could improve children activity zone. Need to have a shop for things like regular medicine, moisturiser, sun screen...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vinay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.0 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,217 reviews
21.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,959 reviews
24.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Goa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Address: Mobor Beach | South Goa, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque Mobor beach in South Goa with direct beach access. The Holiday Inn Resort Goa offers hotel accommodation that is a unique blend of traditional Goan and contemporary architecture. Situated 45 minutes away from the Dabolim International Airport and just 17km from the Margao Railway Station the resort is ideally located for a relaxing and fun filled Vacation in Goa. Our 203 rooms and suites offer comfort and serenity combined with modern amenities with an option of a garden view pool view or sea view with attached balconies. When travelling for a family retreat take advantage of the game room kids playground and activity zone or just unwind at the outdoor pool and revitalize at the Spa Villa offering multiple ayurvedic treatments.Experience a choice of Indian and International cuisines at Mardi Gras Our 24 hour Coffee shop. Rediscover the ethnic flavors of the Far East at the exquisite Whispers of the Orient or try out our wood fired pizzas at the Mediterranean restaurant Fig and Olive. The lobby level bar Sun Downer offers a relaxing view of the Goan sunset or have an exciting evening at our beach side restaurant Beach Grill offering a huge selection of freshly caught fish cooked to perfection. Organize your special wedding day, corporate retreats or productive meetings at the Holiday Inn Resort Goa, offering the largest ballroom at 5065 sq ft and able to accommodate up to 800 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Holiday Inn Goa
Holiday Inn Cavelossim
Cavelossim Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Goa
Goa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing